We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Over rated compared to it's real quality” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Auberge de Saviese

Auberge de Saviese
20 rue des Paquis, Geneva 1201 , Switzerland
+41 22 732 83 30
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #119 of 1,252 Restaurants in Geneva
Price range: $20 - $51
Cuisines: European, Swiss, Fondue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Outdoor seating
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Description: L'Auberge de Savièse is an old Café Restaurant full of charm and authenticity, located in the heart of Pâquis in Geneva.In the Savièse you will discover the mains Swiss specialties like Raclette, Cheese Fondue, swiss sausage, swiss ham, traditional fish menu "Filets de Perches", etcIn winter with the cheerful and friendly atmosphere Carnotzet or in summer with the charming terraces, come and discover a real swiss meal.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Over rated compared to it's real quality”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

The fondue was not bad, but I would suggest cleaner plates and services, fresh fries instead of deep frozen ones, and a decoration refreshment

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    63
    77
    32
    3
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester
Top Contributor
343 reviews 343 reviews
171 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 122 cities Reviews in 122 cities
199 helpful votes 199 helpful votes
“Great Fondue”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

You can't come to Switzerland and not have fondue and the version we had at this compact but characterful auberge was excellent. The interior is dark wood and there's not a lot of room inside but the staff are incredibly welcoming and friendly and the fondue was delicious. Sometimes in the past we've had it with a wider variety of accompaniments, here it was just bread and potatoes, but we didn't leave anything, always the sign of a good meal. Paquis is a very multi-cultural dish, so it was great to find some Swiss cuisine so close to our hotel.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha, Qatar
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Fondue fun”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014

Our concierge recommended this small Swiss restaurant to us after we asked for suggestions of a good place for fondue. It doesn't look like much from the outside, and upon entry we were concerned it was a bit of a tourist trap especially when an English menu was given to us with things like lasagna and spaghetti bolognase on, but it was great. We had two local Swiss residents either side of us eating steak fondue. We tried a cheese one with kirsch, very tasty a had a couple of kirsch shots on the side as well as a very pleasant rose wine. Prices were very reasonable and overall seemed good value for money. Our waiter was great, and the service was very efficient without being rushed.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“An adress to remember in Geneva...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

If you look for good typical swiss dishes, this is the place! … With my sister and a friend, we had raclette (very tasty and unctuous), goat cheese salad (with honey!) Very good too! Meat fondue witch was delicious, we share a little bit of everything, and we agreed that it was absolutely a place to remember … Above all, prices are very reasonable for Geneva, and staff is friendly (french,english, and spanish spoken!) and highly attentive. For sure, I will not forget this place!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Solid Swiss Dinner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014

Auberge De Savise was unexpectedly good. This is a basic Swiss restaurant which seems oriented to visitors. The wait staff was very friendly and highly attentive. The interior is humble and functional. We enjoyed meat fondue, which was tasty and very well presented - along with several nice glasses of wine. All of this was a welcome respite from the more formal and expensive fare typical in Geneva. Good food, very good service, well located, and reasonable prices. We'd go back.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Auberge de Saviese also viewed

Geneva, Canton of Geneva
Geneva, Canton of Geneva
 
Geneva, Canton of Geneva
Geneva, Canton of Geneva
 

Been to Auberge de Saviese? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Auberge de Saviese, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.