We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay for business travellers” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mandarin Oriental, Geneva

Save Saved
You added Mandarin Oriental, Geneva to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mandarin Oriental, Geneva
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Quai Turrettini 1, Geneva 1201, Switzerland (Saint-Gervais Temple)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Daily Dining / Spa Credit
Ranked #4 of 103 hotels in Geneva
Seoul, South Korea
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
“Great place to stay for business travellers”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Rooms are spacious and very clean. But it doesn' have any swimming pool or any facilities for kids. Close to places to visit and see. Compare to other Mandarin Oriental hotels, it is not really perfect.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    95
    27
    7
    1
    0
See reviews for
20
24
5
65
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sao Paulo, SP
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

After many years staying in many hotels, even at Hotel du Rhône, I decided to try the Mandarin.
What a surprise! At the arrival, the doorman knew my name, the reception was smooth and in less than 5 minutes I was in my well appointed room.
Also, a couple of days earlier, I received an e-mail from an assistant manager to know my wife's name to make my arrival easier.
The breakfast is a feast and the terrace overlooking the river very nice for a meeting.
I enjoeyed it very much.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We have stayed previously at the Mandarin Oriental in Singapore and decided to try the Mandarin Oriental while in Geneva. We were not disappointed. This is an excellent hotel in an excellent location for sightseeing. The staff are first class; pleasant, helpful and attentive. Damian at Concierge services was particularly helpful assisting us with advice and information on how to make best use of our few days.
We booked a river view room which was on the first floor. It was spacious and well equipped and provided good views over the river. It faced the main road but was well sound proofed as we were not disturbed by traffic noise. A room on a higher floor would probably give even better views.
Breakfasts were excellent with lots of choice.

Room Tip: Request a river view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MOGVA, General Manager at Mandarin Oriental, Geneva, responded to this review, 6 days ago
Dear mayb10,
Thank you so much for sharing with us your kind comments about your recent stay at Mandarin Oriental, Geneva. We are delighted that you enjoyed the ideal location of our hotel, our concierge services, spacious room and breakfast quality. Damien and all our team members look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.
Kind regards,
Lars Wagner
General Manager
Mandarin Oriental, Geneva
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Hello,

My wife and I stayed at the Geneva Mandarin Oriental this past weekend. The staff was very attentive and helpful. The concierge spent a lot of time with us helping us find the just the right museums and cafes. The breakfast was outstanding and I enjoyed the fitness center.

Regards,

Grant

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MOGVA, General Manager at Mandarin Oriental, Geneva, responded to this review, 6 days ago
Dear Grant_Lundberg,
Thank you so much for your kind comments. We are delighted to read that you had a nice stay at our hotel. It was a pleasure for our team members, and especially our concierge, to provide their best service from the heart for you. Our Café Calla team thank you for the positive comment on breakfast. We will look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Best regards,
Lars Wagner
General Manager
Mandarin Oriental, Geneva
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I had previously visited the Mandarin Oriental in Geneva prior to the recent renovation. The difference in the layout, quality of decor and general ambiance was plain to see. My trip this time around was with my son to celebrate his 21st birthday where we shared a twin room with a river view on the sixth floor. Beautifully laid out with magnificent views over the Rhone, the room was immaculately presented and perfectly serviced by the housekeeping staff, all of whom were polite in the inimitable MO style. My son wrote a note to thank all the staff who worked to make our stay memorable. Before we reached home I had an email thanking us for his comments from the general manager, which was much appreciated. I would highly recommend both Geneva generally, and the Mandarin Oriental specifically for any kind of break.

Room Tip: Insist on a river view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MOGVA, General Manager at Mandarin Oriental, Geneva, responded to this review, 6 days ago
Dear Alan C,
What a delight to read your very nice comments following your recent stay with us! Many thanks for having taken the time to share your impressions on TripAdvisor, in addition to the kind note your son left behind. We are so pleased to learn that you and your celebrated an amazing birthday in one of our Mandarin Floor room overlooking River Rhone. As we have recently renovated this floor in 2013, it is a pleasure to learn that you enjoyed its comfort and design, as well as our legendary MO service. Thank you so much for your kind recommendation and we very much look forward to welcoming you and your family back to charming Geneva in the not too distant future.
Sincerely yours,
Lars Wagner
General Manager
Mandarin Oriental, Geneva
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We have been fortunate to stay in many luxurious hotels around the world, including other Mandarin Oriental hotels but we have never encountered such uniformly welcoming, professional, caring and attentive staff as here. We were made to feel special from the first point of contact right through to our departure. Raphaelle on the concierge desk and both Audes deserve especial mention. It was a birthday celebration and everyone made it one to remember.

Room Tip: A river view is worth the extra expenditure! Sound-proofing throughout is excellent - you hear nothi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MOGVA, General Manager at Mandarin Oriental, Geneva, responded to this review, 6 days ago
Dear JulietMartinBrighton,
We are delighted to read your wonderful comments and to learn that we were able to create an unforgettable experience for you, especially for your birthday celebration. Many thanks for having taken the time to share this with the online travel community. Raphaelle, both Audes and all our team members were delighted to have you with us and we hope to have another opportunity of welcoming you back to charming Geneva soon.
Kind regards,
Lars Wagner
General Manager
Mandarin Oriental, Geneva
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This is clearly a superbly managed hotel with all the panache that one would expect of a Mandarin Oriental. Rooms are spacious and elegant, bathrooms likewise with top quality toiletries. A few things do need attention. The quality of the pillows could be improved (compared to the Four Seasons for example); the current variety give no support. The terrace outside the bar the Italian restaurant has the benefit of car exhaust fumes to add taste to one's meal; so better eat inside and breathe normally. Good quality breakfast of course. Good location but modern soulless building with not the best of lake views!

Room Tip: If you book on the American Express Fine Hotels and Resorts programme, the benefits are great such a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MOGVA, General Manager at Mandarin Oriental, Geneva, responded to this review, 6 days ago
Dear JHMH1959,
My team and I would like to thank you for having taken the time to share your impressions about your recent stay with us. We are pleased to read that you enjoyed our spacious rooms, choice of toiletries and breakfast quality. We are sorry that you did not find our hotel's building and views to your liking, and we have taken good note of your feedback regarding our pillows. We look forward to welcoming you back to Mandarin Oriental, Geneva on your next visit in the city.
Best wishes,
Lars Wagner
General Manager
Mandarin Oriental, Geneva
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Mandarin Oriental, Geneva? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mandarin Oriental, Geneva

Address: Quai Turrettini 1, Geneva 1201, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Geneva > Saint-Gervais Temple
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Geneva
#4 Family Hotel in Geneva
#4 Luxury Hotel in Geneva
#6 Business Hotel in Geneva
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Mandarin Oriental, Geneva 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A living example of Swiss hotel tradition at its very best, Mandarin Oriental, Geneva has a superb location on the River Rhone, located within the heart of the city's shopping, historic and business districts. Following an extensive refurbishment, the hotel features 197 elegant and spacious rooms and suites, with many suites enjoying private terraces with supreme views of the river, Old Town and snow-capped mountains. Michelin starred dining; unparalleled service and luxury make it the ideal choice for discerning travellers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Tingo, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Expedia, HotelsClick and Venere so you can book your Mandarin Oriental, Geneva reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mandarin Oriental, Geneva Hotel Geneva
Mandarin Switzerland
Mandarin Oriental Switzerland
Geneva Mandarin Oriental

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mandarin Oriental, Geneva, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.