We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Great Hotel"” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Schweizerhof

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Schweizerhof to your Saves list
Hotel Schweizerhof
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Bahnhofplatz 11, Bern 3001, Switzerland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 30 Hotels in Bern
Houston, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“"Great Hotel"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed a weekend in December. The staff were exceptional from the moment I checked in to my departure. The front desk agent even offered to walk me to my train! Rooms are well appointed
with beautiful furnishings, great lighting throughout and the nice touch of complimentary
in room coffee/tea and water. Would highly recommend the hotel for all travelers. I look
forward to returning in 2015.

Room Tip: All rooms are great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bern-Schweizerhof, Quality Management at Hotel Schweizerhof, responded to this review, 6 days ago
Dear Maggie M

Thank you very much for taking the time to tell us about your stay at the Hotel Schweizerhof Bern. We appreciate your comments regarding your stay. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

We are looking forward to welcome you again next year at the Hotel Schweizerhof Bern. We thank you once again for your feedback and wish you a wonderful Christmas.

Kind regards

Anja Mosimann
Quality Manager Hotel Schweizerhof Bern
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

354 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    287
    41
    17
    5
    4
See reviews for
44
137
20
99
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The Schweizerhof Hotel could not be more centrally located in Bern. The hotel was completely renovated some years back. The rooms are very well equipped, and all appliances, including the free WIFI, work flawlessly. The breakfast is very good and the staff is highly professional and very helpful. A hotel highly recommended and well worth staying at.

Stayed December 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bern-Schweizerhof, Quality Management at Hotel Schweizerhof, responded to this review, 6 days ago
Dear onkeljonn

Thank you very much for staying at the Hotel Schweizerhof Bern. We appreciate for taking your time to write a review about your recent stay.

We are very pleased to hear that you were happy with the room and the location of the hotel. With pleasure we will share your feedback with our team, who will be encouraged by your remarks.

We hope to welcome you again one day at the Hotel Schweizerhof Bern. We thank you once again for your feedback and wish you a wonderful Christmas.

Kind regards

Anja Mosimann
Quality Manager Hotel Schweizerhof Bern
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lausanne, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Hotel Schweizerhof is a legendary place and the recently renovated hotel keeps its promise: a truly luxurious stay.
Rooms are nicely decorated with all the amenities you'd expect from a hotel which caters to business clients (decent space to work in the room), the bed is extremely comfortable and the bathroom although a bit dark, has one of the best showers I've experienced in a hotel!
The Bulgari amenities is a nice touch. I stayed on the top floor and the room was absolutely lovely.
The only down side is the entrance/reception area. It doesn't live up to the standards you'd expect from a Palace. Hotel services (reception and turn down service) are top notch!

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the 6th floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Top hotel and staff working to make our stay an experience! The staff new our name and were sincere. The room was bright contemporary, clean, comfortable and dark/quite at night. Heated towel rack and rain shower. The hotel is located right beside the train station and a short walk to the old town, museums, and main sites. Espresso maker and kettle for tea in the room and also beer, pop, and water included. The breakfast was not included with the room. This hotel was not cheap even by Swiss standards, but we felt it was worth splurging for the convenience, comfort, and to be spoiled. There was free high-speed internet, and the gym was small but had very high-quality equipment (not much weights). There bar area was busy at night with the local crowd stopping by for drinks after work.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bern-Schweizerhof, Quality Management at Hotel Schweizerhof, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear HAP-TRAVEL-Canada

Thank you very much for your kind and positive comment about your stay at the Hotel Schweizerhof Bern. We appreciate your time to inform us about your experiences stay with us.

It is a great satisfaction for all of us that you enjoyed your stay and that our hotel and staff made your stay an experience. That your felt spoilt is a wonderful compliment for all our team members who take best possible care of our guests – day by day. Our goal is your total satisfaction and we continuously strive to meet your needs and expectation.

We are very much looking forward to welcoming you back to the Hotel Schweizerhof Bern and in the meantime we remain with our best wishes.

Kind regards

Anja Mosimann
Quality Manager Hotel Schweizerhof Bern
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed here for a weekend in november. Have to say I am very impressed by what I saw of this place. As a caveat, that only includes my room plus a trip to the gym and spa area. Was out meeting friends otherwise, so I didn't try out the bar, restaurant or anything much in the way of hotel services...

Anyway, arrived for check in straight off the train from Zürich. Location for arrival is excellent, the hotel is literaly just outside the escalator up from the station. During check in, and it's obvious they want to make arrival a sort of 5 star thing, since I was given some drink and a towel. Nice enough, but since I was in the company of friends living in Bern during check in it was a bit weird (i.e. I got some stuff while they sat around observing it...).

Room was fantastic. Booked the cheapest room category at the hotel. Didn't get an upgrade when I wangled for it:(. Have to say I was very impressed by the room anyway. Not the view, since I looked out at some internal courtyard with a view of white wall straight ahead and a meeting room down to my left. But for a city hotel it was BIG, everything looks very recently renovated, spotlessly clean, and soft drinks and beer from the mini bar are included in the price of the room.

Went to try the gm and spa, and the facilities there are also great and were almost empty. Well equipped gym for the size of hotel, the sauna was great, but the steam room a bit too cold for me, but overall the feel of the whole area was fantastic. One of the best hotel spa areas I can recall.

Apart from that I didn't really use other parts of the hotel, and I hardly had any contact with hotel staff during my stay...

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bern-Schweizerhof, Quality Management at Hotel Schweizerhof, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear Saltcreep

Thank you very much for your kind comments regarding your stay at Hotel Schweizerhof Bern. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

We are happy to hear that you had a great stay with us, felt comfortable in your room and that you also enjoyed the time in our THE SPA.

We hope to welcome you back at the Hotel Schweizerhof Bern in the future. In the meantime we send you our best wishes and kindest regards.

Anja Mosimann
Quality Manager Hotel Schweizerhof Bern
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
basildon
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Loved this place

Great service, well priced and perfectly located

The staff were very helpful and polite, with a very good grasp of english.

Room was well kept, great bathroom and you get lots of free drinks from the minibar,

Would return and would recommend

Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bern-Schweizerhof, Quality Management at Hotel Schweizerhof, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Dear Big_Pappa_J

Thank you for taking your time to tell us about your stay at Hotel Schweizerhof Bern and for your positive feedback.

We are more than happy to hear that you loved our place and experienced a great service from our staff members. With pleasure we forward your compliments to our team, who certainly will be encouraged by your remarks.

We are very much looking forward to welcome you back again in future or maybe as well your family or friends. We send you our best wishes and kindest regards.

Anja Mosimann
Quality Manager Hotel Schweizerhof Bern
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2014

We recently stayed in a family style suite - basically two rooms with an entryway and outer door connecting them. In addition to being well appointed and comfortable. The extra space, large bathtub and spacious bathroom with separate water closet, large work desks and extra ammenities like free beverages and movies helped us feel very much at home. Although we didn't spend a lot of time in our room, it was a convenient place for tutoring sessions online and very comfortable sleeps! Even our dog was well accommodated - and offered a sweet little sleeping mat, which he appreciated very much! We did not eat breakfast in the hotel, but had afternoon tea in the lobby which was very tasty and gorgeous. Molto buono! We also had a meal at Jakes and the wienersnitzel is the best ever! The hotel gym is compact but large enough - with several treadmills, a bike, a few elipticals, an area for free weights and space for yoga mats. My husband enjoyed the spa. The people were very nice to us. Waiters and waitresses, housekeeping, reception all responded kindly when we needed something. The reception staff had a few hiccups giving directions and we were saved twice by the bell desk thank goodness! Perhaps the reception should refer all inquiries about transport and directions! Overall, it was wonderful and we will be happy to return.

Room Tip: If you have trouble sleeping ask for an inner room, otherwise enjoy the views of the train station a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bern-Schweizerhof, Quality Management at Hotel Schweizerhof, responded to this review, November 14, 2014
Dear Beach2O

Thank you very much for your kind and informative review and for staying at the Hotel Schweizerhof.

It is a great satisfaction to read that you felt very much at home – even your dog. Your positive feedbacks for the Afternoon Tea, our Wienerschnitzel and the entire staff are very much appreciated and we have already forwarded it to our team members. For the incidents with the wrong directions given to you, we would like to apologize. This will certainly be reviewed with the respective department manager in order to improve the knowledge of the front desk staff about transport and directions. They certainly have to give proper information in case the Concierge is not there or occupied with other guests.

We thank you once again for your kind feedback and and we look forward to serving you in the future again.

Kind regards

Anja Mosimann
Quality Manager Hotel Schweizerhof Bern
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Schweizerhof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Schweizerhof

Address: Bahnhofplatz 11, Bern 3001, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bern Mittelland District > Bern
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 30 Hotels in Bern
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Schweizerhof 5*
Number of rooms: 99
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, Odigeo, Escapio, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Schweizerhof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Schweizerhof, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.