We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply wonderful!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mandarin Oriental, Geneva

Save Saved
You added Mandarin Oriental, Geneva to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mandarin Oriental, Geneva
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Quai Turrettini 1, Geneva 1201, Switzerland (Saint-Gervais Temple)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Daily Dining / Spa Credit
Ranked #4 of 104 hotels in Geneva
Tokyo, Japan
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Simply wonderful!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We have made the reservations for the Mandarin Oriental in Geneva online and were picked up at the airport by our limousine company. The ride took some 15 minutes and was very smooth and pleasant as always. We have chosen this hotel mostly, because we already stayed in Mandarin Hotels in other cities and were very pleased, but also because the wonderful pictures that we saw on hotel's web site. I simply fell in love with the Royal Mandarin Suite and that's what we ended up choosing.
The suit is amazing, no other word to describe it. Very luxurious, spacious, comfortable, many surprise and useful items are part of the offer; my room was looking at the river, so the view was wonderful as well.
I think I am allowed to say that the suit was even more than I expected and hoped for.
P.S. It was here that I experienced one of the best massages ever.

Room Tip: The higher rooms located on the river side have amazing view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MOGVA, General Manager at Mandarin Oriental, Geneva, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Yoshi T,
What a very nice comment, thank you so much for sharing it with the online travelers community. We are delighted and honored to learn that you really liked our hotel, especially our luxurious Royal Mandarin Suite. It was a pleasure for all of us to create a most comfortable and unforgettable experience for you, with our view overlooking the river and city. We will look forward to welcoming you again on a future visit to charming Geneva.
Best regards,
Lars Wagner
General Manager
Mandarin Oriental, Geneva
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    99
    27
    7
    1
    0
See reviews for
20
25
5
67
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We had the good fortune to stay at the Mandarin Oriental this weekend, We have stayed at good luxury hotels before but this was 6 Stars. A few days out we were contacted by the Reservations Agent in the Hotel to confirm our stay, I asked if they would mind us checking in early as we were on the first plane in from London and I had a business meeting while my Partner would have been left waiting.

Xavier was fantastic and said he would arrange it, a day later I remembered I had not booked a smoking room, he changed it immediately for us

We arrived early and were offered coffee as we checked in and the front desk and Concierge told us about Geneva and where to go. The staff were very friendly and warm with out being over familiar.

Our Room was lovely and ready well before 11am. The suite was very well sized and well laid out. When we went out for a walk around town the doorman offered us an umbrella, his weather prediction was spot on.

Breakfast and room service were impeccable and the staff made you feel special.

We were able to savour the Hotel a little longer as they allowed us a late check out so we did not have to spend hours in the airport.

For those traveling for Business this is the most stress free way to stay. For those traveling for pleasure you can not go wrong in staying at the Mandarin Oriental.

Room Tip: The views over the river are great and the double glazing means you will not hear any noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MOGVA, General Manager at Mandarin Oriental, Geneva, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear pcbjensen,
What a delight to read your amazing feedback, thank you so much for having taken the time to describe and share it with us. We are very pleased that you had a fantastic stay with us and that we could create a stress-free experience for you and your partner. Xavier, as well as our Front Office and Concierge colleagues, would like to thank you so much and it was a pleasure for them to personalize their service for your convenience. We all look forward to having another opportunity to welcome you back to Mandarin Oriental, Geneva soon.
Kind regards,
Lars Wagner
General Manager
Mandarin Oriental, Geneva
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Billericay, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

As you'd expect with the Mandarin Oriental, everything was top class. Room was spotless and very comfortable. Lovely little touches with the Nespresso coffee machine - home away from home. Staff were fantastic - concierge was extremely helpful with directing us on where to see and places to eat. House keeping staff were very friendly and although turn down service was scheduled for 18:00pm, as we were getting ready they came back at 21:00pm which was much appreciated. Good location, most things are a 10-20 minute walk away. Overall, great experience.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MOGVA, General Manager at Mandarin Oriental, Geneva, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear MRB3917,
Many thanks for your very nice comment about your stay at Mandarin Oriental, Geneva. We are delighted to learn that you enjoyed our hotel facilities and services, especially our rooms, and our concierge and housekeeping services. We look forward to welcoming you back and to offer you another wonderful experience in Geneva with oriental charm in the not too distant future.
Best regards,
Lars Wagner
General Manager
Mandarin Oriental, Geneva
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seoul, South Korea
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Rooms are spacious and very clean. But it doesn' have any swimming pool or any facilities for kids. Close to places to visit and see. Compare to other Mandarin Oriental hotels, it is not really perfect.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MOGVA, General Manager at Mandarin Oriental, Geneva, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Jiyoung K,
Thank you for sharing your feedback about your recent stay with us. We are sorry to learn that you did not find our hotel to be at the same level as other Mandarin Oriental hotels. On the other side, we are pleased to read that you enjoyed our location and rooms. We hope to welcome you back to Mandarin Oriental, Geneva in the not too distant future.
Best regards,
Lars Wagner
General Manager
Mandarin Oriental, Geneva
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

After many years staying in many hotels, even at Hotel du Rhône, I decided to try the Mandarin.
What a surprise! At the arrival, the doorman knew my name, the reception was smooth and in less than 5 minutes I was in my well appointed room.
Also, a couple of days earlier, I received an e-mail from an assistant manager to know my wife's name to make my arrival easier.
The breakfast is a feast and the terrace overlooking the river very nice for a meeting.
I enjoeyed it very much.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MOGVA, General Manager at Mandarin Oriental, Geneva, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear airtonbobrow,
Thank you so much for your kind feedback about your recent stay with us. We were very pleased to welcome you to your "home away from home" and to create a most memorable experience for you and your wife. We are delighted to learn that you enjoyed our arrival service, breakfast and terrace. We certainly look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Best regards,
Lars Wagner
General Manager
Mandarin Oriental, Geneva
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We have stayed previously at the Mandarin Oriental in Singapore and decided to try the Mandarin Oriental while in Geneva. We were not disappointed. This is an excellent hotel in an excellent location for sightseeing. The staff are first class; pleasant, helpful and attentive. Damian at Concierge services was particularly helpful assisting us with advice and information on how to make best use of our few days.
We booked a river view room which was on the first floor. It was spacious and well equipped and provided good views over the river. It faced the main road but was well sound proofed as we were not disturbed by traffic noise. A room on a higher floor would probably give even better views.
Breakfasts were excellent with lots of choice.

Room Tip: Request a river view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MOGVA, General Manager at Mandarin Oriental, Geneva, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Dear mayb10,
Thank you so much for sharing with us your kind comments about your recent stay at Mandarin Oriental, Geneva. We are delighted that you enjoyed the ideal location of our hotel, our concierge services, spacious room and breakfast quality. Damien and all our team members look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.
Kind regards,
Lars Wagner
General Manager
Mandarin Oriental, Geneva
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Hello,

My wife and I stayed at the Geneva Mandarin Oriental this past weekend. The staff was very attentive and helpful. The concierge spent a lot of time with us helping us find the just the right museums and cafes. The breakfast was outstanding and I enjoyed the fitness center.

Regards,

Grant

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MOGVA, General Manager at Mandarin Oriental, Geneva, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Dear Grant_Lundberg,
Thank you so much for your kind comments. We are delighted to read that you had a nice stay at our hotel. It was a pleasure for our team members, and especially our concierge, to provide their best service from the heart for you. Our Café Calla team thank you for the positive comment on breakfast. We will look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Best regards,
Lars Wagner
General Manager
Mandarin Oriental, Geneva
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Travelers also viewed these Geneva hotels
Quiet, Free int...
Show More
Hotel d'Angleterre
Hotel d'Angleterre
#1 of 104 in Geneva
5.0 of 5 stars 307 reviews
Restaurant, Spa...
Show More
Saint-Gervais Les Bergues
Four Seasons Hotel des Bergues Geneva
Luxury, Kitchen...
Show More
Mont-Blanc
Swiss Luxury Apartments
Swiss Luxury Apartments
#3 of 104 in Geneva
5.0 of 5 stars 24 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Romantic, Quiet...
Show More
Le Prieuré
Hotel N'vY
Hotel N'vY
#8 of 104 in Geneva
4.5 of 5 stars 284 reviews
City Center, Fr...
Show More
Pâquis Navigation
Eastwest Hotel
Eastwest Hotel
#7 of 104 in Geneva
4.5 of 5 stars 464 reviews
Restaurant, Cit...
Show More
Mont-Blanc
Le Richemond, Geneva Dorchester Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mandarin Oriental, Geneva? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mandarin Oriental, Geneva

Address: Quai Turrettini 1, Geneva 1201, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Geneva > Saint-Gervais Temple
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Geneva
#4 Family Hotel in Geneva
#4 Romantic Hotel in Geneva
#6 Business Hotel in Geneva
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Mandarin Oriental, Geneva 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A living example of Swiss hotel tradition at its very best, Mandarin Oriental, Geneva has a superb location on the River Rhone, located within the heart of the city's shopping, historic and business districts. Following an extensive refurbishment, the hotel features 197 elegant and spacious rooms and suites, with many suites enjoying private terraces with supreme views of the river, Old Town and snow-capped mountains. Michelin starred dining; unparalleled service and luxury make it the ideal choice for discerning travellers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Tingo, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick and Venere so you can book your Mandarin Oriental, Geneva reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mandarin Oriental, Geneva Hotel Geneva
Mandarin Switzerland
Mandarin Oriental Switzerland
Geneva Mandarin Oriental

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mandarin Oriental, Geneva, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.