We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best fish in town” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cafe Restaurant des Voyageurs

Cafe Restaurant des Voyageurs
6, av. de la Gare des Eaux-Vives, Geneva 1207, Switzerland (Formerly Voyageurs)
022.735.58.98
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 1,252 Restaurants in Geneva
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Geneva, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Best fish in town”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

Let's make it clear: especially in summer, you can never be 100% sure that the fish you eat in a mid-range restaurant was actually caught in the lake and not in the Baltic or whatever. But the fact that any freshwater fish is NOT available year round is a good sign for that. The staff is welcoming and professional, not trying to make you order more that you want.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    17
    2
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Geneva, Switzerland
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
106 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Great food value and atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

Bustling bistro with welcoming owner. Sole is first rate. Overall great value and right off the trolley line. All great. Relax and enjoy. Been there four times over the past year.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zug, Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Nice, honest restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

can only agree with the previous comments, nice small place with honest good quality food - and all this at very reasonable prices (at least for Geneva standards), i.e. a good Bordeaux at CHF 5.00 by the glass, a small foie gras appetizer at 9.00, etc.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Definitely delicious”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

We went to Les Voyageurs with friends on a Friday evenig.
The place itself is nothing special but the food is.
The steak was perfectly cooked. I cannot remember when I ate such a good steak the last time.
So, if you are looking for great piece of meat go there, when you are looking for a stylish, cozy place then you are wrong.
I also would highlight the service. The chief is very funny and friendly but be careful he's also a sales person (when you know what I mean).
Overall a good experience but be aware that the restaurant is not in center but a bit remote...

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
106 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Cant go wrong here!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013 via mobile

Look, it is a casual spot with nice streetside terrace, nothing fancy except great food and nice servers. Owner is on site and out front and has a staff of very comprtent people who only want to make you happy. Limited wines, but solid choices and good value. My wife had a escarcot pot and I the cold fois gras, both great. Don't miss the sole, we have had it each time we visit, but order frites with it. I had forgotten to and saw the classic boiled potatoes and order a la minute. They were there in less than three minutes. They are on top of their game. Many other specials, including lamb shank, but we are addicted to the sole. Full menu to boot.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Restaurant des Voyageurs also viewed

Geneva, Canton of Geneva
Geneva, Canton of Geneva
 
Geneva, Canton of Geneva
Geneva, Canton of Geneva
 

Been to Cafe Restaurant des Voyageurs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cafe Restaurant des Voyageurs, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.