We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Let's be fair, this is an excellent hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mandarin Oriental, Geneva

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Mandarin Oriental, Geneva to your Saves list
Mandarin Oriental, Geneva
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Quai Turrettini 1 | Mandarin Oriental, Geneva, Geneva 1201, Switzerland   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 106 Hotels in Geneva
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Basque Country
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“Let's be fair, this is an excellent hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

I had not intended to comment on this hotel just yet but I have mistakenly made the wrong choice on the MO survey. Well, whereas there are several issues that could be improved this is a decidedly excellent hotel, esp. because of the warmth and professionalism of the whole staff, who genuinely cared about us right from the moment we stepped out of the car after a long drive into Geneva, until the day of our departure. We certainly felt pampered throughout our stay, be it during breakfast time, after working out or while having an evening drink. That is certainly an aspect the hotel management should be proud about.

Some previous reviewers have complained about the hotel's location but, to be honest, that criticism makes no sense to me. Granted, it might not be located in the same block as the rest of the city's 5-star hotels (who are within a stone's throw of each other), but it is still in the center of Geneva, just a minute or two walk away from the main shopping thoroughfare, three or four minutes away on foot from, for instance, the Four Seasons and certainly close to other areas like the Old Quarter or Cornavin Station. Besides, the hotel provides its guest with a free transport card for those of us who find it harder to walk around or are simply too lazy for doing so :-)

As for the hotel's facilities, breakfast was very good and with an ample choice both at the buffet (a selection of cheese, fruit, cereals, hot dishes, dairy products, cold cuts, juices, etc.) and à la carte. Staff was efficient, professional and all-around nice, and they even remembered my choices. Other than that, the fitness center and the wellness area, while not huge, are very well equipped and perfectly adequate after a run around the city. Finally, the MO Bar provides an excellent selection of drinks (expensive, yes, but just like everywhere else in the city) prepared and served with expertise by the very pleasant staff working therein.

The hotel building (another focus of complaints from what I've read) does certainly not have the glamour and glitz of the other 5-star hotels at first sight, but it is an interesting and intriguing piece of 1950s brutalism that does not stick out in the area where it is located, so that pretty much adds to the charm even if the inside layout leaves the hotel with little room to manoeuvre, thus meaning that, for instance, the lobby is a little bit underwhelming for a hotel of its category.

Run out of space, more to follow!

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

230 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    175
    42
    10
    2
    1
See reviews for
33
48
10
108
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

For pleasure or business this hotel is amazing. The staff is so kind and pleasant, extremely efficient, always with a smile.
Also rooms are great, very good spaces, bathroom is very big and the views from some rooms are absolutely spectacular. Is very well located, close to great shopping and everything you need.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Provincetown MA
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
136 helpful votes 136 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Thoroughly enjoyed our stay here. The hotel's location is perfect, the staff were great and the room was spacious, comfortable and well designed. Breakfast was ample and was one of the best we had on our trip. We also had a fantastic meal at Rasoi by Vineet and highly recommend it. We were very glad we chose the Mandarin Oriental.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MOGVA, General Manager at Mandarin Oriental, Geneva, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear SteveTait,

Many thanks for your great review following your recent stay with us. We are delighted to learn that you enjoyed the central location of our hotel, our friendly and efficient service, our spacious rooms, our breakfast offer and our gastronomic restaurant Rasoi by Vineet. It will be a pleasure for us all to welcome you back to Mandarin Oriental, Geneva soon.

Kind regards,

Lars Wagner
General Manager
Mandarin Oriental, Geneva
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

the staff are very welcoming and provide ample information. they even assist you to the room to demonstrate the room facilities usage, the rooms are spacious with good lighting and very well equipped. internet is available but for payment. breakfast is served at the ground floor and a choice to sit on the terrace.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MOGVA, General Manager at Mandarin Oriental, Geneva, responded to this review, 4 days ago
Dear brais3,

Thank you for taking the time to share your impressions on your stay with the online community. We are happy to read you enjoyed the friendliness and effectiveness of our staff and our spacious and well equipped rooms. Regarding the internet charges, it is unfortunately beyond the hotel’s control as it is a decision taken by the Mandarin Oriental Hotel Group to charge our guests for the internet access. Please be informed that our small business center across the lobby offers complimentary access 24 hours a day and the group has also recently put in place free Wi-Fi access in all Mandarin Oriental hotels for all bookings made directly on our website.

Best regards,

Lars Wagner
General Manager
Mandarin Oriental, Geneva
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manama, Bahrain
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Very impressed with the quality of rooms, bathrooms, service and amenities. Most Mandarines and good, but the one in Geneva stands out particularly. Staff were awesome - friendly, creative and knowledgeable...

Stayed March 2015, traveled on business

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MOGVA, General Manager at Mandarin Oriental, Geneva, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear murtuzz,

Thank you for your great feedback. It is a pleasure to read you liked the rooms, bathroom, amenities and the great service provided by my colleagues.
We look forward to welcoming you back soon to Mandarin Oriental, Geneva. Thank you for being such a FAN.

Kind regards,

Lars Wagner
General Manager
Mandarin Oriental, Geneva
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This a lovely hotel. Very comfortable. The staff are extremely helpful and charming. BUT 50 Swiss francs for a coffee and toast for breakfast?! Calvin and the Protestant Fathers must be revolving in their coffins at my spending this on breakfast but honestly it was only coffee and bread...

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MOGVA, General Manager at Mandarin Oriental, Geneva, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Max R,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback following your recent stay with us. We are delighted to read you enjoyed our hotel and found the staff very helpful and charming. Regarding your comment on the breakfast, please allow me to share with you again the explanation I sent you following the guest survey. As your room rate was including breakfast, it showed on the invoice you signed, the price for one buffet breakfast. Should you have taken à la carte breakfast if it was not included in your room rate, the price for an omelet and a coffee would have of course been lower. I hope my explanations are clear and help you to understand why such as price showed on the invoice when signing at breakfast.

With kind regards,

Lars Wagner
General Manager
Mandarin Oriental, Geneva
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Stayed in a few hotels in Geneva and as you may know it's not a cheap city. But we keep returning to the Mandarin Oriental. The service is outstanding and the quality of the hotel fantastic. Location is ideal. Very easy to walk to from the train station. Breakfast was very good. The terrace is the best place for breakfast. All staff were very helpful and when anything was not as expected they were quick to rectify. It's not cheap but you get what you pay for. We will be returning next year.

Stayed March 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MOGVA, General Manager at Mandarin Oriental, Geneva, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Dear BuuBuu16,

My team and I would like to sincerely thank you for having taken the time to share with us your kind feedback following your last visit. We are delighted to be your preferred hotel in Geneva and to provide the best experience for you. It is a pleasure to read that you particularly enjoyed our hotel's ideal location, quality of service, breakfast, and our friendly and helpful colleagues.
We already look forward to welcoming you back soon to Mandarin Oriental, Geneva.

With kind regards,

Lars Wagner
General Manager
Mandarin Oriental, Geneva
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Mandarin Oriental, Geneva? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mandarin Oriental, Geneva

Address: Quai Turrettini 1 | Mandarin Oriental, Geneva, Geneva 1201, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Geneva > Geneva
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Geneva
#4 Romantic Hotel in Geneva
#4 Family Hotel in Geneva
#6 Business Hotel in Geneva
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Mandarin Oriental, Geneva 5*
Number of rooms: 196
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A living example of Swiss hotel tradition at its very best, Mandarin Oriental, Geneva has a superb location on the River Rhone, located within the heart of the city's shopping, historic and business districts. Following an extensive refurbishment, the hotel features 196 elegant and spacious rooms and suites, with many suites enjoying private terraces with supreme views of the river, Old Town and snow-capped mountains. Michelin starred dining, unparalleled service and luxury make it the ideal choice for discerning travellers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Mandarin Oriental, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Jetsetter so you can book your Mandarin Oriental, Geneva reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mandarin Oriental, Geneva Hotel Geneva
Mandarin Switzerland
Mandarin Oriental Switzerland
Geneva Mandarin Oriental

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mandarin Oriental, Geneva, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.