We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Special Swiss treat” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Restaurant Edelweiss

Restaurant Edelweiss
2 Place de la Navigation, Geneva, Switzerland (Mont-Blanc)
+41 22 544 51 60
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #91 of 1,256 Restaurants in Geneva
Cuisines: Swiss
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Mont-Blanc
Description: Welcome to the mountains! In a truly unique setting, featuring wooden panelling and checkered tablecloths, Edelweiss restaurant offers you a typically Alpine dining experience. In a group or with friends, treat yourself to a delicious fondue and other Swiss specialties, while enjoying the sounds of yodel and traditional instrumental band. - Typical Swiss cuisine - Cheese/ meat fondues, raclette, eminces, chocolate fondue - Alpine setting - Nightly entertainment with live folk music - Central, a stone's throw from the lake - Banquets (200 covers) - Air conditioned - Open for dinner
Phoenix, Arizona
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Special Swiss treat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

Very authentic atmosphere with excellent cheese fondue and entertainment. Reasonably priced with great service. Recommend sitting on top floor directly across from the entertainment.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

246 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    80
    95
    49
    10
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Surrey
Top Contributor
185 reviews 185 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 85 cities Reviews in 85 cities
150 helpful votes 150 helpful votes
“Great fondue”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

A discount voucher from our hotel tempted us in. The surroundings are typical swiss chalet style, traditional musicians play every evening. Great fun if a little toursity. Food was delicious. We opted for a green salad and raclette starter, can't go wrong with that and a beef fondue with broth and wine. The meat was beautiful and tender, the sauces really tasty and the chips perfect. The serving was substantial, so much so that we didn't have room for pudding. A lovely evening with friendly servers and a nice atmosphere

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Big pot of melty cheese”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2014

Bit of a touristy place, but if you know what to expect then that shouldn't be a problem. There is a couple of guys playing instruments, including a big horn. We came for the cheese fondue and weren't disappointed, with large pots full of cheeeeeeese, and pretty much an unlimited supply of potatoes and bread. I made the mistake of ordering a dessert at the start of the meal, and found that I was quite full from cheese by the time it came. The service was also really slow to begin with as we came without a booking and probably at the time of the end of a busy period. Service picked up towards the end of the night and they are probably could do with a few more staff. The waiter even came at the end and scrapped all the nice crunchy bits off the bottom of the pan for us!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodley, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Good fun”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

The Mec in our hotel recommended this resto to us. Very pleasant, friendly, helpful service and they even understood my French - nom de chien! My porc was beautifully cooked; my partner had a plate of raw meat that she dunked in boiling oil to cook it - great fun. Not impressed by the dessert although there was a great choice. Wine was expensive by our standards but cheaper than in some other places - again a wide choice of suisse and a few french wines. But the ambience was great - a pair of musicians were amusing us with their swiss music / songs as per SOund of Music and yodelling and playing alpine horn. We were there from 9.00 pm so guests were starting to drift away - so even more relaxed. 130 ChF for two main courses, a bottle of cheaper wine, one desert and one coffee. We would go back again - there is a reduction for guests of the hotel.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Traditional musicians and cosy atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

Cheese fondue and meat fondue were excellent. Nice local music. Loved the decorations. Bit cheesy and touristy but it was heaps of fun. More info on behomeforT.blogspot.com

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant Edelweiss also viewed

Geneva, Canton of Geneva
Geneva, Canton of Geneva
 
Geneva, Canton of Geneva
Geneva, Canton of Geneva
 

Been to Restaurant Edelweiss? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Restaurant Edelweiss, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.