We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious indian food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Spice of India

Spice of India
29 Rue de Lausanne, Geneva, Switzerland (Pâquis-Temple)
41 22 732 71 81
Improve this listing
Reserve with
Spice of India is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #161 of 1,134 restaurants in Geneva
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Neighborhood: Pâquis-Temple
Lisburn, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Delicious indian food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012

We came across this place on the same street as the hotel but I'd ttravel to get here if in Geneva again. Reasonable enough in price for Geneva standards though to keep costs down we avoided the wine and didn't have starters. Service was grand, nice atmosphere and comfortable surroundings but the best bit was the delicious indian food!

  • Visited February 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

75% Recommend
    30
    36
    10
    9
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Great food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012 via mobile

I was in Geneva for a conference and ate twice at this restaurant and several of my colleagues did so too. All said it was great and I really enjoyed it. The lamb curry was just great!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneve
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Not great”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012

Same owner as little india but little india is much better. Dark and gloomy. Decoration tries to be modern but desperately fails. Food is not great.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Nice Indian food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

One of my close friends was at Geneva last week for a couple of days. Had been to Sajna on the second night and so wanted to try another Indian restaurant this time. Based on the feedback on the site, decided to try 'Spice of India'.
It's very conveniently located, a short walking distance from Cornavin on the main road - difficult to miss. Nice decor, very clean and well maintained, if you neglect a few cracks on one the ceiling.
The food is predominantly North Indian. It has a wide selection of starters, vegeterian and non-vegeterian dishes, and all other things, typically Indian. As my friend is a vegeterian, we ordered a couple of vegeterian dishes and one meat preparation for my daughter. All of them turned out to be excellent (palak paneer, chana masala, raita and lamb korma). The proportions were just right, but may be a bit small for people with big appetites. In fact, we had to skip the dessert as the main course was quite filling. The price was reasonable, even by Geneva standards.
Never got the welcome drink, as mentioned in one of the reviews, though.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Good authentic food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

Very tasty Indian food. Good vegetarian choices with the standard Indian vegetarian food. Also has all the usual Indian meat dishes (Tandoori, Vindaloo, Tikka etc etc). Very fancy decor that was a bit over the top but suited the style of the restaurant. The waiter we had spoke very good English and was very attentive.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Spice of India also viewed

Geneva, Switzerland
Geneva, Switzerland
 

Been to Spice of India? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Spice of India, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.