We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Four Seasons Hotel des Bergues Geneva

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Four Seasons Hotel des Bergues Geneva to your Saves list
Four Seasons Hotel des Bergues Geneva
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   33 Quai des Bergues, Geneva 1201, Switzerland (Formerly Hotel des Bergues) (Saint-Gervais Les Bergues)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 106 Hotels in Geneva
Iloilo City, Philippines
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Lovely!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2008

Went to Geneva with friends last year for 3 days. All I can say is, it is the best hotel you can go to. Quite expensive but you cant go wrong or say something bad with everything. From the minute you go out from the taxi and entering the lobby...
The details are always there. Gorgeous guys around, there to give you a helping hand. Welcoming concierge and reception. Lovely room, the best furniture..amenities so fine. And of course, the food! great breakfast!!!just the best!!!

  • Stayed November 2007, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

337 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    282
    41
    6
    3
    5
See reviews for
51
102
24
118
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
NYC
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2008

Expensive but worth every penny if you can afford it. Location can't be beat, immaculately clean, incredible service, just beautiful! I travel extensively and this is as good as it gets!

  • Stayed April 2008
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2008

My husband and I stayed here for two nights this past May. We are big Four Seasons fans. We were delighted to find out that the package offered by the hotel cost the same as getting rooms at corporate rates in the Mandarin Oriental (which needs refurbishment). We were not disappointed. The location of this hotel is great and service as excellent as in any other top Four Seasons hotel. We ate our lunches at the hotel restaurant and found the food to be excellent. My only criticism would be the configuration of the bathroom and the room.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — bathroom
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2008

We stayed at this hotel in the middle of December last year and thought it was excellent. We arrived mid morning and were not surprised to find that our room was not ready as it was so early. However the reception staff were most apologetic and asked us t o take a seat and provided us with a glass of champagne while they "rectified the situation". 15 minutes later we were escorted to our room and were told that they had upgraded us to a suite. The room was beautiful. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and look forward to going back some day!!

  • Liked — Luxurious comfort
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montigny-le-Bretonneux, France
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
62 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
194 helpful votes 194 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2008

The room itself was well appointed (DVD player, shaving kit on request / flat screen TV / cordless phone / Aqua di Parma toiletries/ etc.). It is what you expect from a 5* hotel, so far no difference with any other high end property.

What is amazing at the Hotel des Bergues is the service. Everything we have requested was delivered within 5 minutes, we were called by our names (I still cannot understand how they do that, for me after the Oriental in Bangkok it was only the second time).

For information, rooms with even numbers face the outside of the building (adjacent streets or lake view), and rooms with odd numbers face the internal courtyard.

The only negative point: we were not lead to our room. This is the first time in a Four Seasons hotel that we were let alone to find our way.

Breakfast is fantastic and lunch at the bar was very good.

Overall it is an almost perfect 5* hotel, it would be even better if prices were a bit lower (130 CHF for a one-way transfer from hotel to airport with a Mercedes Classe S / 1500+ CHF for a junior suite which is just a large normal room).

  • Liked — Four Seasons service / ability to adapt to any request
  • Disliked — Price?
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool (UK)
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2008

As a treat for my wife I booked an early January visit. Perhaps unusually for Four Seasons guests we walked down from Cornavin station and were welcomed, with the door staff asking my wife if she was staying (we had strolled in whilst they were otherwise engaged helping guests) and immediately starting the Four Seasons' style of greeting us by name.

We had arrived at 10.00 and the Reception staff apologised that our room was not ready, but we explained that we did not expect an empty room at such an hour and that we would go out for a stroll. They took my mobile number (no charge for incoming calls to my +44 number) so that they could telephone us as soon as the room was ready. After a pleasant afternoon at a favourite shoeshop (a favourite of my wife's - Coup de Soleil in rue Voltaire) we returned to the hotel to find that the usual Four Seasons intercommunication had been in action and that we had been upgraded to a room looking out to the lake and to the jet.

So that sets the scene.

We had an excellent four days in a fabulous hotel with superbly friendly and efficient staff, even down to arranging the free Unireso travel card and directions to a lighting warehouse on the outskirts. Even with the poor UK exchange rate, almost CHFr2 to the £, we had very good value for such service, attention and cleanliness. All the staff acknowledge guests, rather than the grunt and the grimace that pass for best in many a UK establishment.

Il Lago Restaurant is very good, with a wide-ranging menu and well-kept, well-served wines and waters. The rooms well-stocked and serviced and with comfortable day furniture, although perhaps we could have done without such a large flat screen TV - time for the manufacturers to make less intrusive machines? The public spaces are immaculate and arranged to allow for a buzz in the hotel without detracting from those who wish for a little peace and privacy. And those Four Seasons flowers. Both delightful and splendid.

Are we going back? You bet.

  • Liked — Quality of design, execution, maintenance and day-to-day management
  • Disliked — That we had to leave after a few days.
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, AZ
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2008

Stayed at the property for 2 nights just after Christmas. The hotel is right on the Lake (less than 3 miles from the airport), however, it is at the end of the lake so do not expect a panoramic view from your window. When we arrived at about 11:00 am, they had a room for us in 15 min!!! I asked the reception about an American Express upgrade and the clerk very gently explained to me that the hotel is not on the Amex list (oops..my bad) but might be soon but that they would like to give us an upgrade anyway.. very nice of them....They put us in a very newly refurbished room (done just in the last 2 weeks) on the second floor (210 I think)..It was very contemporary and had a small balcony...Great tub, dual sinks...BUT... the heat wouldn't work in the room....Maintainance came right up and tried...but still cold. They then brought up 3 space heaters to try and warm the room (a bit awkward with these units laying around the room) but when we turned on the bathroom light, a fuse blew and all the lights went out. Fuse was reset, one heater taken away...and the fuse blew again...It was decided then by all involved to move us (upgraded again, by the way) to the 5th floor to a very nice room. The bed was unbelievably great and plenty of room...Jan, fellow at the desk, couldn't have been nicer and we got a great call as well from Miriam , the manager on duty. As the first room was newly renovated and they were all so nice, it really was not a big deal...it happens. Of course at the Four Seasons you get totally spoiled. If you even ask in passing how far it is to a town, they run and print off a mappy.com sheet for you. When we made reservations for dinner they even slid a confirmation and map to the restaurant under our door....and it was to the restaurant IN THE HOTEL!!! Now that's service! The bar is a great place to hang out and the staff it seems really try to beat each other to wait on you...They are watching all the time to see if you need anything...While it doesn't have the best view of the lake because it is at the end, it does make it a short walk to the shopping...just over the pedestrian bridge. All in all...great...It is a Four Seasons!

  • Liked — Staff and upkeep and design of the property
  • Disliked — There was the heating and electrical problem with the first room, hence the only negative mark.
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Four Seasons Hotel des Bergues Geneva? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Seasons Hotel des Bergues Geneva

Address: 33 Quai des Bergues, Geneva 1201, Switzerland (Formerly Hotel des Bergues)
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Geneva > Geneva > Saint-Gervais Les Bergues
Amenities:
Beach Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Geneva
#2 Spa Hotel in Geneva
#2 Business Hotel in Geneva
#2 Romantic Hotel in Geneva
#3 Luxury Hotel in Geneva
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Four Seasons Hotel des Bergues Geneva 5*
Number of rooms: 103
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Distinguished continental hotel with antiques, located 500 meters from Cornavin train station & 4.5 km from Geneva-Cointrin Arpt. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotel.de, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Four Seasons Hotel des Bergues Geneva reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
4 Seasons Hotel Des Bergues Geneva
Four Seasons Geneva
Geneva Four Seasons

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Four Seasons Hotel des Bergues Geneva, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.