We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth a visit” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Restaurant Papa Joe's

Restaurant Papa Joe's
Schauplatzgasse 23, Bern 3011, Switzerland
031 310 11 55
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #184 of 383 Restaurants in Bern
Price range: $13 - $57
Cuisines: American, Hamburgers, Bar, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Worth a visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

Although the service is slow the food is excellent and of you are not in a rush you should defenetly drop by

  • Visited August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    35
    26
    23
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bern, Bern, Switzerland
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Bland Experience”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013 via mobile

I visited the restaurant but found the experience to be rather disappointing. The service was mediocre, the atmosphere almost non-existent and the food without much taste and fairly expensive. It was not bad but there wasn't anything good about it either.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dudingen, Switzerland
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Nice Burgers”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

The place has great decor and atmosphere. The servers are not too attentive. The food is good but not special, but this is one of these new places with good decor and easy to prepare food. Something between a fast food chain and a restaurant. Overall, it is good value for the price, according to Swiss standarts. The burgers are delicious and huge. The steaks are lovely. I would definitely go there again.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
India
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Amazing place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

The mexican food here is amazing. I make sure I go to this place everytime I visit Bern. It was quite expensive though.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bern, Switzerland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“The service was appalling!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

We had gone out for dinner wanting some good burgers and American-style food. Although the restaurant was busy, we were seated relatively quickly but soon forgotten. We patiently waited more than 20 minutes for a waiter to take our orders, but no one came to our table despite making eye contact and our attempts to get their attention. Ultimately I went to the front where there was the waiter and hostess were chatting and requested that someone come take our orders. After nasty comments from the waiter that we needed to be patient and that were not his responsibility since we were not in his section, we decided to wait another 10 minutes to see if someone would come. Eventually the hostess came, apologized and took our order. The food arrived promptly and was decent (although expensive, three meals + drinks =120 CHF) we had the same issues getting someone to give us our bill.

This was not our first time to the restaurant, but it will be our last. The service was inexcusable! Lesson learned!!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant Papa Joe's also viewed

Bern, Bern Mittelland District
 
Bern, Bern Mittelland District
Bern, Bern Mittelland District
 

Been to Restaurant Papa Joe's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Restaurant Papa Joe's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.