We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet location, professional service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Congress Hotel Seepark

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Congress Hotel Seepark to your Saves list
Congress Hotel Seepark
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Seestrasse 47 | Postfach, Thun 3602, Switzerland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Thun
Switzerland
Top Contributor
350 reviews 350 reviews
71 hotel reviews
Reviews in 148 cities Reviews in 148 cities
403 helpful votes 403 helpful votes
“Quiet location, professional service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2010

We held a conference and spent a good time. The view from the hotel (meeting rooms, but not all rooms to stay) is excellent, over the lake of Thun to the Swiss Mountains. The service is professional and helpful, the meeting facilities meet the expectaions. The rooms to stay are a bit small, but clean and correct. The location is close to the lake, therefore a bit remote and around half an hour walking to the city of Thun.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    33
    13
    4
    1
See reviews for
11
41
4
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2009

Brilliant hotel. Very friendly staff and excellent service. I would recommend eating at the hotel. The food was fabulous. Only minor gripe is that the rooms dont have aircon. But even in July that wasnt too much of a bother.

The hotel is right on Lake Thun and eating outside next to the lake is very romatic. Public transport is plentiful and its easy to get to Interlaken and the mountains from Thun.

I would recommend taking your car if you have children with you (or hire one). As my daughter was showing signs of travel fatigue on and off trains. She found it very boring.

Scenery was fabulous. Plenty of paces to visit (i recommend JoungFraue Peak, highest peak in europe.). Lots of great resteraunts.

Be warned, eating out in Switzerland is expensive.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2008

We stayed here at the beginning of August for 3 nights.
I was initially slightly put off by the outside of the building when we arrived, but once inside found the reception and bar areas to be bright clean and modern. The rooms themselves were ok but got far too hot as there is no air conditioning or fans. The bathroom, although nice enough, was too small and was a struggle for 2 people trying to get ready for a wedding (not mine) at the same time!! Having said this, the staff were very friendly and helpful. The Wellness suite was fantastic. The location on the lake was superb and the use of free cycles, rowing boats, and kayaks was a nice touch. I also liked the free fruit that were left around teh hotel so you could help yourself

Overall we had a great visit to Thun and would definately come back (with a large fan in tow). Highly recommend a trip up Niesen.

  • Liked — The location
  • Disliked — Lack of air conditioning
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2008

We spent 3 nights at the lovely Seepark Congress hotel at the beginning of August. The service in the hotel was excellent and friendly, the whole venue very clean and well kept, excellent shower in the bathtub and good soap, shampoo, bath salts and body lotion. Beds are very comfy with big pillows and separate duvets. The rooms are a fairly modern design and very reasonable, and our room had automatic shutters on the window to help keep the sun out. This was necessary as it is hard to find a room in Switzerland that has air conditioning, and unfortunately the hotel does not provide fans in the rooms.
I would stay at this hotel again as the setting is lovely, right on the lake, and not far to walk into town, or you can take bus number 1. Our breakfast was included and had a very good selection of cheese, meats, fruits, bread and on two of the three mornings, good scrambled eggs and bacon/sausages.
I however would avoid the hot summer months when staying here as it was uncomfortably hot in our room, even with the windows wide open all through the night.

  • Liked — Friendly service, clean and well kept hotel, good breakfast
  • Disliked — would have been absolutely excellent if they had air conditioning in summer
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2003

It was a warm afternoon on Wednesday,11th june 2003 ,I landed at Thun railway station.A few minutes ride on bus no.1 ,the second stop was Seepark Hotel.the moment i entered the room,I felt it was warm and for the thermostat which was at 20c.But it cannot be as warm at that temperature.It took time for me to learn that Thun was unusually warm at 28c even at this early summer and in Thun,as in most of the places in Switzerland there is no air conditioning but only room heating!That was good enough reason run out looking for fresh breez.And lo behold a few paces behind the Seepark is Thun lake under a clear sky reflecting the range Alps and Niesen to the middle and right.To the left of the lake is the closer mountain range dotted with swiss villages. The water in Thun lake was transparent and one could see the not so deep bottom.The temperature of water as well as the air is so warm that hardly any one was left with out a dip or a swim . It was the next day evening we were taken for dinner to the restaraunt on the top of the steep mountain Niesen.It was a delightful bus ride along the Thun lake and the countryside to the foot of 2500m Niesen mountain.To the top it was a cable chain rail ride.It was 7pm and the sunset was not likely till past 9pm.And under a clear sky one could see all the delightfull tiny looking large settlements like Thun on the one side and Interlaken on the other,with a number of villages all over.It was dinner time. every one was talking about the cheese on the boiled potatoes and the local white wine. suddenly there a glow on the range Alps and even before we realised there it was, the rising fullmoon. One could only imagine how delighted everyone was ,rushing out of the glasscased returaunt. And within minutes everyone was looking the other side to the west where the sun was setting! can there be a better dream evening than that. It was much past ten when everyone had to reluctently take the chain train.

Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Congress Hotel Seepark? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Congress Hotel Seepark

Address: Seestrasse 47 | Postfach, Thun 3602, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Thun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Thun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Congress Hotel Seepark 4*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The elegant, airy and stylish Superior Congress Hotel Seepark stands right on the shores of Lake Thun, in the midst of the historic Schadau Park. Its 85 rooms, 4 junior suites and 2 panorama suites are comfortable, generously proportioned and modern. The Seepark offers a choice of eating options – gourmet dining in “dasRestaurant”, and hot food and snacks virtually round the clock in “theTimeless’” bistro. Leisure activities include excursions to the region’s beauty spots, outings on the hotel’s mountain or e-bikes, and use of the in-house wellness and keep-fit facilities. Fresh, seasonal cuisine and exquisite original dishes, mainly from local produce, make our menus a tempting culinary experience. This tranquil setting with its breathtaking lake and mountain views promises relaxation, pleasure and a sense of utter well-being. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your Congress Hotel Seepark reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Congress Hotel Seepark, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.