We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great views when no clouds...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gurten

Gurten
3084 Wabern-Bern, Bern, Switzerland
031 970 33 33
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 34 attractions in Bern
Type: Parks, Observation Decks/ Towers
Attraction Details
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great views when no clouds...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

We loved Gurten! We had to look for the place to start (do not type in Gurten in your GPS System in your Car!!) you go to the station in Wabern. There is a Parkhaus/Parking place there. From there you can hike up, or (as we did) take the special train up. It`s lovely to wald around and see the Jura Mountains in the distance: Eiger, etc....
It inspired us to go to Grindelwald and see the mountains more closely!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    83
    53
    6
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bern, Switzerland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“A place that never gets boring.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

I love the Gurten. It always provides a fun trip up on the special train, a beautiful view from the top, nice trails for walking and a good restaurant/cafeteria if you happen to get hungry. Make sure to climb to the top of the tower for spectacular views of Bern, it's surroundings and the Alps. Then follow the signs to walk back to the botton.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
124 helpful votes 124 helpful votes
“Bring the kids there!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

The Gurten is a mountain situated just to the south of Bern, Switzerland. We were heading from Montreux towards Luzern and decided to stop over for a break. Family with 3 young children. Up there in Summer.

We went up by funicular. Nice little ride but not so special if you have been to Hong Kong Island one. It is a tram that take you up the hill/mountain. There are 3 stations on the route. The bottom one, middle one and top one. The middle station is where the 2 trams meet. Some people jump on/off here. Saw people paid the conductors on the spot. So, you don't have to get to the main station to pay.

Up on top was a nice park. A track that take you round the top. On one side you see the city and the other is a nice country view. Along the track, there is a mini tree house, a small exercise area. People also BBQ there. Big open field in the middle where a tractor is doing it job. Including a restaurant that we didn't visit, clean toilets, and playgrounds.

There are 2 playgrounds - a small one where the mini train is and the BIGGER one where it is next to the building. Most of the play areas are FREE except those listed (observe by me) below.

The small playground has a little raft-pulling area, slide, wooden playhouse. The mini train track goes around the small playground. Yes, you actually step into the train track to get to this playground. But it isn't danger as the mini trains are operated by staff. As always, keep an eye on the young children. Currently, the mini train ride cost 3 Swiss Franc for a child and 2 Swiss Franc for adult.

The big playground has a "race car" course where you paid 2 Swiss Franc (for about 5 min) for the ride-on. I went on with my 1 year old and rode around the "course". Bigger child can easily step on the peddle on the ride-on and the ride-on will move slowly. It is quite safe for children to play. My 3 year old was very much into the ride. Note: if you have kids who love to ride, bring enough coins!

Also in the big playground is a ball-osbtacles area. This is a covered section where children select their ball, guide the ball thru osbtacles (on the rail) and making one round back. I said it is more for children above 3 year old. Some part of the osbtacles are high. My 6 year old just love this section. And it is FREE.

A much bigger wooden playhouse is also in this big playground. My 1 year old walked round and round on the top. There is a net bridge (for children to crawl thru), a slide (narrow and sleep), a hanging (net) bridge (for children to walk) and steps. A water fountain is next to it.

Don't forget to to brings sun-block lotion and wear comfortable shoe. Saw people riding their bicycles. The funicular will bring the bikes up too and you can ride all the way down.

We spent more than 2 hours there. Could have spend more time there but we had to be our next place at before 5pm. I would say 3-4 hours there for the kids is good. Of course, you can BBQ, have a pinic, read a book there too. Or simply relax in this beauty park!

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorset
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Fab views”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

Get away from the hussle of the City of Bern and look done on it from the peace of the Gurten. On a clear day you can see the snow capped Alps. Swiss pass holders get 50% off the cost of the ticket on the funicular.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Great view”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

It is beautiful. You can see the city, the mountains.
It is a pleasant place, where you can walk around, ride a bike, even downhill and jogging. Big facilties for children.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gurten also viewed

Bern, Bern Mittelland District
Bern, Bern Mittelland District
 
Bern, Bern Mittelland District
Bern, Bern Mittelland District
 

Been to Gurten? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gurten, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Gurten to your Saves list