We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic but best choice for the Old City of Bern!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bern Backpackers - Hotel Glocke

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Bern Backpackers - Hotel Glocke to your Saves list
Bern Backpackers - Hotel Glocke
Rathausgasse 75, Bern 3011, Switzerland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 7 Specialty Lodging in Bern
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Basic but best choice for the Old City of Bern!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

If you are visiting Bern without a car and with a budget this is where you should stay. (If you do have a car keep reading and we'll tell you what we did with our rental car.)

We are a traveling family with children and this was our first time staying at a hostel and it turned out to be the best place we stayed at in all of Switzerland!

We have 4 main criteria for choosing an accommodation:

1) Location- Backpacker's Bern is right in the middle of town. A few strides away from the clock and walking distance from everything. We rented bikes from the nearby Bern Rollt (free for the first 2 hours) and were able to see most of the old city in 2 hours!

2) Cleanliness- Everything was spotless including all of the shared public spaces.

3) Breakfast- It was impossible to find a hotel that included breakfast in our budget. Backpacker's has a fully loaded kitchen that we used to make the best breakfast we had during our stay in Switzerland. Dining in Switzerland is ridiculously expensive so staying here and preparing most of your own meals is the way to do it!

4) Value- If you are reading this then you probably know that this place has the best rates in town. Don't hesitate because it is a hostel.

Things you should know:

1) You have to walk up a flight of stairs to get to the main floor of the hostel. There is a very small elevator that can be used from there.

2) They charge for towels and they are small thin towels. Our advice is to add the cost of the towels into the price of the room and just deal with it.

3) This place is in the middle of town and right above a night club. It can get very noisy! We were on the fourth floor in the back by the fire escape. We slept beautifully (we were also exhausted) but we heard from some college kids that they had a hard time sleeping at night.

4) They make you carry your bedding to your room which is impossible to do in one trip with luggage in tow. You will also have to make and strip down your own bed.

5) The internet service is free but only works in the common room.

6) If you have a car you will have to pay for parking which is incredibly expensive in the immediate area. We crossed the Kirchenfeldbrucke bridge and parked in the pay lot by the Swiss Alpine Museum at 5:00pm. It is 2 hour parking until 7:00pm and then free until 8:00 am. You will have to walk back again the morning to put money in the meter at 8:00am and then again to move the car at 10:00am. This worked well for us because check out is at 10:00am. There are a few spots in front of the hotel that you can use to load and unload the car.

We would stay again at the Backpacker's Hostel. It is very different from staying at a hotel or a Bed and Breakfast, but given the cost of the other options in Bern and the central location of this hostel it is absolutely the best place to stay while in Bern.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms with windows in the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    85
    25
    5
    3
See reviews for
12
57
45
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

Working in a hostel myself, I couldn't avoid treating my stay there as an inspection and I can honestly say that I can't fault it! It is very clean and quiet. The lounge area is quite spacious and provides a lot of props for different activities (foosball table, TV, books, etc). The kitchen has been sparkling clean during my whole stay there. The room was clean and cosy and the bed was very comfortable. Although there were shared bathrooms, there was a sink in the room which proved quite handy for a morning face wash, shave or brushing teeth. The location is excellent! Very close to the train station and a couple hundred meters away from the river (which is the most beautiful looking river I've seen in my life!). The Clock Tower is right behind the hostel and for some light-sleepers it might be annoying that it "announces" every hour. But it didn't bother me. I found it quite fun! All in all...excellent stay!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

This hotel can be easily reached from Bern Train Station by walking. Just walk along Spitalgasse and Marktgasse until you see The Clock Tower or Mc Donalds. Turn left at The Clock Tower or Mc Donalds and then turn right to Rathausgasse. The hotel is on your right. Stayed 5 nights in their Single Bed Room (with shared bathroom). The room is spacious and clean, with comfortable bed, and located on the 5th floor, which is away from noises. Shared bathroom is also clean. Large common room, along with kitchen and laundry room, that open 24 hours. Close to almost every spotlight in Bern, including the train station, which enables you to travel to neighbouring cities. Highly recommended and worth the money.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

This is a good clean hostel. 4 of us stayed at our private room in end of June 2013. It is close to train station and old town center. You need to climb one floor on stairs before elevator reaching higher floors. Reception is located on second floor. It has a cosy common room and the only place to access wifi.

By the way, my day backpack got stolen in Bern train station ticket office. Watch out for your luggage!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

A good hostel with friendly staff and lots of information. 4 of us in a room with 4 bunks. A basin in the room and shared showers/toilets on each floor. Room basic but for the money it is to be expected. The only down side is it is very noisy outside. There is a bar on the ground floor which we didnt really hear but the people leaving out on the street were very noisy. Good central location to walk around and see the sights and go to bars and restaurants.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

Great location; right on the bus line and only a 10 minute walk to the train station. Hostel is located right in the Old town and so close to many sights and and restaraunts.
Wifi is only available in the lounge, but the lounge was great and had pleanty of room and a good atmosphere. There is a nightclub located downstairs but it's closed on Sun and Mon which were the nights we were there.
It was very clean and the staff was helpful.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidenhead, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

The hostel is a 10 minute walk or 2 minute tram ride from the train station and is located in the heart of the old town which is perfect, very scenic and easy walking distance to all the major attractions in Bern. The rooms are basic but of a decent size, the beds are comfortable with clean sheets and the shared toilet and shower facilities are clean and of a good standard. There is also a nice big kitchen with everything you need and a common area with lots of seating and a TV, with the option of affordable beer and wine available from the reception. The staff were efficient if a little cold but on the whole there was a good atmosphere in the hostel. Its always going to be hard to find a cheap well located place to stay in Bern, although this place isn't perfect, I'd say this is the closest you will find.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bern Backpackers - Hotel Glocke? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bern Backpackers - Hotel Glocke

Address: Rathausgasse 75, Bern 3011, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bern Mittelland District > Bern
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Specialty Lodging in Bern
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our location is unbeatable! Bern Backpackers is the most centrally located hostel in Bern. Big common room with a great communal kitchen, laundry, internet, TV, free tea, free WI-Fi, fussball table etc - all available 24hrsClose to restaurants, bars, clubs museums and theatres. Our hostel is clean, safe, comfortable and well equipped which ensures your stay is a pleasant and enjoyable one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Odigeo, HostelWorld and HostelBookers so you can book your Bern Backpackers - Hotel Glocke reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bern Backpackers - Hotel Glocke, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.