We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Does what it says on the tin!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel de la Cigogne

Save Saved
You added Hotel de la Cigogne to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel de la Cigogne
17 Place Longemalle, Geneva 1204, Switzerland (Rues-Basses Longemalle)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 103 hotels in Geneva
Geneva, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Does what it says on the tin!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Well have stayed on and off in this beautiful, perfect Geneva based centrally located hotel, and really is my nest when in town.
Quality,conservative approach, really quite exceptional. The rooms have stood the test of time and the suites despite their strange lay outs really are comfortable elegant and quiet.
The hotel is so well placed, in one word enjoy!

Room Tip: Take the plunge, go enjoy
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    38
    11
    7
    4
    2
See reviews for
4
13
8
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012

The hotel is located few steps from the famous flower clock and the lake and few minutes walk from shops restaurants and the old town. The service is impeccable and rooms are very comfortable. The breakfast is reach and tasteful.
Don't expect contemporary decoration or great view from the room, but clean and comfortable rooms.
I stayed there few time for business and will return again.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2012

For many years, we had a home in the Old Town of Geneva. Later on, we have moved to London, UK - and have visited Geneva only sporadically. For this reason, we have eventually decided to give up our home in the Old Town - and began staying in the Hotel La Cigogne, in the hart of Geneva, whenever we visited Switzerland.

The boutique hotel La Cigogne is really the ideal home-away-from-home. It looks like an exquisite private home situated on a small square in the centre of the city. The service throughout the establishment is exemplary, the rooms and suites are lovely - and the position of the hotel simply could not be better: it is only a few steps away from rue de Rhone, the Geneva's answer to London's Bond Street (or Sloan Street or New York's 5th Avenue or Barcelona's Paseo de Gracia or or Zurich's Banhof Strasse) - and the charming Old Town can be reached by just ten minutes walk against the hill towards the beautiful Geneva Cathedral and the enchanting squares and restaurants and small antique shops of the Old Quarters.

We cannot imagine a better choice of an accommodation in Geneva - and we strongly recommend this lovelyhotel to anybody who wishes to spend a few luxurious days in the beautiful city on Lac Leman - and not be the subject of the boring routine of the big hotels on the other side of the river Rhone.

The staff of the hotel is like a family to us - and we always look forward to returning to La Cigogne - for a week or two, four of five times a year. Again - warmly recommended!

jdsepes - Geneva

Room Tip: The suites on the top of the hotel are the best choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Directeur général at Hotel de la Cigogne, responded to this review, June 27, 2012
Dear Madam, or Dear Sir,
We acknowledge receipt of your comments on TripAdvisor and we would like to sincerely thank you for the time you spent to this questionnaire and for your appreciations.
Looking forward to the pleasure of welcoming you soon to the Hôtel de la Cigogne, Relais & Châteaux, Geneva, we assure you of our best services and attentions.
With our devoted regards,

Philippe Vuillemin
General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2012

This hotel is hard to spot travelling by Public Transport but on arrival a single door led to a luxurious safe haven. My room was spacious with a wide long corridor leading to the double basin bathroom, and mini cabinet on the either side. Further along the corridor a second door leads to a spacious twin bedroom with living room (2 piece suite sofas, antique furniture - one being a large Edwardian oak desk). It was a match made in heaven! I was travelling on business and needed the space to do work! With this hotel it really is the small touches; soft towels, survival kits in the bathroom, bottled water with turn down. The hotel also has a magnificent suite split over 2 floors - ideal for those junior groups. Room service was sufficient and nothing was too much on the concierge desk. This hotel is perfect for business travellers who want to be centrally located and comfortable.

Room Tip: For groups sharing room 22/ for those who want the space room 37
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CigogneGE, Directeur général at Hotel de la Cigogne, responded to this review, June 18, 2012
Dear Madam,
We acknowledge receipt of your comments on tripAdvisor and we would like to sincerely thank you for the time you spent to this questionnaire and for your appreciations which held all our attention.
Looking forward to the pleasure of welcoming you soon to the Hôtel de la Cigogne, Relais & Châteaux, Geneva, we assure you of our best services and attentions.
With our devoted regards,
Philippe Vuillemin
General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2011

To put it simply, it’s a terrific place, and one which is right in the heart of the city. Another review on here says this: “The staff are extremely well trained and genuinely care about their guests. I've never seen this level of sincerity at a regular hotel.” It’s true, absolutely. The level of service is comparable only to the standards that you yourself set and expect, and these guys really meet and greet those standards. The food is also excellent, and the staff seemingly have a nose for the grape and a sound pallet as I was recommended a good wine to complement the food I chose, and they never selected the most expensive bottle on the list, but, rather, the wine that actually fit the food.

The room I had was, sadly, on the top floor and overlooked the back of the hotel, so I had no view to mention other than other a slight blend of different shades of grey bricks. Regardless of this, the room was clean, tidy and regularly serviced. It included a 28” LCD TV and a bucket-load of freebees should you ever decide to indulge in swiping them (slippers, dressing gowns, and so forth).

Super hotel (if slightly quirky), great service, fantastic staff. Looking forward to the next trip.Which is real soon!

Room Tip: Quick tip? Simple - book it if you can get it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montvale NJ
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2011

This is a hotel that has everything going for it except the hotel itself.

The staff is excellent, with some of the best service I have seen, Nice complimentary room service breakfast, and a great location just off of the Rive Gauche, close to the historic old center of Geneva, shopping, transit, restaurants. It's quiet and clean.

The hotel itself is very clean, but hasn't been renovated in perhaps 20+ years. It's got an old feel to everything about it, you feel like you're in a Sean Connery era James Bond Hotel.

For around $500 a night, it isn't cheap, and it doesn't feel worthwhile. You get two twin beds in a somewhat cramped room.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
63 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2010

I had to be in Geneva for work and booked this hotel because it was one of the first - and few - with availability. I paid £600+ for what was billed as a standard room (ouch!) but had little choice. On arrival, I was surprised to see how small the lobby was. This really felt like a sub-urban hotel, not a luxurious boutique in the heart of Geneva that I'd just whacked the best part of $1000 on! But, moving up to my room, things got better. It turns out that this hotel's 'standard room' is more akin to a junior suite. I had a separate lounge, dining area and bedroom. The bathroom was elegant, if a little OTT (marble on marble on marble with a hint of granite, topped off with some gold). Beautifully cooked and presented room service (another £100, ouch!) served at my in-room dining table, followed by a great night's sleep in a huge four-poster bed = almost worth the money. Next time, I'll book the Four Seasons for half the price, but I'm glad I experienced it.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel de la Cigogne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de la Cigogne

Address: 17 Place Longemalle, Geneva 1204, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Geneva > Geneva > Rues-Basses Longemalle
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 103 hotels in Geneva
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An enchanting stay in the heart of Geneva"The Saint-Pierre Cathedral, the Reformation Wall, the fountain, the English Garden... The discovery of Geneva's cultural wonders begins with a stay in this hotel located in the heart of the city. The golden stork which stands above the door sets the tone of this stunningly decorated palace, with its baroque fountain, Belle Epoque fresco and tall stone columns... In the kitchen, original dishes accentuate the enchantment, with the roasted catfish served with thinly sliced marinated pumpkin and chopped nuts. Geneva, I love you... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel de la Cigogne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De La Cigogne Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel de la Cigogne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.