We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Novotel Bern Expo

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Novotel Bern Expo to your Saves list
Novotel Bern Expo
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Am Guisanplatz 2, Bern 3014, Switzerland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 30 Hotels in Bern
Riga
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Nice place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

Nice NOVOTEL, unfortunately no any Accor hotel n the centre of Berne. But this location encourages to buy daily transport ticket and enjoy mobility :) in evenings some trams going to depot stops right in front of hotel, not the Guisenplatz opposite site as usual. Cosy rooms, friendly staff and (mostly unusual for Switzerland) good breakfest selection. Had some miņor problems - not working one of reading lights at bed (switch was missing) and not enough tight sghower doors...

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

469 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    126
    253
    68
    15
    7
See reviews for
175
120
33
118
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wichita, Kansas USA
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

First, you've got to understand that NOTHING is cheap in Switzerland. But if you've got a flexible schedule and if you book at the last minute (we used Expedia), this place can be a best buy. It's right across the street from the Expo-Center, but if there's no convention going on, the hotel discounts the rooms heavily. Very good service, spotlessly clean, NO CHARGE for parking nor internet connection. Restaurant is OK, not brilliant, a little expensive (it's SWITZERLAND!) Bern's on the border between German-speaking and French-speaking Switzerland, so it was amusing to us to hear Swiss-Germans speaking to Swiss-French in English. And the other way around, of course. Clean, good service, a real bargain at certain times of the year. Connection to the center of Bern is easy, but we found no need to do so. Easy to find, close to the highway. Recommended! G. & B. Ray, Wichita, Kansas, USA

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

Good hotel, not far from the city center (15 minutes by Tram).
Nice bedroom
Be careful: Breakfast not included in the price (26 CHF per person).
Nice buffet: salted and sweet.
Parking not included in the price but available in the hotel.
The noise can be annoying: there was a concert close to the hotel: we were awake at 4am because of the noise...

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
novotelbern, Directeur général at Novotel Bern Expo, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Thank you for your favorable comments. We are very happy that you have enjoyed your stay with us. We are glad to receive your compliments about our helpful staff have been kindly forwarded.
We are looking forward to welcome you soon again!

Yvan BAILBLED
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

Did stay for business purpose in that hotel. Nice rooms, spacious, clean. Breakfast ok, not too much choice like seen before in other Novotel, but everything looked fresh. Nice staff.
One thing that really disappointed me was, that I forgot my toothpaste and asked the reception to help - they charge CHF 4.50 for a tooth brush and a very (!) small toothpaste. That`s far away from a service you may expect in a four-star-hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
novotelbern, Directeur général at Novotel Bern Expo, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Thank you for your favorable comments. We are very happy that you have enjoyed your stay with us. We are glad to receive your compliments about our helpful staff have been kindly forwarded.
We are looking forward to welcome you soon again!

Yvan BAILBLED
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

Looking for a clean, modern, and comfortable hotel for a reasonable rate? Then look no further. The tram stops right outside of the hotel doors and whisks you away to the city center in less than 10 minutes leaving you happy that you did not spend the extra money for a more central location.

The hotel itself is nice and the staff is friendly and helpful. While I would not describe the hotel as luxurious, as the décor is minimalistic, I would recommend it to anyone looking for a reasonably priced hotel while in Bern.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria, South Africa
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

We (3 adults) stayed in a tripple room 24 and 25 December 2012. When we made the reservation we chose breakfast included which was only 10CHF per person extra at the time of the reservation. The breakfast buffet was EXCELLENT with both hot and cold dishes - excellent value for money!!! Very easy to reach with public transport, the tram stop is just opposide the hotel. Very friendly and fast check-in - the reception even printed out timeschedule(s) when we enquired about trains on Christmasday to Lucerne. Good Wi-Fi reception. Service was excellent and will definitely return!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Novotel Bern Expo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Bern Expo

Address: Am Guisanplatz 2, Bern 3014, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bern Mittelland District > Bern
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Bern
#5 Family Hotel in Bern
#7 Business Hotel in Bern
#7 Luxury Hotel in Bern
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Bern Expo 4*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Novotel Bern Expo is a 4 star hotel offering 112 non smoking rooms located opposite the BEA Bern Expo exhibition centre, the ice hockey stadium, the national horse riding centre and 200 m from the Stade de Suisse and the Zentrum Paul Klee. The tram runs from in front of the hotel to the old city in 7 minutes. The hotel features a restaurant, bar, internet corner and six meeting rooms, as well as facilities for guests with limited mobility, private pay parking and a fitness centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Despegar.com and Agoda so you can book your Novotel Bern Expo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Bern Expo Hotel Bern
Accor Bern Expo
Bern Novotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Novotel Bern Expo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.