We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent for walking” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rose Garden (Rosengarten)

Rose Garden (Rosengarten)
Alter Aargauerstalden/Laubeggstr., Bern, Switzerland
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 52 things to do in Bern
Attraction details
Antibes, France
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Excellent for walking”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014

Bern is a city I love to walk through every time I am there. This is my favourite place for walking. Rosengarten is famous for flowers and a nice view towards the old town and some mountains.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

374 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    193
    148
    28
    5
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“No flowers on Autumn”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2013

I visited the Rose Garden at the wrong time. The flowers was not growing or blooming and everything was falling. The garden is quite big with a cool weather and we can see the different types of roses.
I hope to visit the Rose Garden again during the summer and see all the roses bloom beautifully.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bern, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“One of my favourite spots in Bern”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

It's free, it features amazing Iris- and Rose varieties and it's the place where the Bernese meet when the weather is right. Great view over Bern and the river Aare. The restaurant is quite ok, slow staff, but that's a general problem in Europe.
Early morning you'll share the Garden with Tai Chi, Yoga and QiGong groups, turning it into a meditative space, Early evening on warm days, it's one big picnic area of happy people enjoying themselves, makes anyone feel good.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Top Contributor
349 reviews 349 reviews
144 attraction reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
193 helpful votes 193 helpful votes
“Excellent Views Across Bern”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

The views from the Rosengarten across the city are impressive. it is a short but steep climb to the top but worth it. The roses and lawns are impressive even at the end of summer. They would have been better earlier in the season.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bern, Switzerland
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
35 attraction reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Best views over berne”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

This quite and beautiful spot offers the best views to the old city you can have. It is in 5min walking distance from the famous bären graben. The nice restaurant offers great food.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rose Garden (Rosengarten) also viewed

Bern, Bern Mittelland District
Bern, Bern Mittelland District
 
Bern, Bern Mittelland District
 

Been to Rose Garden (Rosengarten)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rose Garden (Rosengarten), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.