We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just had a drink, but what a beautiful place.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kornhauskeller, Restaurant

Kornhauskeller, Restaurant
Kornhausplatz 18, Bern CH-3011, Switzerland
031 327 72 72
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #51 of 376 Restaurants in Bern
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Entertaining clients, Large groups, Romantic, Doing business, Bar scene, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
White River, South Africa
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Just had a drink, but what a beautiful place.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

Built in the early 1700s, it is an unusual and attractive place to be. We didn't eat there. but had a pleasant G & T (or 2) with the aid of a very helpful barman. Worth a visit.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

346 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    106
    160
    54
    12
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fribourg, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Take your beloved for a romantic drink at the bar”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

If you stay in Bern for a few days, a drink at the bar in Kornhauskeller is a Must.
Especially when the weather is not good (otherwise you can have a drink in one of the wonderful terrace of Bern). The atmosphere is very warm and pleasant.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Superb & Memorable”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012 via mobile

We went to the Kornhauskeller primarily to see the lovely building but with no other great expectations. We were extremely, pleasantly surprised by the fine meal we had and felt it was quite a good value for the quality, the portions, the service, and the atmosphere.

Having dined heavily the previous night we each ordered a "small" portion of one of the daily specials - mine was a fiorelle pasta (flower shaped ravioli) with truffle sauce and my mother's was a pumpkin risotto. She started with a bowl of tomato soup & it was large enough for two. My fiorelle came with lovely shaved truffles on top. My side of sauteed spinach was perfectly cooked and deliciously seasoned as well. For dessert I ordered the chestnut vermicelli. it arrived mounded in a large rimmed soup plate! So much for eating light!

The restaurant is beautiful, service is excellent, the food is excellent and the selections well varied. Definite a fine place to dine at any time and especially for a special occasion.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“good location, not more”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012 via mobile

the food was good and a lot. however, prices are accordingly or even higher. due to the big size it is rather a mass service. service was not extremely well. rather ,ing waiting time and the server did not really spend much time with us

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
“Very good food in a nice atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

The Kornhauskeller is what the last part of it's name says in German, a cellar vault with very high ceilings. The atmosphere is great, food and service very good. I had the Chateaubriand which was cooked to the point and very tasty.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kornhauskeller, Restaurant also viewed

Bern, Bern Mittelland District
 
Bern, Bern Mittelland District
Bern, Bern Mittelland District
 

Been to Kornhauskeller, Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kornhauskeller, Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.