We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful location, interesting interactive exhibits” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Musee International de la Reforme

Musee International de la Reforme
4 rue du Cloitre, Geneva 1204, Switzerland
(0)22 310 24 31
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #29 of 65 Attractions in Geneva
Type: Museums
Attraction details
Seattle
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Wonderful location, interesting interactive exhibits”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

Small, expensive but unique special exhibit. Not sure I would pay as much for regular exhibits, which cover religion, but I like small museums so would probably do so. Fantastic location.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    17
    8
    4
    3
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Geneva, Switzerland
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
49 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“English is available!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

Many TripAdvisor reviewers have said that the Reformation Museum is all in French. There are shelf units in every room with laminated cards, detailing the collection in English. Read the cards and return them as you leave the room. (This system is in place in most of the museums in Geneva.) The audio guide is also in English -- chose language #3 or ask the staff at the reception desk to set it up for you.

The collection itself is kind of dry and scholarly, but the museum is located in a beautiful old home. The music room, tucked in an out-of-the-way corner, is particularly delightful.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chichester, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“How do you make the Reformation interesting? Try this!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

This was a real find, and one that I might very easily have missed if I had let my school memories of studying the Reformation get the better of me. In two hours, I learnt more about the lasting significance of this movement than I would ever have thought possible. Many museums throughout the world could learn lessons from the presentation here, and how to make a very dry subject interesting. Amazing use of holograms to present Martin Luther and John Calvin (the city's most famous resident) in one of two interactive displays helped explain why the Reformation was necessary. The Museum shows the impact the Reformation had on Europe- and upon the world fantastically well- and made me realise that the period had not just religious but social implications right down to the present day. Above all, this museum is a shining example of how history can be presented in a fresh and exciting way- and in a beautiful building as well.

A plea to the Museum; your exhibition of the perfumes of the Bible is FANTASTIC- please please make it a permanent display! People all over the world are wondering what frankinsense and myrrh smelt like- now they can come to Geneva to find out!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“What a great surprise!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012 via mobile

What a great surprise!

We went for one of the special/seasonal displays (biblical scents - which was great, btw) and were stoked to find a really amazing museum. It is a great mix of different levels of church history at varying depths, from introductory Calvinism and Protestantism to music from the reformation, to Calvins contemporaries, and a brilliant section in their basement (new, I believe) on the shape of modern-day Christianity. A free audio-guide is provided in whichever language you nominate and there are great audio led presentations, quite unique. There are different kinds of displays, both high-tech and low-tech; visual, audio and interactive. The staff were very helpful and obliging and happy for us to store our backpacks loose in their locker-rooms while we went over to the cathderal. We were even given a free book (in english) for completing a feedback form. A really well laid-out museum, really interesting church history, highly recommended!

Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts, USA
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
31 attraction reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Incredibly well done”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

The museum and the exhibits are well worth a visit if you are at all interested in history or religion. They've done an incredible job of making the material interactive and the museum itself is lovely (originally a wealthy merchant's home).

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Musee International de la Reforme also viewed

 
Geneva, Canton of Geneva
 

Been to Musee International de la Reforme? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Musee International de la Reforme, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.