We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Out of the Center but a Fine Option” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel-Restaurant Jardin

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel-Restaurant Jardin to your Saves list
Hotel-Restaurant Jardin
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Militarstrasse 38 | 3014 Berne, Bern CH-3014, Switzerland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 30 Hotels in Bern
Springfield, Missouri
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Out of the Center but a Fine Option”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

Swiss Hotels are clean and of a standard form with lots of wood and quilts in white duvets and this was no exception. The room was pleasant and kept warm during a particularly cold summer spell. The breakfast is standard but hearty and fresh. The location is a tram ride from the center but prices in Switzerland are particularly high for middle class Americans and this hotel was not so far out that a walk into town was not possible. I say into town because it was downhill and took about 15-20 minutes. Berne is a charming medieval swath of ancient buildings and should be walked. The staff was very friendly and helpful and English speaking. The reception is on the first floor and there is no elevator to that level, but the staff can assist with suitcases. I found this a rather strange arrangement but when you travel widely you eventually see everything.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    21
    9
    1
    0
See reviews for
4
19
Solo
0
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

Love this place! The hotel is a quiet, clean and comfy oasis only about 10minutes from the city center.
The staff was courteous and very friendly. We felt right at home. The rooms were clean and the beds comfortable. The breakfast buffet offered a wide variety of healthy choices, including fruit, assorted meats, breads and muesli.
I would highly recommend it to anyone.
I know we will be back to stay in this quiet location the next time we are traveling to Bern, Switzerland.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bangkok
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

It's been a year since the last review of the this property appeared on TA. I'd like to update that. This is an older building located outside the city center. Access is easy. In front of the central Bern train station, there is a convenient tram stop. One tram takes you to the hotel's neighborhood in about 10 minutes or so. Service is frequent. The hotel's tram station is about a 10 minutes walk from the hotel. This might be an inconvenience for those on foot and burdened with luggage. The area around the hotel is quiet. There are tree-lined streets and a few nice restaurants, including one attached to the hotel. Although the building is old, it has been recently renovated. Rooms are quite clean and pleasant with modern bathrooms, comfortable beds, and new flat screen TVs. The breakfast room is quiet and the offerings are tasty and well presented. The staff is very friendly and helpful. This was our first visit to Bern and we enjoyed the city quite a lot. Should we return, we will once again choose this hotel. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: We had a room on the front, facing the street. The room was quiet overall, but one could hear peopl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anywhere
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2011

What I'd like to highlight with this review is the kindness and friendliness of the staff in this Hotel.
The hotel is fine, not very expensive but clean and quiet. Sufficient confort for a couple of nights in a business trip.
It is not bad located since it is not in the city centre but you have tram stop right around the corner with direct tram to the Zytglogge's square in about 10 mins, and main Bern Station in 15 mins.
Also, there are good offer of restaurants and shops in the area.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2011

Hotel was a positive surprise. Located in a very quiet neighbourhood and only 15 minutes walk from the city (old town). Staff was extremely friendly and accommodating!
Room was ok, not very big but that was to be expected. No air conditioning so in summer time a bit hot, but the windows do open. Not a problem, but take it into account if A/C is important to you.
Basic breakfest, not luxorious but you didn't have to leave on a empty stomach either. There is a WiFi internet but you have to pay extra (not included).

All in all, very nice experience and I would/will use this hotel again in the future.

Room Tip: Ask for high floor from the park side of the building! Nice view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
south africa
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2010

The hotel is located a bit far from the old town (but a nice walk or tram is there) and has free car park which a big plus given the parking is quite restricted near the old town. We were received with a warm welcome by the hotel owner, and he was real helpful with things to do and where to go. But the 3 star hotel unfortunately does not match the friendliness of the reception, it feels more like a run down hostel. The TV was like a collector TV, and the remote didn't work for the volume, the bathroom was decorated in the 60s (water was warm though, no prob there). One can hear everything too, no sound insulation and we were woken up by kids running in the hallway. This hotel is definitely not one for a romantic getaway.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jardin1, Owner at Hotel-Restaurant Jardin, responded to this review, April 4, 2012
in the meantime these photos are more the 2 years old - time is runnig and these tv''s are in tv-heaven since longer... :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
munster
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2008

Basic but adequate. Large room with equally large ensuite but very dated furniture and fittings. Breakfast was average. Car parking was free and tram into city was about five minutes away. It was raining for the two days we were there and so we felt the omission of a lounge or bar or tea/coffeee facilities. I would rate this hotel more a two star than three.

  • Liked — ease of location to city centre
  • Disliked — Charmless!
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel-Restaurant Jardin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel-Restaurant Jardin

Address: Militarstrasse 38 | 3014 Berne, Bern CH-3014, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bern Mittelland District > Bern
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Bern
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel-Restaurant Jardin 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel-Restaurant Jardin, Berne, Switzerland Welcome - you are exactly right here! Your city-hotel in Berne, quiet located and yet near to the historic old-town and the centre. A few minutes from the fairgrounds BernExpo, the sports stadiums, from "Rosengarten" and the bear-park. Spacy rooms, all with private bath/shower/wc, hair-dryer, desk, telephone, safe, cable-tv, clock radio and W-LAN. In our hotel you also find a restaurant, banquet and conference rooms and a summer terrace. We are able to offer a limited number of car parking spaces. We also do have free tickets for bus or tram for our guests ...Simply "your home - away from home" ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Despegar.com, HostelBookers and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel-Restaurant Jardin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Jardin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel-Restaurant Jardin, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.