We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good hotel,small deluxe rooms” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mandarin Oriental, Geneva

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Mandarin Oriental, Geneva to your Saves list
Mandarin Oriental, Geneva
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Quai Turrettini 1 | Mandarin Oriental, Geneva, Geneva 1201, Switzerland   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 106 Hotels in Geneva
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Sao Paulo, SP
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
“Very good hotel,small deluxe rooms”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

Arruved at Mandarin Oriental Geneve after an intercontinental flight SP/MUC and a connection flight MUC/GVA.check in was efficient.
Was escorted to the room by Gabriela,deluxe room on 6th floor facing the city,not the lake. The room is not as large as I would expect,but the problem is you can t open the closet doors AND go to the toilet,which is separated from the bathroom! Bed is comfortable .Pillow s menus. Lots of outlets. Wi fi was not included,UNLESS you fill a profile BEFORE the check in and receive a confirmation.
Buffet breakfast costs CHF 51,00 ( about EUR 42,00 ) . It has a good selection of cheeses,fruits,ham,fuits,cereals,fresh orange juice. I,myself,prefer the continental,which is CHF 41,00.
Room is quiet ,no noise from the corridors and from outside,EXCEPT from a bell of a nearby church. Light sleepers,attention.
Concierge is very efficient,booked me 3 restaurants,suggested me another 1. The only complaint is that they sent me to a cafe nearby ( 2laRue ) on a sunday,and it was closed.
Check out also fast and efficient
Bags were properly put on the car,GPS already with my next destination!

Room Tip: Book a room on the 6th or 7th floor,if possible facing the lake. They re much more expensive,altough
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MOGVA, General Manager at Mandarin Oriental, Geneva, responded to this review, June 5, 2014
Dear geo007,
Thank you very much for having taken the time to share your comments in such a detailed way. Gabriela, our teams and I are delighted to read that you had a nice stay with us and that you enjoyed the Concierge's restaurant selection, our quiet room and concierge/bell men services. I am sorry to read that you found some aspects of our recently renovated Mandarin Floor rooms to be inconvenient and we are also sorry that your chosen restaurant was closed on a Sunday.
We look forward to welcoming you back soo in one of our rooms facing the Rhône river.
Kind regards,
Lars Wagner
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

239 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    184
    42
    10
    2
    1
See reviews for
34
51
10
113
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2014

The Mandarin Oriental Hotel in Geneva Switzerland was everything one would expect from a 5 Star hotel. Impeccable service from the moment you entered the hotel to our impressive Jr Suite with breathtaking views. Immaculate throughout, every amenity was tended to, room service, linens and soaps all outstanding. Hope to visit again soon!

Room Tip: The junior suite was impressive
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MOGVA, General Manager at Mandarin Oriental, Geneva, responded to this review, June 5, 2014
Dear Kathy2560,
Thank you so much for sharing with us your very kind feedback. We are pleased to read that you have enjoyed all our services from the first moment. We already look forward to welcoming you back again!
Warm regards,
Lars Wagner
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2014

Great Location near most things yet in a more relaxed position than say the Four Seasons, polite staff, hotel needs refurb, room service food was OK but pricey for what you get in line with the rest of Geneva. Make sure you get a room with a view.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MOGVA, General Manager at Mandarin Oriental, Geneva, responded to this review, May 5, 2014
Dear Ham B,
We would like to thank you for your kind comment and detailed feedback following your recent stay with us. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed our ideal location and genuine service. On the other hand, we are sorry to learn that you did not find our renovated rooms and room service prices to your liking. We hope to welcome you back to Mandarin Oriental, Geneva in the not too distant future.
Best regards,
Lars Wagner
General Manager
Mandarin Oriental, Geneva
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

The staff of this hotel is incredibly nice and service oriented.
The concierge "Damien" amazing !
The view of the room I had was beautiful !
The food was also very good
Great location close walking distance to shopping area.

Room Tip: Ask with the lake view !
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MOGVA, General Manager at Mandarin Oriental, Geneva, responded to this review, May 5, 2014
Dear amores1964,
A very warm thank you from Damien, our staff and I for your nice feedback. We are delighted that you enjoyed our service, views, food and close location to Geneva's main attractions. It was a pleasure having you with us and we hope to have another opportunity to welcome you back soon.
Sincerely yours,
Lars Wagner
General Manager
Mandarin Oriental, Geneva
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014

We just left after a 3 night stay at the Mandarin Oriental, Geneva. This is a very nice hotel, and the rooms were comfortable and the view is quite pleasant on the Rhone.
What sets this hotel apart however is the outstanding customer service.
The concierges - Samuel and Matthieu - were superb. They aimed not only to please, but to exceed your expectations. They listened carefully to your feedback and made suggestions based on what suits you - and what resulted were fabulous dinner recommendations and service. Thank you!
The bell desk was also exceptional and all staff were welcoming, and so quick to offer assistance of any kind. It was a really lovely stay, and I have to say that the staff made all the difference.
We highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MOGVA, General Manager at Mandarin Oriental, Geneva, responded to this review, May 5, 2014
Dear Kara R,
We are so pleased to read that you had an outstanding experience during your recent stay with us. My team and I would like to thank you from heart for having shared such nice feedback with us. Samuel, Mathieu and their team are also very grateful to you. So kind of you to recognize them.
Our hotel is indeed well-known for the genuine and caring service that our colleagues provide and your kind comment about them is another testimony of our consistent efforts. Again, many thanks for your amazing recommendation and we very much look forward to welcoming you back for another visit.
Kind regards,
Lars Wagner
General Manager
Mandarin Oriental, Geneva
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calvi, France
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
64 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

The level of service in this hotel is amazing for Swiss standards. The staff is friendly, provides a sincere and genuine personalized service and will do anything to satisfy your needs. The rooms are extremely comfortable and well equipped. The bar is "the place to be" in Geneva and the Indian restaurant is quite refined, if a bit expensive…but do not forget you are in Geneva! I definitely recommend this hotel…if you can afford it!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MOGVA, General Manager at Mandarin Oriental, Geneva, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
Dear Zelal25,
My team and I would like to thank you so much for sharing this great feedback with us. It is a pleasure to read that you enjoyed our renowned friendly service, our rooms, bar and gastronomic Indian restaurant. We look forward to welcoming you back to charming Geneva and once again, a sincere thank you for your kind comment on your recent visit.
Best regards,
Lars Wagner
General Manager
Mandarin Oriental, Geneva
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2014

On our way back from ski vacation, we stayed two nights at the Mandarin Oriental in Geneva.
We visit a lot in this city and usually staying at Kempinski,
But we have a sweet memory from Oriental Bangkok, where we spent our honeymoon 15 years ago, so we decided to try this hotel.
The personal and friendly attention throughout our stay we received from the check-in to check-out, was excellent; the room was large, well equipped, and we enjoyed every minute.
Breakfast very tasty and varied and particularly high level of service,
Concierge services are good and professional.
And very pampering Housekeeping.
No doubt, you purchased a new loyal customer.
{I would recommend you to consider giving free wi fi for hotel guests, both in the room and public areas}

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MOGVA, General Manager at Mandarin Oriental, Geneva, responded to this review, April 13, 2014
Dear Rony H,
We are so delighted to read that your honeymoon experience at our sister property in Bangkok led you to stay with us on your post-ski trip to Geneva! Thank you so much for such a nice comment. All my colleagues from our various departments are very thankful for your kind words and appreciation. Internet is complimentary when creating a personal profile and booking through MO.com We look forward to welcoming new FANS back to Mandarin Oriental, Geneva in the not too distant future.
Sincerely yours,
Lars Wagner
General Manager
Mandarin Oriental, Geneva
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mandarin Oriental, Geneva? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mandarin Oriental, Geneva

Address: Quai Turrettini 1 | Mandarin Oriental, Geneva, Geneva 1201, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Geneva > Geneva
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Geneva
#4 Family Hotel in Geneva
#4 Romantic Hotel in Geneva
#6 Business Hotel in Geneva
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Mandarin Oriental, Geneva 5*
Number of rooms: 196
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A living example of Swiss hotel tradition at its very best, Mandarin Oriental, Geneva has a superb location on the River Rhone, located within the heart of the city's shopping, historic and business districts. Following an extensive refurbishment, the hotel features 196 elegant and spacious rooms and suites, with many suites enjoying private terraces with supreme views of the river, Old Town and snow-capped mountains. Michelin starred dining, unparalleled service and luxury make it the ideal choice for discerning travellers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Mandarin Oriental, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Despegar.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Mandarin Oriental, Geneva reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mandarin Oriental, Geneva Hotel Geneva
Mandarin Switzerland
Mandarin Oriental Switzerland
Geneva Mandarin Oriental

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mandarin Oriental, Geneva, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.