We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming Hotel in Old Town” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Les Armures

Save Saved
You added Hotel Les Armures to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Les Armures
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Rue Puits-St-Pierre, Geneva 1204, Switzerland (Bourg-de-Four)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 103 hotels in Geneva
Esher
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Charming Hotel in Old Town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

My husband booked us a weekend here. It is a gorgeously updated old hotel right in the heart of the historic old section of Geneva. Beautiful wooden floors, wooden beams, modern bathrooms. Breakfast is an intimate buffet. Great location for strolling around and exploring the nooks and crannies of Geneva. Front desk staff were very helpful in making dinner suggestions and reservations.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mpater, Directeur général at Hotel Les Armures, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Dear Madam, Dear Sir,

Thank you for the wonderful review! I am delighted that you enjoyed our hotel and it was the perfect location for your stay in Geneva.
Also, I am so pleased to know you were able to enjoy a meal in our restaurant.
I hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you again very soon.
Sincerely yours.

Michel Paternotte
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    74
    27
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
16
36
5
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

This Hotel is located in a fantastic area of Old Town Geneva, this small luxurious hotel, provides great modern rooms friendly and welcoming staff and Free Wifi ( something not really found in Geneva) The main restaurant food is very good with a good range of Swiss meals.The room are modern with a Swiss feel. The Breakfast was very fresh with a good selection served by a very friendly lady. I would recommend this Hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mpater, Directeur général at Hotel Les Armures, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Dear Madam, Dear Sir,

Thank you for taking the time to give us such a nice review.
I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and that our team provided you with an excellent experience. Also, I am delighted you enjoyed the décor of the rooms, the breakfast, the location.
I look forward to welcoming you again at “Les Armures”, I remain,
Yours faithfully

Michel Paternotte
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

I was very nervous to find a nice hotel that did not cost a fortune as all lake front hotels do. We were so lucky to land here. A bit difficult to find if you are driving, but once you get there you are in a wonderful part of town - up on the hill in the middle of the old town is this hidden gem. We were greeted warmly and led to our fabulous rooms(even though we arrived quite early in the day after an overnight trip). They have maintained the old architecture and yet added modern touches and amenities. The bathrooms were some of the nicest I have experienced (large showers with rain shower heads - wonderful). The beds were comfortable and the sheets fabulous. We were so fortunate to have a distant view of the lake. Although very hot when there the a/c worked beautifully. Breakfast was delicious - best croissant I had on our trip (which was mostly in France). The breakfast room is tucked away in the back of the second floor - it is fine just a shame in the summer you couldn't sit on the terrace of their restaurant, but a very minor thing. All in all the best part of Geneva!!!

Room Tip: Try to get a "modern" room facing the lake!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mpater, Directeur général at Hotel Les Armures, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Dear Madam, Dear Sir,

Thank you for taking the time to post such kind words following your stay at “Les Armures”.

We are very pleased that you liked the bedroom, the decor, the comfortable beds and we are also delighted that you enjoyed the breakfast selection on offer at the hotel.

We are very dedicated to making our guests feel at home and we are thrilled that you felt we could not do enough for you.

We hope to welcome you back in the future,

With my best regards

Michel Paternotte
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

In the heart of Geneva this small luxurious hotel provides you with everything a modern traveler is looking for. Beautiful and large room, luxurious facilities, quietness , great food and a superb service.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mpater, Directeur général at Hotel Les Armures, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Dear Madam, Dear Sir,

Thank you very much for your review on Tripadvisor.

I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you found the hotel cosy & homely.
Also, I was absolutely pleased that you enjoyed the great service you received from our Staff.

We look forward to welcome you again to Les Armures, I remain,

Yours faithfully,

Michel Paternotte, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We have stayed a couple of times in this small nice hotel in the old city of Geneva. The house walls from the 13 th Century, and the building from the 17 th Century. Very good beds, quiet surroundings. We had a welltasting breakfast. For cheese lovers the hotel has it own restaurant in the basement. I visit Geneva every year, amd every year I visit the restaurant for cheese-fondue.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mpater, Directeur général at Hotel Les Armures, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Dear Madam, Dear Sir,

I am happy to read your comments regarding your very recent stay with us at “Les Armures” and would like to thank you for having taken the time to share your experience via Tripadvisor.

Thank you very much for recommending our typical restaurant for the Swiss cheese specialities.

We are all delighted that we are now your Geneva hotel-restaurant of choice and we look forward to welcoming you back and hope that it is before too long.

With warmest wishes,

Michel Paternotte
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013 via mobile

Very nice hotel in old town. Our room had been recently redecorated and looked stunning with wood panning all over walls. Loads of restaurants and cafes nearby. Extremely quiet at night. Highly recommended.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mpater, Directeur général at Hotel Les Armures, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Dear Madam, Dear Sir,

I thank you so much for your time in writing such a good review from your recent stay at Les Armures. It is always a pleasure to see good reviews like yours.

I agree with you, we are spoiled with our location in the hearth of the old town of Geneva and close to a lot of little bars and restaurants.

We look forward to welcome you again to Les Armures, we remain,

Yours faithfully,

Michel Paternotte, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cupertino, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

I love the interior and exterior of this hotel. It's just so gorgeous! I had the best breakfast ever at this hotel! All the food at breakfast here taste so delicious, the yogurt, muesli, cured meats, ham and bacon are all wonderful. The surroundings of the hotel is just charming! The location in Old Town Geneve is strategic and just beautiful!! Our room is at the top where I got the view of Lake Geneve from a distance. I just love love love this place!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mpater, Directeur général at Hotel Les Armures, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Dear Madam, Dear Sir,

I am happy to read your comments regarding your very recent stay with us at “Les Armures” and would like to thank you for having taken the time to share your experience via Tripadvisor.
I am delighted to see that you also enjoyed our breakfast, as we are privileging the best gourmet local produce.
Thank you again for your kind words about our location in the Old City of Geneva, it is certainly one of our key points.

I hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you again very soon.

Sincerely yours.

Michel Paternotte
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Les Armures? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Les Armures

Address: 1 Rue Puits-St-Pierre, Geneva 1204, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Geneva > Bourg-de-Four
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Geneva
#12 Business Hotel in Geneva
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Les Armures 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unique hotel located in the heart of the Old town of Geneva, “Les Armures” offers a breathtaking view of historic part of the city, while being only a stone's throw away from the business and shopping centre of Geneva. This magnificent 17th century residence has been recently renovated to create a unique environment, combining luxury and refinement, well-being and savoir-vivre with uniquely decorated rooms and suites, all of them with their own charm and elegance. As far as dining is concerned, Epicureans will enjoy “Les Armures” restaurant, known as one of the oldest in the city. The “brasserie style” restaurant, features all-day dining and serves Swiss specialities, such as cheese fondue or raclette. Undoubtedly, Les Armures Restaurant is an unforgettable experience!The walls of this romantic hotel still seem to vibrate with the charisma of his well-known guests as: President Jimmy Carter and his wife Rosalynn, President Bill Clinton and his family, Paul Mac Cartney, Gary Gasparov, Jean Marais, Yannick Noah, Sophia Loren, Pelé and recently George Clooney. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Fastbooking, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Les Armures reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Les Armures Hotel
Les Armures Geneva

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Les Armures, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.