We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Great Place to Stay in Geneva” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mandarin Oriental, Geneva

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Mandarin Oriental, Geneva to your Saves list
Mandarin Oriental, Geneva
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Quai Turrettini 1 | Mandarin Oriental, Geneva, Geneva 1201, Switzerland   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Complimentary Wifi
Ranked #2 of 103 Hotels in Geneva
Durham, California
1 review
“A Great Place to Stay in Geneva”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

Hello,

My wife and I stayed at the Geneva Mandarin Oriental this past weekend. The staff was very attentive and helpful. The concierge spent a lot of time with us helping us find the just the right museums and cafes. The breakfast was outstanding and I enjoyed the fitness center.

Regards,

Grant

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MOGVA, General Manager at Mandarin Oriental, Geneva, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Dear Grant_Lundberg,
Thank you so much for your kind comments. We are delighted to read that you had a nice stay at our hotel. It was a pleasure for our team members, and especially our concierge, to provide their best service from the heart for you. Our Café Calla team thank you for the positive comment on breakfast. We will look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Best regards,
Lars Wagner
General Manager
Mandarin Oriental, Geneva
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

195 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    147
    35
    10
    2
    1
See reviews for
31
39
8
90
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

I had previously visited the Mandarin Oriental in Geneva prior to the recent renovation. The difference in the layout, quality of decor and general ambiance was plain to see. My trip this time around was with my son to celebrate his 21st birthday where we shared a twin room with a river view on the sixth floor. Beautifully laid out with magnificent views over the Rhone, the room was immaculately presented and perfectly serviced by the housekeeping staff, all of whom were polite in the inimitable MO style. My son wrote a note to thank all the staff who worked to make our stay memorable. Before we reached home I had an email thanking us for his comments from the general manager, which was much appreciated. I would highly recommend both Geneva generally, and the Mandarin Oriental specifically for any kind of break.

Room Tip: Insist on a river view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MOGVA, General Manager at Mandarin Oriental, Geneva, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Dear Alan C,
What a delight to read your very nice comments following your recent stay with us! Many thanks for having taken the time to share your impressions on TripAdvisor, in addition to the kind note your son left behind. We are so pleased to learn that you and your celebrated an amazing birthday in one of our Mandarin Floor room overlooking River Rhone. As we have recently renovated this floor in 2013, it is a pleasure to learn that you enjoyed its comfort and design, as well as our legendary MO service. Thank you so much for your kind recommendation and we very much look forward to welcoming you and your family back to charming Geneva in the not too distant future.
Sincerely yours,
Lars Wagner
General Manager
Mandarin Oriental, Geneva
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

We have been fortunate to stay in many luxurious hotels around the world, including other Mandarin Oriental hotels but we have never encountered such uniformly welcoming, professional, caring and attentive staff as here. We were made to feel special from the first point of contact right through to our departure. Raphaelle on the concierge desk and both Audes deserve especial mention. It was a birthday celebration and everyone made it one to remember.

Room Tip: A river view is worth the extra expenditure! Sound-proofing throughout is excellent - you hear nothi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MOGVA, General Manager at Mandarin Oriental, Geneva, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Dear JulietMartinBrighton,
We are delighted to read your wonderful comments and to learn that we were able to create an unforgettable experience for you, especially for your birthday celebration. Many thanks for having taken the time to share this with the online travel community. Raphaelle, both Audes and all our team members were delighted to have you with us and we hope to have another opportunity of welcoming you back to charming Geneva soon.
Kind regards,
Lars Wagner
General Manager
Mandarin Oriental, Geneva
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
73 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

This is clearly a superbly managed hotel with all the panache that one would expect of a Mandarin Oriental. Rooms are spacious and elegant, bathrooms likewise with top quality toiletries. A few things do need attention. The quality of the pillows could be improved (compared to the Four Seasons for example); the current variety give no support. The terrace outside the bar the Italian restaurant has the benefit of car exhaust fumes to add taste to one's meal; so better eat inside and breathe normally. Good quality breakfast of course. Good location but modern soulless building with not the best of lake views!

Room Tip: If you book on the American Express Fine Hotels and Resorts programme, the benefits are great such a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MOGVA, General Manager at Mandarin Oriental, Geneva, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Dear JHMH1959,
My team and I would like to thank you for having taken the time to share your impressions about your recent stay with us. We are pleased to read that you enjoyed our spacious rooms, choice of toiletries and breakfast quality. We are sorry that you did not find our hotel's building and views to your liking, and we have taken good note of your feedback regarding our pillows. We look forward to welcoming you back to Mandarin Oriental, Geneva on your next visit in the city.
Best wishes,
Lars Wagner
General Manager
Mandarin Oriental, Geneva
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Augusta, Georgia
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

Service was wonderful....The view from the hotel room of Lake Geneva was amazing! The French fries at the bar are phenomenal...expensive, but so good! Older hotel...the elevator was tiny, but the décor was updated. The only bad thing was the hotel is warm...open the windows and let in the breeze.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MOGVA, General Manager at Mandarin Oriental, Geneva, responded to this review, June 12, 2014
Dear BabaGal,
Thank you very much for your kind comment following your recent stay with us. We are very pleased to read that you enjoyed our quality of service and MO Bar French fries. We are sorry that you found the hotel’s temperature not to your liking. Our air-conditioning facilities are constantly adjusted to match the environment and we have taken good note of your comment. We look forward to having another opportunity to welcoming you back soon.
Kind regards,
Lars Wagner
General Manager
Mandarin Oriental, Geneva
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Africa
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014

This was our third stay at The Mandarin Oriental Geneva and it was as beautiful as ever.
Immaculate housekeeping,discreet service,welcoming staff from the doorman to the breakfast team.
Room was a premier river view room,definitely worth paying more for the stunning view of the river and the buildings on Rue du Rhone.
Breakfast is elegant and classic,lovely buffet selection and a la carte options.

The hotel is unpretentious and luxurious,plush bedding and towels,very well equipped fitness centre and hammam.

Definitely our hotel of choice for Geneva,having stayed at Kempinski and De la Paix too.

Room Tip: a river view room is worth the extra cost.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MOGVA, General Manager at Mandarin Oriental, Geneva, responded to this review, June 12, 2014
Dear RoshneeSA,
What a pleasure to have welcomed you back to charming Geneva! Thank you so much for being a FAN and for sharing your kind feedback with us. Our teams and I are delighted that you had once again a beautiful stay and enjoyed our discreet but convivial services. We look forward to welcoming you back soon to your “home away from home”.
Best regards,
Lars Wagner
General Manager
Mandarin Oriental, Geneva
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tunbridge Wells
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014

We stayed in this excellent hotel recently and were most impressed particularly by the attention of all the staff to our needs. Everyone was extremely polite, helpful and smiling. We were upgraded to a very comfortable room overlooking one of the many rivers that lead directly into Geneva's iconic lake which was the height of luxury with two bathrooms lounge area, huge bed with a choice of pillows, all very lovely. Nice little touches were a miniature shopping line of Swiss chocolates left for us on turndown as well as a lovely bouquet of flowers.
The hotel is expensive but it seems everything in Geneva is, but public transport, buses, trams and water taxis are free and they are excellent. Just one disappointing note, the hotel wanted to charge us extra for a WiFi connection which is absolutely ridiculous in a 5 star hotel. After a gentle complaint they gave us the code but it should not have been necessary.

Room Tip: River view rooms are the best and ask for the free transport pass when booking in at reception as it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MOGVA, General Manager at Mandarin Oriental, Geneva, responded to this review, June 12, 2014
Dear LimonerosKent,
My team and I would like to thank you so much for having taken the time to share your excellent impressions of your recent stay with us. We are pleased to read that you were delighted by our friendly and attentive service, by our room facilities with their views, and by our additional small touches. I am very sorry to read that you were disappointed by the WiFi connection price. We do provide four business center stations in our Lobby with free Internet access. Additionally, WiFi connection is complimentary for all guests booking our hotel online with a complete guest profile. Our Internet speed in the hotel is 200Mbit and is the fastest in the city to watch movies and to download large files.
We do hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Mandarin Oriental, Geneva in the not too distant future. Once again, thank you so much for your kind comments.
Best regards,
Lars Wagner
General Manager
Mandarin Oriental, Geneva
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mandarin Oriental, Geneva? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mandarin Oriental, Geneva

Address: Quai Turrettini 1 | Mandarin Oriental, Geneva, Geneva 1201, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Geneva > Geneva
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Geneva
#4 Family Hotel in Geneva
#4 Romantic Hotel in Geneva
#6 Business Hotel in Geneva
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Mandarin Oriental, Geneva 5*
Number of rooms: 196
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A living example of Swiss hotel tradition at its very best, Mandarin Oriental, Geneva has a superb location on the River Rhone, located within the heart of the city's shopping, historic and business districts. Following an extensive refurbishment, the hotel features 196 elegant and spacious rooms and suites, with many suites enjoying private terraces with supreme views of the river, Old Town and snow-capped mountains. Michelin starred dining, unparalleled service and luxury make it the ideal choice for discerning travellers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Mandarin Oriental, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Mandarin Oriental, Geneva reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mandarin Oriental, Geneva Hotel Geneva
Mandarin Switzerland
Mandarin Oriental Switzerland
Geneva Mandarin Oriental

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mandarin Oriental, Geneva, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.