We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Le Richemond, Geneva Dorchester Collection

Save Saved
You added Le Richemond, Geneva Dorchester Collection to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Expedia.com Travelocity
and 7 more sites!
Le Richemond, Geneva Dorchester Collection
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jardin Brunswick, Geneva 1201, Switzerland (Mont-Blanc)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 105 hotels in Geneva
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

Just stayed two night in Geneva at the Richemond, fantastic hotel with the most wonderful staff- i cant wait to see the refurbishment that the Dorchester Collection has planned following the dreadful decor of RF hotels. Try it next time your in Geneva

Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raymonde C, General Manager at Le Richemond, Geneva Dorchester Collection, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
Dear Guest,

Fantastic review.

I would like to thank you very much for choosing Le Richemond for your business trip and your praise regarding your stay with us.

We are passionate about delivering the ultimate in guest service and taking this prestigious hotel into a new era with the improvements planned. At this time, we have already started with the guest rooms.

I look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back in a near future and showing you the results of our improvements.

Yours sincerely,

Klaus Kabelitz
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

190 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    134
    34
    12
    6
    4
See reviews for
16
44
23
101
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

Very nice rooms, service fantastic, large comfortable rooms. My only complaint is everything in the hotel is extremely expensive (room, room sevce, wifi)...I don't know how this hotel compares to others. I ordered an entree and water for dinner and the total was chf 90!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raymonde C, General Manager at Le Richemond, Geneva Dorchester Collection, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your recent visit with us and your valuable feedback.

I note with great pleasure that you enjoyed the utmost comfort of our rooms, the impeccable service provided by a dedicated team.

I understand that you perceive our prices to be on the high side and would like to assure you that our pricing is constantly checked and revised in line with that of our competitors here in Geneva and in fact Switzerland.

Furthermore we constantly strive to improve the quality of the product as well as our services and we are extremely grateful for any comments you might have on any particular aspect of your stay. Thank you so much for helping us to maintain and improve wherever possible the high levels of service our guests have come to expect from us.

I hope that you will stay again at Le Richemond on your next trip to Geneva and assure you of our best care and attention.

Yours sincerely,

Klaus Kabelitz
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We were a family of 7 and we stayed in 2 rooms and a suite for 3 days, all 3 rooms had lovely views onto Lake Geneva and little park. A very pricey hotel, but it's the little things that make a difference and we wanted our vacation to be memorable. The staff were all so courteous and helpful; from giving us directions to buying us tour bus tickets. We especially liked lunch in the lobby bar, their french fries are to die for! The food in general was excellent. When we were too tired (and cold) to go out for dinner, we had room service, it was a feast!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raymonde C, General Manager at Le Richemond, Geneva Dorchester Collection, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Dear Guest,

It was a great pleasure to welcome you with your family at Le Richemond for a memorable stay.

And memorable it was when I read your comments about the perfect situation of the hotel with a view of Lake Geneva and quiet Brunswick Garden, the exciting dining experiences either at restaurant Le Jardin or the Room Service and on top of that, the team attentive to details.

Thank you very much, dear Guest, for choosing Le Richemond for your holidays and for your praise.

I look forward to welcoming you back in a near future.

Yours sincerely,
Klaus Kabelitz
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

Stayed one night. Was absolutely fantastic. Great quality furnishings, bathroom and oozed refinement. Complimentary Internet is great and a nice touch.

Totally couldn't fault the service - 20 minute turnaround on shoe shine as I was leaving early.

I will definitely be requesting to stay here when next in Town

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raymonde C, Personal Assistant to the General Manager at Le Richemond, Geneva Dorchester Collection, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Dear Guest,

I am delighted to hear your praise regarding your recent stay at Le Richemond and would like to thank you for sharing your thoughts.
How you enjoyed it so much, the utmost comfort of your room and the large bathroom, the impeccable service from your arrival to your early departure.

Nothing is never let to the luck.

Looking forward to your return visit,

Yours sincerely,
Raymonde Croisier
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

Didn't stay there but had a lunch meeting and the food service and room and staff were are simply amazing and totally professional and we will be back the room used for the lunch was very soundproofed which when you have a table trying to listen to a speaker is the most important thing

Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raymonde C, Personal Assistant to the General Manager at Le Richemond, Geneva Dorchester Collection, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Dear Guest,

I am very pleased to hear from you about your fantastic lunch meeting at Le Richemond.

You mention the team, the food and the room, all exceeding your expectations.

Thank you so much for your compliments.

I look forward to the pleasure of your next visit and hope to have the privilege to greet you.

Yours sincerely,
Raymonde Croisier
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
milano
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
62 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
137 helpful votes 137 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

I should point out that I am a loyal customer of the chain Dorchester. I have stayed in almost all the hotels in this chain. The Richemond not in any way reflect the standardization of luxury and service. For the first time I was not offered any upgrade, any bottle of wine in the room, no cake, no welcome letter. The lobby and common areas are old and poorly furnished, the breakfast very basic, the furniture of the rooms scratched and broken. Absolutely negative experience I'm surprised that is part of Dorchester Collection!!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raymonde C, General Manager at Le Richemond, Geneva Dorchester Collection, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Dear Guest,

I would like first to thank you for your faithfulness to Dorchester Collection hotels and for taking the time to share your thoughts regarding your recent stay at Le Richemond.

I value and appreciate your feedback and regret that your experience was less than perfect in regards of room and welcome.

We have received some superb comments up to now and unfortunately yours is an exception. It certainly does not reflect the standards in which we pride ourselves here. In particular, each guest has a welcome amenity and a personal card upon arrival. Preferences of our guests are duly registered for their return stay. Please accept my sincerest apology as you did not receive this personal attention upon arrival.
Dorchester Collection is in the process of integrating Le Richemond into their portfolio of luxury hotels and has started to renovate all our guest rooms and public areas already.
I hope that you will allow us the opportunity to welcome you back to show you the results of our renovation and in the meantime I would be very pleased to hear from you.

Yours sincerely,
Klaus Kabelitz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

I was recently in Geneva for business and stayed at Le Richemond for 3 nights. The hotel is perfectly situated - steps to shopping, food, and the main downtown area of the city. The staff were polite and exceedingly helpful with my various requests - including helping with reservations one night. The room was nicely furnished - the bed very comfortable, the bathroom large by European standards, L'Occitaine toiletries (a great bonus!). I ordered room service my first night and the food was very good. Every detail is looked after and done perfectly - from the beautiful flower arrangements in the lobby to the turn down service in the evenings. I plan on staying here whenever I return to Geneva and will recommend this to all my friends, family and business associates.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raymonde C, Personal Assistant to the General Manager at Le Richemond, Geneva Dorchester Collection, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your wonderful comments regarding your recent business stay at Le Richemond.

It was your first time and you discovered the hotel exceptional location, the utmost comfort of the rooms with a large bathroom, the exquisite food served and above all the dedication of the team at all times.

It will be a great pleasure to welcome your family, your friend, your business associates and yourself on your return visit.

With the assurance of our best care and attention.

Yours sincerely,
Raymonde Croisier
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Le Richemond, Geneva Dorchester Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Richemond, Geneva Dorchester Collection

Also Known As:
Le Richemond, Geneva Dorchester Collection Hotel Geneva
Le Richemond, Geneva Dorchester Collection Hotel
Le Richemond Geneva
Le Richemond Hotel Geneva
Address: Jardin Brunswick, Geneva 1201, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Geneva > Mont-Blanc
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Geneva
#5 Family Hotel in Geneva
#6 Luxury Hotel in Geneva
#10 Romantic Hotel in Geneva
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Le Richemond, Geneva Dorchester Collection 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Richemond has a fascinating history and has hosted many distinguished guests since it opened in 1875 as Geneva’s palace and to this day this glamorous, five-star establishment welcomes guests ‘in-the-know’. Le Richemond personifies the refined sophistication of modern, contemporary luxury and provides guests with unrivaled comfort and panoramic views of Lake Geneva, Jet d’Eau, Mont Blanc, Saleve mountains and Old Town. The hotel is within walking distance to the centre of the financial district and key shopping areas such as Rue du Rhône and Rive in addition to the Patek Phillipe watch museum, art museums and all key central landmarks of Geneva. Each room and suite is individually decorated and many feature antiques and contemporary artworks, creating an elegant and fashionable air. Le Jardin offers modern and innovative Italian cuisine while Le Bar is the place to meet for creative cocktail concoctions and is the place to enjoy live entertainment from Tuesday to Saturday. Le Spa offers an urban day spa retreat and state-of-the-art TechnoGym fitness centre offers a discreet sanctuary within this vibrant city. Le Richemond joined the prestigious Dorchester Collection as of 1 August 2011 and looks forward to welcoming our guests to the legendary palace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Otel and HotelsClick so you can book your Le Richemond, Geneva Dorchester Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Richemond, Geneva Dorchester Collection, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.