We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Impressive hotel in the centre of Berne” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Kreuz Bern

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Kreuz Bern to your Saves list
Hotel Kreuz Bern
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Zeughausgasse 41 | 3011 Bern, Bern 3011, Switzerland (Formerly Kreuz Swiss Q Hotel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 30 Hotels in Bern
BIRMINGHAM
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Impressive hotel in the centre of Berne”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

This hotel is witih walking distance of the railway station and all the main attractions of Berne including the Bear Pit and Parliament building as the Munster and several other fine churches.Warm comfortable rooms and a solid breakfast

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    82
    79
    25
    9
See reviews for
27
67
22
66
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Switzerland
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

Very appreciable, clean and welcoming place in Bern.
A hundred meters from the Federal Palace and the "Zitglokke", the Kreuz Hotel is really ideal to visiting Bern's heart.
Also for workers (I was there for a boutique renovation - take a look at Omega at Spitalgasse) it is not a too expensive hotel, though very well equipped and with a quietness one may deserve at any time of resting.
Highly recommended to my own opinion.

Room Tip: The higher, the better (I was resting at the fifth - juste perfect!)
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sospel, France
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

The Kreuz is a classic, Swiss budget hotel, where rooms vary in size from the size of a large cupboard, through small to average-sized. The hotel is impeccably clean and room fittings are of high standard. Beds, pillows and room furnishings are very comfortable - although the beds look like something out of a student hostel.

Decor is very basic. There was not a single picture on the walls of my tiny room, nor is there a picture on any of the walls in the breakfast room. This is more a Spartan spirit than trendy minimalism. Nonetheless, the Kreuz is a decent choice for a couple of budget nights right downtown. Staff are unfailingly helpful and attentive.

Room Tip: When you walk in the room, check the floor map on your door and ask for a lrrger room if they put yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
noordwijk
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
136 helpful votes 136 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

When going to Bern for business I often choose the Kreuz hotel because of its very central location only about 8 mn walk from the station and right by the shopping streets and close to numerous restaurants. I always have a single room therefore cannot comment on the other rooms, the single is very small but comfortable and clean. The bathroom is fine, not very big but I usually only stay one night. The hotel offers complementary tea/coffee in a tearoom, also has two PCs for public use, unfortunately one criticism is that it only has wifi in the lobby, otherwise it is a paying service.
There is a gym upstairs and a roof top terrace with lovely views of the city. There are vending machine nearly on each floor. The breakfast is buffet style with local products ( like lots of cheese !). I like this hotel because of the comfortable feeling to it, it is not a modern and impersonal place.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Islamabad
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

The Kreuz is suitably located and a good option if staying in Berne. Though it is a small hotel, it was well serviced and the room was very cozy and pleasant, though tiny. The windows opened into a view of the surrounding buildings at the back of the hotel and was nice to look out of.

I had a very good experience overall and was satisfied with my stay and loved my room.

A few glitches/let downs:

There were no complimentary toiletries in the bathroom. The bathroom itself was incredibly tiny..almost uncomfortably so, but was ok and clean.

The safe in my room got broken my first day and this was a cause of concern for me as I was carrying quite a bit of Euros. While the front desk ladies were nice and helpful and immediately sent for a technical person to help fix it, he was unable to. They did not replace the safe and I had to make do in that situation.

The room was without a fan, ventilator or air conditioner, and in the month of June became a bit much.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

Summary
Hotel is in a good location: close to the old city and a reasonable 10 to 15 minute walk from the train station.
While the reception area is nice, our room was badly in need of patching and repainting. Even worse, my husband found and killed a cockroach in the bathroom.
Overall - this hotel was a big disappointment.

Reason for Stay:
Sightseeing in Bern. Just stayed overnight, but wanted a clean, comfortable room where we could get a good night's sleep.

Pros:
Good location close to old part of Bern and within a reasonable walk of the main train station.
Has efficient elevators of a good size.
Breakfast, although unappealing, was included in the price and was served in a large bright, sunny room
Inexpensive, but I don't feel that we got value for money.

Cons:
Although the reception area was very nice, our room was badly treated and needed work. The wooden floor was stained and dirty and a lot of the paint was chipped (see my pictures for details).
My husband found and killed a cockroach in the bathroom. When I reported this to the front staff, their response was "oh". They should have at least said that it would be reported.
Pillows were so flat as to seem non-existent.
Used the PCs with the free internet access, but FaceBook (which I use to communicated with friends and family), was blocked.
The washroom was so small and badly designed that there was no room to even set down a shaving kit.
Although we had a room on an upper floor, we overlooked an alley and there was a lot of street noise. That and the pillows led to a poor night's sleep.
Checked out the workout area. It was at the top floor of the building and in my opinion, would be too warm for working out. Apparently it is a good reading lounge since a man was stretched out on a lounge chair reading!

Part of the reason that I selected this hotel is that it seemed to be related to "Swiss Quality" hotels. However, I checked the Swiss Quality website and it is not listed as one of their hotels.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Kreuz Bern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kreuz Bern

Address: Zeughausgasse 41 | 3011 Bern, Bern 3011, Switzerland (Formerly Kreuz Swiss Q Hotel)
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bern Mittelland District > Bern
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 30 Hotels in Bern
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Kreuz Bern 3*
Number of rooms: 103
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This beautiful old townhouse is just a short walk from the main railway station and "Bundeshaus" parliament building. Whether a day's shopping in the historic arcades or a mixed cultural offer. Almost everything is within easy walking distance. Guests can enjoy the various day rooms, small gym and free use of the Internet terminal. FREE W-LAN connections are also available throughout the hotel and at the restaurant. And there are wonderful views of the old town and the Alps from the roof terrace of the Kreuz Bern. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, World Independent Hotel Promotion and Despegar.com so you can book your Hotel Kreuz Bern reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kreuz Swiss q Bern

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Kreuz Bern, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.