We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service, beautiful hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel d'Angleterre

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hotel d'Angleterre to your Saves list
Hotel d'Angleterre
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   17 Quai du Mont-Blanc, Geneva 1201, Switzerland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
3 nights for 2
Ranked #1 of 103 Hotels in Geneva
Tinley Park, Illinois
2 reviews
“Great service, beautiful hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

This was our first visit to Geneva. This hotel was impeccably decorated with original artwork and fine furnishings. The service from every member of the staff could not have been better. If you want an extremely nice room and service beyond compare, this is the hotel for you. When we return we will most definitely stay again at the Hotel d'Angleterre.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jean-Vital D, General Manager at Hotel d'Angleterre, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Dear Eric,

It was a great pleasure for us to start 2013 with you and your familiy! Thanks a lot for these warm comments that I will share with the rest of the team. We're all really glad you enjoyed the ambiance, the decoration and style of the hotel.

I hope we will have the pleasure to welocme you soon at the hotel.

Warmest regards

Jean-Vital Domézon
Général Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

326 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    282
    37
    3
    1
    3
See reviews for
42
143
21
69
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013 via mobile

The service was impeccable and we were made to feel comfortable in every which way.

Attention to detail was amazing and rooms were lovely if not a bit small

The only slight negative was the extortionate prices in the bar but the ambience was worth it

We cant wait to return to this hotel

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

We stayed here for one night as part of an anniversary trip. It was wonderful. The hotel is beautiful, and the service impeccable. We were always treated as if we were their favourite guests! We luckily had an upgrade and our room was fabulous. We had a wonderful (if - as all Geneva- eye-wateringly expensive) meal in their restaurant, and really enjoyed a drink in the atmospheric bar downstairs. I think it was the nicest hotel experience I have ever had. We will definitely be returning!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penrith
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

The service was very attentive, as other travellers have remarked already. The room - overlooking the central well of other windows - had no view but was very tastefully and generously refurbished, and we were out most of the time anyway. A lovely place to stay, with plenty of thoughtful touches, such as a proper cafetiere and teapot (no milk though!), face flannels, scales, ipod dock, etc. The evening maids were delightful - discrete and very thoughtful. The bar was very well furnished, but prices are high, so we didn't use it much. We didn't use the restaurant (too dear for us) but it's easy to get to other cafes and restaurants by boat or tram or foot.
It was let down by 1. heating. The thermostat didn't adjust the temperature and the window would not stay just very slightly open so we were over-heated each night; 2. the lighted shaving mirror (such a great idea) had a faulty light; the lighting system - lots of dimmers and alternatives which meant a lovely ambience) - was too complicated in the end and we couldn't work out how to have the bathroom light on whilst the bedroom was still dark.
We both needed some pampering after a very stressful month: this was a very good choice of hotel for that, especially at the cold end of November.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jean-Vital D, General Manager at Hotel d'Angleterre, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Dear Iain,
I feel really happy knowing that you left the hotel with a feeling of having been pampered after a stressful month of November as it really resume our aim at the hôtel d'Angleterre. I am glad you noticed and enjoyed some of the room amenities. Our maintenance team has already addressed the issues you have experienced with the room thermostat as well as the shaving mirror and please accept my apologies. Be sure that I will explore any opportunity to simplify the lighting system whilst keeping the dimming option that do bring our rooms this warm and cosy atmosphere.
I look forward to greet you soon again, but this time with a view on the Lake Leman and the Mont-Blanc !
Warmest regards

Jean-Vital Domézon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forney, Texas
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

Stayed at the Hotel d'Angleterre for a week while on business in Geneva and I have nothing but positive things to say! The service is as good as it gets! The room itself was very traditional and well-appointed, something one only sees in the U.S. in hotels like The Plaza in NYC. The room was very comfortable including the bed (I had a king size that was actually two beds put together--something I find very common in Europe even in the finer hotels). If you want quite, you might not want to face the road in the front, but it does have a great view of the geyser in Lake Geneva! Amenities were above average . . . and the Internet free. In fact, my only gripe could be the food prices for room service and in the restaurant (the food was generally very good); however, the high prices are like that elsewhere in Geneva; for example, I worked out of two other hotels during my stay and the food prices were even higher. Even though this hotel may appear expensive, it really isn't relative to other hotels in the area. Highly Recommended!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jean-Vital D, General Manager at Hotel d'Angleterre, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Dear Paul,
Thank you very much for you warm comment regarding your experience at the hotel d'Angleterre. It is true that our rooms facing the lake offer some breath-taking views on Geneva's "jet d'eau" as well as on the roof of Europe, the "Mont Blanc".
Thanks also for your fair comment regarding the prices of our hotel compared to others in Geneva ... it is true that the exchange rate between Swiss Franc and other currencies sometimes gives to Geneva a feeling of being expensive.
I hope we will have the opportunity to greet you soon again.
Jean-Vital Domézon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camberley
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

I'd booked a weekend break in Geneva to celebrate my wedding anniversary last month, and chose the Hotel d'Angleterre primarily for its TripAdvisor reviews and brilliant location. From the moment we arrived on Friday afternoon to the moment we departed on Sunday lunchtime, not a single thing caused us even the tiniest displeasure, which is extremely rare for ANY hotel.

Everything about our stay was as close to perfection as I can possibly imagine on earth. From the genuine warmth and friendliness of ALL the hotel staff, the attention to detail in the furnishing of the beautifully appointed rooms to the delightful little touches that made you feel like you're their only guests, I was bordering on misery when we had to leave.

Quite how they manage to get everything so right, I have no idea but it just shows it can be done. Many equivalent priced hotels offer similar accomodation and expectations of perfection, yet the simplest thing like a forgotten room service request, broken shower control or a sullen shrug from a disinterested staff member can soon end your enjoyment.

I can honestly say that without exception, every single member of staff we came into contact with, from the efficient and charming receptionist that checked us in, to the immaculately uniformed cleaning lady from El Salvador that chatted to my wife in Spanish, were a pleasure to deal with. When we initially had trouble connecting an iPad to their Wi-Fi network, the resident IT expert was despatched within minutes to our room and sorted the problem with a smile. Whoever is responsible for recruiting and training the staff here must be true perfectionists and could certainly teach a thing to other hotels about how guests like to be treated.

The view from our large room on the second floor overlooked the lake and despite the foul weather outside (the Jet d'eau was almost blowing sideways!) the calmness and serenity inside ensured a perfect sleep, free of any interruption. Everything about the room furnishings oozed quality and class, and the bathroom was possibly the finest I've ever seen.

Although we dined out with local friends in the evening, we did sample the splendid breakfast buffet on both mornings, which was also a delight. The freshest and largest selection of breads, meats, cheeses, pastries, fruit, juices and cereals kept us so full, I didn't even manage to order the bacon, sausage and pancakes that a neighbouring guest was clearly enjoying. Service in the restaurant was also exemplary with none of the 'searching for a waiter' routine you often have to do for a refill of coffee.

As many other reviewers have noted, it's the staff that really make this hotel so special and they truly deserve the credit given by other guests. It's not cheap, but then Geneva's not known for being a 'budget' city and for this level of quality and service, I thought it was excellent value. It was a memorable trip in many ways, but the next time we head to Geneva, this is where we'll be staying!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport Center, Vermont
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

I can't imagine a better place to stay in Geneva. After our overnight flight from North America and a short walk from Gare Cornavin in the rain, we arrived looking quite bedraggled at Hotel d'Angleterre. We were met by 2 extraordinarily friendly and welcoming gentlemen at the reception desk who made our check-in process a breeze. We were then escorted to our room where a detailed tour of the room ensued. We were brought coffee and provided with an enormous bowl of Swiss chocolate. Our room was on the top floor and, upon opening the windows, were greeted by a superb view of Lac Leman. The location of the hotel is excellent both from the standpoint of the view to Old Geneva, as well as being directly at the site of the ferry across the lake. Proximity to the train station as mentioned above is also excellent. Our room deserves only superlatives, being fully equipped in every regard, even to the point of providing a 110V AC electrical outlet. To me, however, the greatest asset of this hotel was the incredible staff, every member of which was as polite, friendly, and helpful as the two men at the reception desk. This hotel deserves all the accolades that have been bestowed upon it in other reviews. If the occasion arises for my wife and I to return to Geneva, I have no doubt where we will be staying.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel d'Angleterre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel d'Angleterre

Address: 17 Quai du Mont-Blanc, Geneva 1201, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Geneva > Geneva
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Geneva
#1 Luxury Hotel in Geneva
#1 Spa Hotel in Geneva
#2 Family Hotel in Geneva
#3 Business Hotel in Geneva
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel d'Angleterre 5*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel d'Angleterre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel d Angleterre
d Angleterre Hotel Geneva

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel d'Angleterre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.