We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Most known Geneva site” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Jet d'Eau

Jet d'Eau
quai Gustave-Ador | Jetee des Eaux-Vives, Geneva 1207, Switzerland (Rues-Basses Longemalle)
41 022 909 70 00
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Top Rated
$48*
and up
Geneva City Tour
Ranked #13 of 65 Attractions in Geneva
Type: Fountains, Landmarks
Activities: City walk sightseeing
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Geneva's most prominent landmark, this tremendous fountain is located in Lake Geneva in the city's downtown area.
Geneva, Switzerland
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
25 attraction reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Most known Geneva site”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

Yes, it mereley is a big pump spraying water into the sky (about 140 meters high in the summer). But eh, it's still original and the symbol of the city, so it is an attraction you are not allowed to miss!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,263 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    556
    453
    193
    36
    25
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Geneva, Switzerland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“It's a must see in geneva”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

Lucky for me I LIVE here, and right across from jet d'Eau ( jet dolo)
If you visit geneva,you CAN'T miss it,in the middle of the lake, in a hot summer day, you should walk towards it,it's refreshing :) and the walk around the lake is great after lunch or dinner.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“I like it”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

I like Jet d'Eau, I cannot imagine a Geneva without it. You can see it from almost everywhere. A constant reminder you are in Geneva, which, for me, was a good thing.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
22 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Glorious Geneva”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

We, myself and girlfriend, simply adored Geneva. For us, it was home. The wonderful array of shops, the very top end, on the Rue du Rhone were simply fantastic, what a street. The buildings in the centre were just gorgeous too: classical, magnanimous. There were some older buildings in the older part of town that simply oozed charm; a street with the Geneva flag/Swiss flags flying was a treat. The bus network was awesome: so many buses going, and turning up, with Swiss precision. The chocolate was great and we bought back a bag full. Swiss fondue with the crispy biscuit at the bottom of the pot was a treat. The working flower clock was a nice thing to see. People walking about were nicely dressed, people were quite elegant. We would up sticks and move to Geneva as it was a place that we simply adored and we shall have to go again to purchase not only more chocolate, get out Swiss watched serviced but to actually see the Jet d'eau which was off for servicing when we were there. Geneva: as elegant as France with buildings similar to Paris.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
31 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Now that is what I call a fountain!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

The sheer power of this water jet is incredible and when you see how high it pushes the lake water up into the air you will be amazed!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jet d'Eau also viewed

Geneva, Canton of Geneva
Geneva, Canton of Geneva
 
Geneva, Canton of Geneva
Geneva, Canton of Geneva
 

Been to Jet d'Eau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jet d'Eau, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.