We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Passable” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel St-Gervais

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel St-Gervais to your Saves list
Hotel St-Gervais
1.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rue des Corps-Saint 20, Geneva CH-1201, Switzerland (Saint-Gervais Temple)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #49 of 106 Hotels in Geneva
Saskatoon Canada
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Passable”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2009

Geneva is $$$, so this hotel was a good value as it was close to train stn and downtown. Everything in walking distance (flower clock, Jet d'eau etc...), old fashioned locks on door which I had tremendous difficulty with, but staff was very helpful and friendly. Shared bathroom, but clean.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    57
    35
    8
    5
See reviews for
12
45
32
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2009

This hotel is ok and located next to the central train station but not really one to remember. The staff were very nice and very helpful but the room was smelly (cigarette smell was intense), the furniture and general decoration were very worn and looking extremely tired. The outdoor shutters needed some serious care and the whole place just felt slightly abandoned. The room and (shared between 3 rooms) bathroom were clean but the stench of cigarette smoke in the room was highly unattractive. I would stay again only if (as happened now) there were no other options at this price (CHF 99). A great thing is that they give you a card to travel around Geneva - including to the airport - for a whole day. Not one to remember too fondly nevertheless.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basel, Switzerland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2009

This was the place we booked on Internet.

When we landed, we were given a room which was like 6Ft by 8 FT, looking more like a small kitchen. There was no lifts and was full of cigarete smell.
The receptionist was rude and not ready to help at all.

The breakfast was alright.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2008

Stayed here for a week with my wife on our first visit to Geneva. The hotel was fairly small and cosy with a very central location. It was great value for money compared with other hotels we had looked at, and the staff were all were helpful, especially the manager who provided useful advice regarding tourist attractions to visit etc. We originally stayed in a room without a bathroom but for the last few days we moved into a room with a bathroom which only cost a little more. Rooms were cleaned daily to a high standard. Would definately recommend to those looked for a good base to explore the city at a very reasonable price.

  • Liked — Location, staff.
  • Disliked — Rooms a little small
  • Stayed December 2006
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2008

Great location, 5-10 minute walk from the train station with luggage. Also close to Lake Geneva. Area was kind of loud at night but it was a Friday night so I guess that's understandable. Our room was tiny, and there were 3 rooms on our floor sharing a bathroom. It was fine for us because we were staying one night and moving on the next day. Anything else in central Geneva is so expensive. Breakfast was quite good and the front desk staff let us check out an hour late. All in all, it was pretty much the type of experience we had expected.

  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monte di Procida
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2008

If you are looking for true value and a comfortable room in an excellent location, this is the place. We wanted to visit our daughter who is attending college there. Things are so expensive there in Geneva so I was surprised to find a hotel that was at a decent price and centrally located. The hotel rooms are small but comfortable. There is a cozy little dining area for breakfast. The staff is top notch and speak English as well as several other languages. They were extremely helpful giving us directions and making suggestions for places to go. We even received a pass to ride all of the public transportation during our stay, which included the water taxi (nice to just view the fountain). This was really nice and really gave us some extra euro for enjoying our time there. The breakfast is simple but good. All in all this little hotel really enabled us to have a great experience there in Geneva. If you come in at the airport don't forget to grab your pass for the bus before you leave baggage claim area. Ask any of the porters as everyone in Geneva is especially polite and helpful.

  • Liked — The staff and good value.
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel St-Gervais? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel St-Gervais

Address: Rue des Corps-Saint 20, Geneva CH-1201, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Geneva > Geneva > Saint-Gervais Temple
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 106 Hotels in Geneva
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel St-Gervais 1*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and HostelBookers so you can book your Hotel St-Gervais reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel St Gervais
St Gervais Hotel Geneva

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel St-Gervais, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.