We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Grotto Ticino” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grotto Ticino

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Grotto Ticino
Breitenrainplatz 26, Bern 3014, Switzerland
+41(0)31 3319677
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #140 of 382 Restaurants in Bern
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Galway, Ireland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Grotto Ticino”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

Wonderful Italian restaurant, fantastic seafood, friendly welcoming staff, and very near to the Etap, Ibis and Novotel hotels.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    14
    7
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Good food and good service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2012

Restaurant is very accommodating, you can request to have less salt or other minor changes to your food.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Lovely food, but very little English”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2012

The receptionist at our hotel suggested this restaurant for dinner. It was just around the corner from our hotel and after a day of backpacking we didn't feel like going far.
The food was proper, home made Italian cooking, absolutely delicious. But the communication was a bit tough. They had no English menu and our waitress understood very little English.
If you speak German, Italian or French things will be much easier!
But the food is excellent and reasonably priced - we left very pleased.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chandigarh, India
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Best pizzas ever had”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2012

Was staying in Etap(5 mins walk), my hotel did'nt have an Italian dinning, this place was recommended by my reception people.

I loved the pizza true Italian flavor couple with nice Italian wine, simply loved it.

  • Visited December 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Grotto Ticino also viewed

Bern, Bern Mittelland District
Bern, Bern Mittelland District
 
Bern, Bern Mittelland District
Bern, Bern Mittelland District
 

Been to Grotto Ticino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grotto Ticino, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.