We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Les Armures

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Les Armures to your Saves list
Hotel Les Armures
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Rue Puits-St-Pierre, Geneva 1204, Switzerland (Cité)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 106 Hotels in Geneva
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
39 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

This hotel is wonderful! The rooms are clean and stylish; the location is ideal; the breakfast buffet selection was fresh, varied, and delicious. This review is short, because there is little more I can say. The perfect place to stay in Geneva.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    99
    35
    6
    3
    1
See reviews for
24
52
6
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2012

Located in the middle of old city (Geneva), with one of the best traditional restaurant, this hotel was the choice of Bill Clinton, George Clooney and, of course, me..;)). Very nice rooms and apartments. The personal is very helpful and nice. I ll choose it for my next trip....May be Bill and George too....

Room Tip: Every room is nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
41 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2012 via mobile

Only downside poor breakfast but front staff great and wife loved george clooney autograph in lift

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2012

I have been going to Les Armures for about fifteen years and, for me, it is absolutle the best place to stay in Geneva. Do not go there if you want marble reception rooms or plush bars-it is not that sort of place. It has wonderful understated elegance (see the testamonials at the hotel from Bill Clinton and George Clooney!) and the rooms, whilst having a lot of cool design, retain some of the original (15th or 16th century?) features. The staff are sweet, quickly get to know everyone by name (but, yes, it is a five star hotel so it doesn't have to be ghastly and impersonal) and are generally very helpful. Yet for me its location is paramount. Not for Les Armures the cold grandeur of the 'new' city. It is in the heart of old Geneva surrounded by cobbled streets, the Cathedral and lovely old squares. The shops and restaurants are stylish and interesting (very expensive, like everything in Switzerland) Definitely the place to stay (if you can afford to, choose the adjoining rooms at the end of the corridor on the 3rd or 4th floors)

Room Tip: They seem to deals at the weekend as Geneva is a very Monday-Friday sort of city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
137 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2012

A pure delight. Rustic, Swiss, cosy, non pretentious. We were in a junior suite with lots of room, comfortable couches ( not the renovated rooms). We love the woodden finishings. The lobby is small and friendly with an adjacent reading room and a quiet corner for reading.
Breakfast was a unique experience, served on a separate floor with a beautiful surrounding, most delightful.
We like this hotel as it is in the old city. One can walk around the areas and visit many little antique shops, small restaurants and cafe, very quaint and is most delightful, totally charming. I will recommend this to anyone who visits Geneve.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level Contributor
183 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

In the old city, and a great location. Service is great, a bit expensive but it's Geneva. We paid in advance and were given an upgraded room when we arrived. Small excellent hotel.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bondi, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2012

Loved our stay in Hotel Les Armures. Great character and located in the centre of the old town of Geneva. It felt like we stepped back in time - it was beautiful. The rooms were spacey and warm. Wooden floors, interesting stone work and wooden beams in the ceiling gave a lovely old feel (that appeared to be genuine!). All fittings and furnishings are top quality. Extremely comfortable, old school with a modern edge. Light dimmers by the bed were a novelty - I've stayed in many hotels but there were a little state of the art. My only gripe is having to go downstairs for a DVD instead of there being the potential to watch a movie in-room. There are little copies of the "Thank you" notes from George Clooney and the Clintons from when they stayed there - felt all very special. The hotel itself doesnt have a huge amount of rooms, and staff pay extra special attention and care to you. We also took some recommendations from the staff for dinner, wound up dining in a Michelin starred restaurant off the beaten track that was reasonable and simply amazing. You dont have to travel far for good food though, the restaurant at the hotel is amazing and very popular, it serves lots of great local food too. Loved that we could order food from this great restaurant straight to our rooms. Breakfast was amazing and was very generous - we opted to have it in our room because we were just so darn happy in our lovely hotel room! Could not recommend this hotel more, stay here and love the feeling of old Geneva and spoil yourself!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Geneva hotels
Hotel N'vY
#8 of 106 in Geneva
4.5 of 5 stars 523 reviews
Hotel d'Angleterre
#3 of 106 in Geneva
5.0 of 5 stars 432 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel De La Paix
#7 of 106 in Geneva
4.5 of 5 stars 361 reviews
Tiffany Hotel
#20 of 106 in Geneva
4.0 of 5 stars 364 reviews
Saint-Gervais Les Bergues
Four Seasons Hotel des Bergues Geneva
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Les Armures? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Les Armures

Address: 1 Rue Puits-St-Pierre, Geneva 1204, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Geneva > Geneva > Cité
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in Geneva
#14 Luxury Hotel in Geneva
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Les Armures 5*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unique hotel located in the heart of the Old town of Geneva, “Les Armures” offers a breathtaking view of historic part of the city, while being only a stone's throw away from the business and shopping centre of Geneva. This magnificent 17th century residence has been recently renovated to create a unique environment, combining luxury and refinement, well-being and savoir-vivre with uniquely decorated rooms and suites, all of them with their own charm and elegance. As far as dining is concerned, Epicureans will enjoy “Les Armures” restaurant, known as one of the oldest in the city. The “brasserie style” restaurant, features all-day dining and serves Swiss specialities, such as cheese fondue or raclette. Undoubtedly, Les Armures Restaurant is an unforgettable experience!The walls of this romantic hotel still seem to vibrate with the charisma of his well-known guests as: President Jimmy Carter and his wife Rosalynn, President Bill Clinton and his family, Paul Mac Cartney, Gary Gasparov, Jean Marais, Yannick Noah, Sophia Loren, Pelé and recently George Clooney. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Fastbooking, Hotel.de, Odigeo, Priceline, Venere, Agoda and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Hotel Les Armures reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Les Armures Hotel
Les Armures Geneva

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Les Armures, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.