We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Staying at the Savoy” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Savoy Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Savoy Hotel to your Saves list
Savoy Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Neuengasse 26, Bern CH-3011, Switzerland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 30 Hotels in Bern
Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Staying at the Savoy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012

Take away the great location, and for the price you have to pay, you have an average plus hotel. It was the most expensive hotel we stayed at. Add to the fact that you had to pay 25 francs per person for a continental breakfast that was less in both quality and quantity than the hotels we stayed at in Zurich and Basel. The room was nice and big and airy, but had no air conditioner. The beds were comfy . The internet was free, but I was not able to access my e-mail.The service was good and the clerks friendly.

Room Tip: Get one with an air conditioner if travelling in the summer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    61
    56
    18
    4
See reviews for
36
45
15
46
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Milan
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2012

I had to stay here instead of Basel due to the prices of the hotels in Basel during the art show. Bern is about an hour away. This hotel is downtown, so it has a nice central location and parking is not onsite but nearby in a parking structure and the hotel has a convention with the parking. It is expensive like everything else in Switzerland, overly so. Anyway, parking was relatively easy. The hotel is clean, the rooms are clean and large. The AC is quiet but the temperature is controlled so you cannot get it lower than 72 and at night that is tough because you cannot sleep with the windows open due to the insane noise from the street. People are out until the wee hours drinking and shouting and the businesses set up tables and chairs early in the morning and make a ton of noise. The water is horribly expensive in the room. The bed is real hard. Breakfast is a good quality and the breakfast room is quaint, and sunny. The service is good, the coffee is hot and the bread is FANTASTIC.
The negative and this is a HUGE negative is internet. It is not provided to you by the hotel but directly from Swisscom. It is supposed to be a hot spot. We tried to sign on buying a card at the hotel and were unable to sign in. So we tried doing it with a credit card, and that did not work either. We went downstairs and (Tanya I believe was her name) worked with us for 45 minutes! It was crazy. The Swisscom site is totally illogical. It turned out the value card was never going to work. We tried to log on to yahoo via the hotel computer, and not even that would come up. They have a firewall installed so you cannot even navigate. OK, so later on I tried again to get in via my credit left over from 30 CHF that I got knocked up for and the site was so confusing I found out to get in I had to check the box for remaining credit. Stupid. So, got on and none of the pages would load until finally after 2 minutes I would get knocked off the sites. Absolutely stupid. How can a country that professes to be so advanced be so behind? I was there for work and no internet was critical. Needless to say, I cut the trip short, got out of Dodge. Food was overpriced in the area as well. In fact, everything is over priced in Switzerland. Parking at the fair was high, water was 5 CHF for 250ml. It gets tiring having to spend so much to be so uncomfortable.
The location is near the train station. The most surprising thing was the filth outside around the city. I have never seen so much trash in a Swiss city and between these two cities, Basel and Bern, I doubt I will ever go back. Towns in the Ticino Canton are much cleaner and the people are nicer.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lugano, Switzerland
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2012

This hotel is in teh city centre and few minutes from Swiss Parliament and main station. I suggest not to go by car since Bern parking lots can be really expensive. The hotel has a special price (valid only 1 night) for 18.50 CHF from 5PM to 9AM, then the subsequent days the daily parking rate is about 40 CHF. The hotel is quiet and staff very friendly: we received a room at 2nd floor with view on Neuengasse: there was a concert that night but we could anyway sleep well: the rooms are spacious, clean and well maintained...a littlebit old-styled but with personality. Jazz singers and musicians poster are everywhere and this makes the hotel unique in Bern. we did not take the breakfast, but the cost of it was approx 25 CHF each person. We booked by means of hrs.de and could save quite a lot of money: 125 CHF instead of the normal price (330 CHF).

Room Tip: My suggestion is: take a room from 3rd floor up, and take the train to move to Bern...you will save...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2012

I arrived to Bern for business out of the city, and I took the train every day.
The hotel place near the train station, so it was very computable stays there.

The hotel room was biggest with big TV, mini-bar, and nice facilities.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2012

The Savoy hotel can provide a comfortable stay when in Bern. The rooms a simply furnished and most have either a single bed or two single beds close together. The windows have either shutters or blinds that can completely darken the room and also help shut out some of the noise from street side rooms. Some rooms are air conditioned and some not but this is only a problem in the height of summer.
Breakfast is typically Swiss with nice fresh bread and a selection of meats and cheeses. Recently the hotel management have also started to offer a cooked breakfast option.
The Savoy is located just a few meters from ‘The City’ exit of the main rail station and is only minutes from the main bus routes and other central attractions of Bern. The neighbouring Co-Op store can be useful if snacks or drinks are needed for your room although most rooms do have a minibar.
I have been a visitor to The Savoy for many years and the majority of my stays have been satisfactory. If however your visit coincides with that of a tour party (that now seem so very frequent) you should be prepared to expect more noise and less than comfortable experience at breakfast.

Room Tip: Breakfast room is on 1st floor - avoid as it is noisy. For a quieter stay, request a room that face...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quezon City, Philippines
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2012

We arrived very early and our rooms were not ready, the staff opened 1 room to accommodate our luggages and asked us to come back after lunch. We walked around, had breakfast, did some shopping, had lunch and back to the hotel for official check-in. Staff were friendly.
We were given a room facing the street, with lots of food establishments across the hotel. The rooms are big/spacious for Swiss standard. March is considered winter month and the AC is still turn off, no ventilation and at night it becomes warm and stuffy. We had to open the windows to avoid suffocation by midnight but we have to endure the noise/laughter/shouts from the clients of the food establishments nearby up to wee hours of the morning. Around 4-5 am, we could hear the sounds of cleaning of the street and the delivery of goods to big supermarket adjacent to the hotel.
The hotel is very near the main train station and very accessible to near/far destinations. It is surrounded by all kinds of shops/restaurants, so no need to go far for your needs!

Room Tip: Ask for room facing the back, less noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bern, Switzerland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2011

This hotel was so far the best European hotel I had. It is only 3 minutes walk from entrance to main train station and close to city centre - walkable. The reception staff was kind, helpful and attentive. The room was comfortable and clean and I definitely had a wonderful time there during my 5-day stay. This is the hotel I would return to if I am to visit Bern again.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with OctopusTravel

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Savoy Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Savoy Hotel

Address: Neuengasse 26, Bern CH-3011, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bern Mittelland District > Bern
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Luxury Hotel in Bern
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Savoy Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Garni in traditional building situated on a street corner at center of business, banking & shopping district. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com and Priceline so you can book your Savoy Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Savoy Hotel Bern

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Savoy Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.