We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very disappointed by mediocre food and mean and petty service” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Asadal

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Asadal
Rue des Eaux-Vives 9, Geneva 1207, Switzerland
022 786 01 98
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #888 of 1,311 Restaurants in Geneva
Price range: $27 - $44
Cuisines: Asian, Korean
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Grimsby, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Very disappointed by mediocre food and mean and petty service”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

I was extremely disappointed with this restaurant. They refused to serve me tap water even though two other members of my party had exorbitantly priced soft drinks.

The food was ok although I was in no mood to enjoy it. It was expensive for what it was.

I cannot give this restaurant a good rating. There are far better Asian restaurants in Geneva and most of them come with better service and free tap water if you so desire.

The restaurant has changed owners and name and is now called the Arirang.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

13 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    3
    2
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Geneva, Switzerland
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
“Addicted to their Korean BBQ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

This place is now called Arirang and the owner changed.
We went there twice and had the Korean BBQ. It is simply delicious and the portion of meat are very generous. I am not an expert of Korean food but tastes seemed very real to me and the Swiss beef is really tender.
The owner is charming and will be happy to share some tips on how to eat as if you were in South Korea.
Restaurant design is standard. Dessert choice is rather poor.
Expensive but worth it for food good quality.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Good Korean food, family owned”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

If you looking for korean food, this is a good place too go if your in Eaux Vivre area of Geneva, its family owned and very friendly service.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Horrible serivce and not the best food”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

I was extremely disappointed with this restaurant. First of all, they refused to serve us tap water unless everyone got another drink as well. Then when they brought the food, the woman spilt the plate and there was hot oil on my dress. So first of all their first impressions and serivce were horrible - and then the food! I ordered a veal dish, but unfortunately all I found myself with was 90% bone and fat and there was very little meat. When I mentioned that I was not impressed with the service (almost ruining my clothes) nor the food (while showing them a full plate with all the remaining bone and fat) they did not care and did not offer anything as an apology.

So overall I would give this one of the worst rating of restaurants I have been to here in Geneva - horrible service and not good enough food for their lavish price!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Good Korean Family Restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2012

This restaurant is tucked away from the main tourist drag, so locals (residents and office staff) can enjoy good Korean food in a cafe-style setting. This restaurant is family owned and all the staff are eager to please to offer diners an honest, reasonably priced meal. At lunchtime this restaurant is always full due to many repeat customers.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Asadal also viewed

Geneva, Canton of Geneva
Geneva, Canton of Geneva
 
Geneva, Canton of Geneva
Geneva, Canton of Geneva
 

Been to Asadal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Asadal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.