We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great thing to do when there's nothing else to do” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Thunersee

Thunersee
Thun Im Berner Oberland, Thun, Switzerland
0041-33-225-13-13
Website
Improve this listing
Visit Thunersee like an insider
Top Rated
$103*
and up
Interlaken - Grindelwald in the Bernese Oberland...
Ranked #1 of 17 things to do in Thun
Attraction details
Ballarat, Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Great thing to do when there's nothing else to do”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

We spent a very cold, wet summer's day on the Thunersee and the Brienzersee. Unfortunately, the weather was so bad we couldn't see any mountains, and often couldn't even see the shore! Nevertheless, we had a lovely time just relaxing on the boat and staying warm and dry (!!) The final leg (from Interlaken back to Thun) we had a lovely chat with some fantastic crew members who were happy to help us with our German, give us some insights into the difference between normal German and Swiss German, and learn about Australia.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    104
    31
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bangalore India
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Use the steamboat”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

Blumisalp is unique and serves great food. Must try it. Use it for a two hour ride to Interlaken and return by train.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arch, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Sightseeing the easy way”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

Thuner- and Brienzersee. If you want to see a large part of the Berner Oberland while taking it easy, a boat trip on one or even both lakes may be what you are looking for. Just sit or lay back and let this fantastic panorama pass in front of your eyes. Depending of the time of day, you may even enjoy your meal on the boat.
It’s recommended that you study the prices carefully. If you already have rail tickets or if you travel with children, you may be eligible for considerable discounts.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interlaken, Switzerland
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

Even though I live here (or maybe because): I just can't get enough of it. And whenever I come home and see this place, I say to myself: What a wonderful world. But still, I ask myself: How do we people here with our narrow minds deserve this?

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thun, Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Allways the most beautifull walkabout I know”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

As I grew up here, I have seen every place around this lake in my life. I have been cycling or walking many places and cities and ever lived in different places.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Thunersee also viewed

 
Thun, Canton of Bern
Lauterbrunnen, Jungfrau Region
 

Been to Thunersee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Thunersee, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.