We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Allegro, a piece of Bern..” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Allegro Bern

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Allegro Bern to your Saves list
Hotel Allegro Bern
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Kornhausstrasse 3, Bern 3000, Switzerland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free parking
Ranked #5 of 30 Hotels in Bern
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Allegro, a piece of Bern..”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

We were only there for one night, which restricted us from exploring the hotel. But, the room was quite good, with a good view of the city. Upon arrival the room was decorated for us which was a pleasant surprise as we were on our honeymoon. This hotel would be more suited towards a business crowd rather than honeymooners.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bernallegro, Manager at Hotel Allegro Bern, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Dear SunnyMirch

Thank you for taking the time to review the Hotel Allegro following your recent stay with us.
We are pleased that you had a nice stay with us.

We wish you both all the happiness for the future and if your travels bring you back to Bern, we would be delighted to welcome you with us again.

Kind Regards
Janine Rüfenacht
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

598 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    234
    246
    85
    21
    12
See reviews for
70
226
33
191
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Monica, California
Top Contributor
168 reviews 168 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
145 helpful votes 145 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

We spent two nights at this lovely hotel just after Christmas. Our room had a wonderful view, the breakfast was very nice and the staff was really lovely. The location was perfect. Tram stops right out front and you can take it right into the Old Town or just walk over the bridge into Old Town. Had we known how easy it was to get from the train station to the hotel via tram we could have saved 20 CH ...but it was raining and we couldn't figure it out. But on our way out of town we took the tram and were at the station in literally 5 minutes. We would def stay in this hotel again. I would agree with some of the other reviewers that you will want to spring for the Panorama room vs. the atrium type room. The view is worth it. Also Bern is a sweet town and at Christmas time the Christmas Market is up and is charming.

Room Tip: Ask for Panorama room. It is on higher floor and has nice views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bernallegro, Manager at Hotel Allegro Bern, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Dear Galutengirl

Many thanks for leaving such a positive feedback on your recent stay with us in the Hotel Allegro.

The hotel is located within easy distance of so many of the delights Bern has to offer, public transport (as you wrote above, it is right in front of our doorstep), the capitals sightseeing, shopping and also lovely restaurants.


We do have different room categories, the panorama room which you stayed in has a wonderful view over Bern and the swiss alps, Im pleased that you relished your stay.


We do hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to The Hotel Allegro on a future visit.

Kind Regards,

Janine Rüfenacht
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012 via mobile

The staff have been fantastic and the facilities are great - we have our 10 year old with us and the staff have gone above and beyond to make our stay a very pleasant one - beautiful views from our room and excellent value for money

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bernallegro, Manager at Hotel Allegro Bern, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Dear Choccylove

Thank you so much for taking your time to post your wonderful feedback for all of our guests to read! We are very glad that you had a great time while staying with us!
Your comments about our staff are very much appreciated. There is no doubt that our staff is our #1 asset, and we are happy to see that they were able to meet your expectations of exceptional service.
Bern is a wonderful city and as you say, the view from the room was beautiful, we are happy you liked it.

We are looking forward to welcoming you again at our hotel!

Kind regards

Janine Ruefenacht
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

The Allegro Bern is an excellent business hotel. Rooms are tidy and complete with floorheating. Nice bar and great breakfast buffet.
An error was made on my invoice. I overlooked it when checking out. After contacting the hotel a few days later they checked my claim and refunded me. I like honest people.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bernallegro, Manager at Hotel Allegro Bern, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Dear Alex H

Thank you for your review concerning your recent stay with us.
We are happy to hear that you liked our Hotel.
We are sorry about the mistake on the invoice, thank
you for contacting us, so we could refund you the money.
There is a saying „Honesty is the best policiy“ this is also for our Hotel very important.


Should your travels bring you back to Bern, we hope you will choose to stay with us again.

Kind regards

Janine Ruefenacht
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

The wife and I stayed here for a night during a visit to Bern. It is located just across a bridge from old town, but unlike many bridges in the various Swiss towns, this one isn't short or for those fearing heights, but the view while crossing is wonderful.

The hotel itself was pleasant and the staff very helpful, and the rooms were clean and well maintained. A small word of warning - the door to the bathroom is actually a glass sliding door. Not normally a problem unless one of the couple is having jet-lag and will end up waking the other turning on the bathroom light.

We also had dinner

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bernallegro, Manager at Hotel Allegro Bern, responded to this review, December 15, 2012
Dear BrianT787

many thanks for your nice review on our hotel. We are pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel and we appreciate your praise of our staff members. As you mentioned, there is a bridge between the old town of Berne and our hotel, however, we have a tramway stop directly in front of our hotel. Whoever does not like to walk will always have the possibility to use the public transportation.

We hope to see you again at the Hotel Allegro!

Kind regards

Janine Rüfenacht
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

Very modern and very Swiss hotel.Stylish but comfortable with it. Rooms are spacious and if you are at the front you get a great view of the Alps. Restaurant was very good and bar lively most evenings.Walking distance to the old town and excellent transport links make this a great hotel for business or pleasure.

Room Tip: Get a room at the front.Bit noisier but excellent view
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bernallegro, Manager at Hotel Allegro Bern, responded to this review, December 15, 2012
Dear jock1957

we thank you for your review on Tripadvisor. We are pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel. As you mentioned in your comments, we have several restaurants with a vast choice of different cuisines. Additionally, the Allegro Bar, our hotel bar, offers live music on most of the evenings. Our Comfort and Panorama rooms as well as all the rooms at our Penthouse floor offer a nice view to the old town of Berne and the Alps.

We hope to meet you again at the Hotel Allegro soon!

Kind regards

Janine Ruefenacht
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

The Hotel Allegro is a modern business hotel located not to far from the city center of Bern. The rooms are of average size, but well equipped. Wireless LAN is free of charge (still not a matter of course in Europe). The prices are very good for the value delivered...

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bernallegro, Manager at Hotel Allegro Bern, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Dear Christian_Gaertner

Thank you for taking the time to post your a review of the Hotel Allegro on Trip Advisor. We appreciate your feedback. The Wireless LAN is free of charge, as we believe it is very beneficial for our guests..


We are looking forward to welcoming you again at our hotel!

Kind regards

Janine Ruefenacht
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Allegro Bern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Allegro Bern

Address: Kornhausstrasse 3, Bern 3000, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bern Mittelland District > Bern
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 30 Hotels in Bern
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Allegro Bern 4.5*
Number of rooms: 171
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Atrium-style Hotel situated in the city center, with a view of the medieval town & the Alps. Free Wireless Access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, HotelTravel.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, Hotel.de, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Allegro Bern reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Allegro Bern, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.