We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely fantastic place, do book there....” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel d'Angleterre

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel d'Angleterre to your Saves list
Hotel d'Angleterre
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   17 Quai du Mont-Blanc, Geneva 1201, Switzerland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
3 nights for 2
Ranked #1 of 105 Hotels in Geneva
Geneva, Geneve, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Absolutely fantastic place, do book there....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

Fantastic hotel, with friendly staff, beautifully furnished.

The best tea time in Geneva, sconces, lovely presentation, lots of attention to details.

Definitely a treasure among Geneva hotels.

It Is rather rare to find this quality of the service in Geneva.

Location is also beautiful, facing the lake, and being close to all the commodities.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

373 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    318
    45
    4
    2
    4
See reviews for
50
167
23
77
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Riyadh, Saudi Arabia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

stayed for 7night in lovely boutique hotel in front of geneva famous lake,within walking distance to all tourism attraction, the hotel contain 35 rooms each room has diffrant design and decoration, the hotel still use the luxury antique elevators, the room is in nice and the bathroom is big but the staff service is amazing every one try to help you and every one know your name and they really respect your culture and do their best to help you, the breakfast in ground floor in windows restaurant with beautiful view to the lake, all i want to say is tripadvisor never lie about the best hotel in geneva

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

We visited gevena for 2nights stayed in lake executive connected to a standard room. Rooms were beautifully decorated, spacious bathrooms and excellent amenities. Staff are great and helpful, would greet you everytime they see you and always offer to help.
The one area that would definitely need attention is breakfast buffet. It's extremely small selection of bread and fruit, then you can order your eggs. Didn't see a menu just a question of what kind of eggs you like. Other than breakfast, our stay was excellent and I would definitely recommend the hotel.

Stayed October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jean-Vital D, General Manager at Hotel d'Angleterre, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Dear Madam,

Let me thank you for the very nice comment you have left about the hotel d'Angleterre as well as the posted pictures.

I have noticed your remark regarding the breakfast. We propose 3 kinds fresh breads every morning, tosats and various danish pastries. I have asked our Maitre D to make sure that these are available all morning long on the buffet. The range of eggs is being proposed by voice.

Thanks for giving us this opportunity to improve our services.

Warmest regards.

Jean-Vital Domézon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

Although our room was on the smaller side I enjoyed the décor (husband didn't). We did have a large king bed that took up most of the room space. (paid for the lowest category room) The service was very good. We enjoyed the Leopard Room for an expensive drink....the décor there is part of the price.

The room had a coffee pot which was nice. Location is great...walking distance from the train station and across the street from the free ferry to old town. They only lost one star because the price is steep; however, I found a better rate through an online booking agency.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

I have only praise for this hotel. The location is excellent. The rooms are on the small side, but beautiful. However, the hotel truly shines because of the staff. We truly could not expect more from them. They are friendly, knowledgeable and accommodating. The concierge recommendations were spot on. Our meals in the restaurant were excellent-I would highly recommend the afternoon tea. The leopard bar is an interesting and fun little place, as well.

When we return to Geneva we won't even consider another hotel, based on our experience at the Hotel d'Angleterre.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

This is a beautiful, well-located property that enables you to walk to restaurants, taxis, shops and the lake. The staff are exceptional and give you breathing room to go about your business. The bedding is very comfortable and the room well equipped.
Couldn't find a better location.

Room Tip: We chose a room with a king bed and the bed did dominate the room, but worked out well for a couple...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

Absolutely out of this world, This has got to be in my Top ten. I stayed here on business with work colleagues, and I have to say it was exceptional, the quality of service the variety of food and it tasted magnificent. I would highly recommend this hotel, its an absolute must.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel d'Angleterre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel d'Angleterre

Address: 17 Quai du Mont-Blanc, Geneva 1201, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Geneva > Geneva
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Geneva
#1 Luxury Hotel in Geneva
#1 Spa Hotel in Geneva
#2 Family Hotel in Geneva
#3 Business Hotel in Geneva
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel d'Angleterre 5*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, LHW, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel d'Angleterre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel d Angleterre
d Angleterre Hotel Geneva

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel d'Angleterre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.