We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Landhaus

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Landhaus to your Saves list
Hotel Landhaus
Altenbergstr. 4-6, Bern CH-3013, Switzerland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 30 Hotels in Bern
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Great Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

We stayed at the Landhaus for 4 nights from 26th August, Patrick and his wife Angela plus the evening bar staff are all charming and cannot do enough for you (for example printing our return boarding cards). We stayed in room 304 on the top floor accessed by a narrow staircase and there is no lift, not a problem for us but could be for the not so mobile. Our room was of the 'comfort' standard which include en-suite, the rooms are basic but very clean with daily maid service, our room did not have a wardrobe or chest of draws so it was hangers on the coat hooks and utilise the suitcase. Saying this the location and price compared to other hotels in Bern makes this a great choice if you are on a budget. The atmosphere of the hotel/hostel is relaxed with a bohemian feel and the menu of the café bar although limited is very good for a lunch stop, my wife tried both the soups on offer and thought them excellent. The bar is always busy on a night, popular with locals too as drinks are reasonably priced by Bern standards. The breakfast is simple but more than adequate with yogurt, cereal, juice, croissants, bread, butter, cheese and jam with tea or coffee, Patrick or Angela will toast your bread in the oven if asked. There is free Wi-Fi which worked well for us. To summarise this is budget accommodation in an expensive city (rule of thumb double UK prices for everything) with a great location, excellent staff and an informal friendly atmosphere, we would not hesitate to return.

Room Tip: Top floor rooms 303/304 have a small balcony overlooking the bridge but its a hike up the stairs wit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    28
    10
    2
    0
See reviews for
11
24
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Metulla, Israel
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

City center or bear's park, river or rose garden - you can count your steps. On the edge of the old city some "normal" rooms, even with a balcony, and some "bag-packers". Lovely, friendly staff, good breakfast, subsidised parking (ask), wifi, lovely atmosphere. Recomended.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

From the train station it's super easy to get to, one bus. You then walk down the hill from the Bear park and you're there. I loved Bern and this hotel made it even better. Its close to the Old Town and easily walked. The hotel is full of charm and old world hospitality. Breakfast in the morning was simple but of excellent quality, the croissants were the best I've ever had. If I ever come back this way...I will definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Fantastic little place! Across the main bridge, so a few minutes from the centre of it all (so nice & quiet) but a wonderful place to stay with the nicest owners! Beds were quite comfyeven though small by N. American standards.Try the honey they have made by a neighbour, and a near by wine cafe called Klosterli. This place oozes charm. Full breakfast every morning and they remembered what type of coffee I like. I would definitely return to Landhaus.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

Landhaus is located in the centre of the 'old town', very close to the Bear Park. Bern is an extremely walkable city and we thoroughly enjoyed walking along the riverside.
Although our family room was very small (we had to jump over some bags), Patrick (manager/chef) more than made up with his large-hearted warmth with which he received & served everyone.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

I stayed in the 6-bed dorm room for 2 nights in March. There was a lot of privacy given that the dorm is further split into 3 rooms (albeit with thin partition walls). Hence, it feels like you are staying in a 2 persons room. There was also 2 sinks that came with the dorm and a locker to use. The small café located on the ground floor is highly recommended - serving delicious food, snacks, and drinks. The best part of the hostel/hotel is the location - right on the edge of the old town, by the river, and mere minutes from the bear pit and the Altes Tramdepot.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Umina Beach, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

This was one of the best places we stayed during our trip through Europe. Beautiful building, stunning location and friendly, helpful staff. And breakfast was always an absolute pleasure.
Would stay there again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Landhaus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Landhaus

Address: Altenbergstr. 4-6, Bern CH-3013, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bern Mittelland District > Bern
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 30 Hotels in Bern
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The young Hotel in an over hundred years old beautiful charming building, is situated in the heart of the old city of Berne. It overlooks the river Aare and is right across of the new "Bear Park".Our Hotel is the ideal place for everybody,who loves special and extraordinary spots. In our renovated rooms, globetrotters, families, artists,businessmenandwomen, backpackers, indivualists and also groups and school-classes find a home away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, HostelWorld and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Landhaus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Landhaus, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.