We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice but smaller than expected” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Goldener Schlussel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Goldener Schlussel to your Saves list
Hotel Goldener Schlussel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Rathausgasse 72, Bern CH-3011, Switzerland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 30 Hotels in Bern
Scottsdale, Arizona
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Nice but smaller than expected”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

Stayed here for one night recently. Room was newly updated but very small. Bathroom was some sort of pre-manufactured "pod" assembly that was very small. TV was was attached to a blank wall with no decorations. No air conditioner. Breakfast was your basic European fare. Cheese, yogurts, fruit and breads. They did have an expresso machine in the back. Very much the basics of necessity which was a little surprising based on recommendations and rating. Would I stay here again? Not for the price point.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    87
    40
    16
    5
See reviews for
42
64
18
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rochester NY
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

This is a lovely, cozy, well appointed hotel. WIFi in the room wad great. Breakfast Buffet was typical European offerings. Expect super strong coffee as the Swiss drink coffee with their milk as opposed to American who drink milk in their coffee. The location was perfect being a few minutes from the train station and close to many restaurants. Our room was great except when the Swiss were playing World Cup Soccer and the restaurant has at least three tv's outside so the fans can watch and party and that is fine except when we had jet lag and no sleep on the way over and that particular restaurant is across the narrow street from our room. The good news was that most all the people were gone by 1AM. If I was a die hard soccer fan, I would have been out there too. This is a great hotel anyway and the staff is very helpful.

Room Tip: There is no air conditioning but room was cooler at night. If you need absolute quiet ask for a roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014 via mobile

Overall the rooms are nice and clean, very modern. The staff is also very friendly and helpful. Breakfast is small, but it is free so you can't complain about that considering how expensive it is to dine in Switzerland.

What I didn't like is how loud it is outside at night. If you stay here, be sure to request a room that does not face the street. You will pay more for the room, but it may be worth it. There is a bar downstairs out front, and at night it gets very loud and a lot of people out there smoke. Having open windows helps make the room cool, but you have to suffer through the noise and clouds of smoke. Closing the windows helps (no a/c), but the room becomes very warm and stuffy. To top it off, the beds are very firm- it is like sleeping on a piece of plywood. Needless to say we did not sleep well. I probably wouldn't stay here again.

Stayed June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Overland Park, Kansas
Top Contributor
136 reviews 136 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

A short tram ride (one stop) from the train station, in the middle of old town, right around the corner from the Einstein apartment museum. An easy walk to the bear garden or the botanical garden, and less than a block from the clock tower. Rooms were nice, check in and out was easy, luggage storage easy as well. Great place to check out the city. And great breakfast!

Room Tip: Quad rooms are nice, and on upper floors, street side has a bit of a view, and even with the nightli...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

Hotel Goldener Schlüssel in Bern is well located near the center of town. The room was very clean and modern--the bathroom is a modular, opaque glass rectangle--very cool, but not sound proof! On our particular visit it was hot and humid, and the only way to get moving air was to open the window. If you're in the economy rooms located in the front of the hotel (as we were), you will have noise, music, and lots of chatter coming from a beer stube across the street. The noise starts at about 4:30pm and does not stop until the place closes at midnight. Reserve your room accordingly. Otherwise the hotel was very nice. Breakfast, which is included in the price of the room, was delicious and offered all the standard Swiss items: warm, fresh-baked breads, rolls, and croissants, meats, cheeses, fruit, veggies, yogurts, cereal, and boiled eggs. Heads up folks! If you have your hotel confirmation with you, your ride on public transport from the train station is free. Hotel Goldener Schlüssel will then provide you with a transit pass good for your whole visit.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

The breakfast buffet is delicious and generous. The location on the Rathausgasse is ideal - near several historic sites, restaurants and shopping areas. Herr Troxler and his staff are very gracious, and more than willing to answer questions and provide directions/suggestions about sight-seeing in Bern and other nearby towns. Bathrooms are small and modular, as has been noted in other reviews; however, small bathrooms are typical in many Swiss hotels. The combo body wash/shampoo provided was not a good product; we used our own instead. Overall, however, I'd recommend this hotel. My husband and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay there, and would return if we got the chance to visit Bern again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

Situated in a quiet alley in the city area, no far from shopping. Rooms are very clean and the modular bathroom concept within the room is an interesting concept for use of the limited space. The walls between rooms are however not very well sound-proofed which means one can hear neighbors talking or TV sets on. No jugs for boiling water are provided. Breakfast spread is only average but the tea selections is excellent for tea-lovers.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Goldener Schlussel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Goldener Schlussel

Address: Rathausgasse 72, Bern CH-3011, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bern Mittelland District > Bern
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 30 Hotels in Bern
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Goldener Schlussel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our 34 modern, charming and comfortable rooms are tastefully decorated. The hotel is located in the pedestrian quarter and has very quiet rooms overlooking the courtyard. All rooms have shower, WC, radio, direct dialling telephone, TV with flat screen, public wireless LAN, safe and hairdryer. There is an internet corner for your convenience at the reception. Open 364 days a year, our restaurant is an inviting and typical old town building with excellent Swiss Cuisine. Try one of our classic specialities such as Maiskroketten, Salade folle, Wiener Schnitzel, Suure Mocke or Lammmignons. With pride we serve the best Swiss sausages for instance Glarner Kalberwurst, Tessiner Luganighetta, Berner Zungenwurst or Boutefas from Payerne. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotel.de, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Goldener Schlussel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Goldener Schlussel Hotel
Goldener Schlussel Bern

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Goldener Schlussel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.