We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Mexican Food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Desperado Mexican Restaurant & Bar

Desperado Mexican Restaurant & Bar
Bubenbergplatz 5a, Bern 3011, Switzerland
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #334 of 393 Restaurants in Bern
Price range: $0 - $89
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night Food, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Malibu, California
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
143 helpful votes 143 helpful votes
“Great Mexican Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2014

I just returned from a visit to Bern and had dinner at Desperado. I had the Fajitas which was really excellent. I noticed that some other people had steaks and burgers which looked equally good. I would certainly recommend this restaurant although it´s a bit expensive although most restaurants in Bern are fairly expensive.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    25
    22
    16
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
Top Contributor
189 reviews 189 reviews
133 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
173 helpful votes 173 helpful votes
“Why are all Mexican restaurants....”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2014

...always called either "Desperado", "Cactus" or "Mexicano"? I can't imagine why such a terrible lack of imagination - after all everyone knows about Mexican food. Even Indian restaurants try for a larger palette. Well anyway, enough ranting: despite the unimaginative name, the food here is truly excellent and tasty, for Switzerland anyway. I won't bore you with the details: the usual enchiladas, tortillas, tacos, etc., but it's reasonably priced (again, unusually, for a Mexican place in Switzerland), the service isn't particularly good nor particularly bad... all in all it's a nicely decorated, loud, happy place to come for dinner.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basel, Switzerland
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
201 helpful votes 201 helpful votes
“Good food, fun ambiance and generous portions.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2013

There is nothing that I didn't like about Desperado.
1. The food and drinks were great.
2. The service is great.
3. Portions are generous and yummy :)
4. Ambiance, oh what do I say about that, it is a really really fun place to hangout with friends. Its crowded. And why wouldn't people flock to a place where to get to have an amazing time while having yummy food. It was a diner's birthday when we went to dine there, and they played a really fun "Happy Birthday" song for the birthday baby.
5. Our friends who took us to Desperado said, that it is one those very few places in Bern that are open till very late in the night.

I had a great time.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fribourg, Switzerland
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Bern to be mild”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

I am at a loss to understand why this Swiss-Tex-Mex seems so popular. Generous portions and an extensive cocktail and tequila list do not compensate for mediocre food (supermarket starters), seriously overpriced - even by Swiss standards - drinks, inept wait-staff, uncomfortable seating and a faded decor. Even the jalapeno lacked any real spicy pep.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bern
2 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“nice food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

we visit this restaurant very nice décor and food also very nice
we enjoyed here with whole family we like to go again

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Desperado Mexican Restaurant & Bar also viewed

Bern, Bern Mittelland District
Bern, Bern Mittelland District
 
Bern, Bern Mittelland District
Bern, Bern Mittelland District
 

Been to Desperado Mexican Restaurant & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Desperado Mexican Restaurant & Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.