We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average - but worth it if you have time spare” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Museum of Fine Arts (Kunstmuseum)

Museum of Fine Arts (Kunstmuseum)
Hodlerstrasse 8-12, Bern 3007, Switzerland
41 31 328 09 44
Improve this listing
Ranked #13 of 30 Attractions in Bern
Type: Art Museums, Museums
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This large art museum houses the world's largest collection of Paul Klee works and has an extremely impressive selection of 20th-century artists.
Washington, DC
Top Contributor
205 reviews 205 reviews
156 attraction reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
126 helpful votes 126 helpful votes
“Average - but worth it if you have time spare”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

The Art Museum was just ok nothing special. I wished they would let you take photos inside the musuem like they do in Zurich Art Museum. If you have the time or it is a rainy day, may as well visit the museum, if you are short on time, I would pass.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    23
    9
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
noordwijk
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
130 helpful votes 130 helpful votes
“Chaotic, average museum”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

I paid my entrance fee for the permanent exhibition and asked for an audio guide, there was none. I asked for a leaflet on where to find what, there was none. I looked around and couldn't really see where to start, or if there was a logical order of visit. After asking twice I finally found out that I needed to go through the temporary exhibitions ( pay entrance) to reach the first floor where most of the good stuff is. I had read that there was great artists / masterpieces in the museums And in fact there was ( Munch, van Gogh, Kandisky, Miro, Picasso etc) but i found them so poorly displayed that i hardly recall what the paintings were. There is no English explanation anywhere, not even French but only German. Wherever I go I always enjoy discovering new artists, and here the Swiss artists are exposed in the basement again without any explanation so in fact i am not even sure they were Swiss.. I found the museum quite old looking inside, the paintings not shown to their best. I was very disappointed and would only recommend it for the temporary exhibition which looked more interesting ( at the moment Klee and Itten). I was in and out in less than 1 hr and very disappointed.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Well worth seeing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

Two exhibitions when we went (Dec. 2012)--"itten-klee" and "Meryl's Sparks." Very special and a learning experience. Very informative booklets (multiple languages available) for each room. Take a pleasant break in the nice café, by the way.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
France
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
48 attraction reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Collected Together”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

This collection is housed according to themes rather than chronology which makes for interesting companions hanging side by side! We found this a refreshing approach and enjoyed it; others may not! There are some excellent works of art here; you just have to find them!!
Unusually, access to sections of the permanent collection is through a part of the (pay extra) special exhibition area, but don’t worry, just walk in and up the stairs; there will be a member of staff to direct you.
Enjoy your visit!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arnside, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
21 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“We loved it”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

As we had bought a Swiss Saver Pass, we got in free. This is Switzerland's oldest museum with over 3000 paintings and sculptures. The works range from the Middle Ages to Contemporary art. There was a particularly fine Bieler exhibition on when we visited. We had a light lunch in the pleasant cafe and bought presents in the shop. If you enjoy art, this is not to be missed.

Visited October 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Museum of Fine Arts (Kunstmuseum) also viewed

Bern, Bern Mittelland District
 
Bern, Bern Mittelland District
Bern, Bern Mittelland District
 

Been to Museum of Fine Arts (Kunstmuseum)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Museum of Fine Arts (Kunstmuseum), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.