We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, modern, chic property. Great value!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Bern-Westside

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Bern-Westside to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Bern-Westside
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Riedbachstrasse 96, Bern 3027, Switzerland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #6 of 30 Hotels in Bern
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Clean, modern, chic property. Great value!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

The is a very modern, chic/hip, hotel. It is spotless and have all the conveniences you need. It is attached to a shopping mall with movie theatre, restaurants, shops, and starbucks. The westside Bern station is right across the street.

The old town is about 10 minutes (2 stops) away by train. This is about the only negative about the property. Nonetheless, i would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

292 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    103
    143
    33
    9
    4
See reviews for
67
101
24
75
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Milano
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 29, 2012

I'm very satisfied with my stay at this hotel, for sure among the best during my Switzerland trip. Really good value for money if compared to all those overpriced hotels in central Bern and the services they offer.

The hotel still seems to be brand-new. Rooms are spacious, clean, well kept, modern, the typical HI rooms with all their comforts. Cozy chairs, wooden flooring, large and comfortable beds, quality pillows (and pillow menu) and very soft bed linen... it won't be easy to get up in the morning to visit Bern! ;-). Flat screen tv, safe, desk area, a very large window that can be opened, coffe& tea facilities, wardrobe. Free wifi, worked well.

The bathroom is also spacious enough, large walk in shower with excellent water pressure. But I do agree with those reviewers who pointed out that the glass panel could have been a bit larger: you need to pay attention to avoid getting the whole floor wet. But that's a minor flaw. What really could become a problem is the bathroom door: it's frosted, but in some points you can just look right through it since there is the hotel logo running along it. And clearly it's not soundproof... ;-)

The hotel is really easy to reach since it is located along the highway (rooms are not noisy though). It's part of the Westside shopping mall which offers several dinner/breakfast opportunities (Starbucks, some Asian and Italian restaurants, McD, etc.), shops of any kind, a large spa with swimming pool and a cinema that also shows English movies. We found out that the shops are closed on Sundays, the food court however is open 7 days a week.
Holiday Inn guests can park their car in a special area of the car parking of the shopping mall at low fares: very convenient, easy to reach without even having to get outside.

To reach the city center you can take either the tram or the train. Both stops are exactly in front of the hotel, you just need to cross the street. Swiss trains are clean, not too crowded, efficient and always on time, you'll reach the city center in less than 10 minutes. Price for tram and trains is the same (4 CHF each way), so I suggest taking the train (much faster!) even if trams are a bit more frequent.

Staff were very nice, attentive, efficient, English-speaking.
There are two breakfast options : coffee + croissant (6 CHF) or a complete breakfast buffet (20CHF). To me it seemed quite overpriced, there are several interesting alternatives in the shopping mall.

All in all I think this is just the best you can get in Bern: a new and modern hotel with lots of facilities at reasonable prices (at least for Swiss standards...). Location is not an issue: there's really no need to pay more just to avoid those 10 minutes on the S-Bahn.

Go for it! ;-)

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2012

With regards to the recent booking of the 4 stars hotel Holiday Inn in Bern, Switzerland, I have to admit that a series of unpleasant surprises is not adding up to my expectations and the booking description.

When I did the reservation for the hotel, it was announced to be a place that has an option for an aqua park facility that goes with a free 2.5 hours admission for it. When I arrived, we were notified that the park is closed since about one year because of misconstruction (parts of the ceiling came down). We were advised that the sauna and spa would be available at least.

When I stepped down have a look at the sauna at 8:15 pm, I was told that this facility is closed for today, although it is mentioned to be opened until 10pm at night in the hotels guest directory. Needless to say that I was really happy.

Just a little before, at check in when I entered the room, it was clearly a room that had been abused by some smokers, so I called the reception and mentioned that I wouldn’t want it. The clerk, a courteous and friendly fellow was able to change the room to a real non-smoking room. The rooms I saw are not very spacious, but the cleanliness is excellent and the style is modern and functional.

Day2: I went to reception again to inquire about the sauna and spa. This time we were lucky and upon inquiry got a bathrobe for it. However the procedure for getting in there is a challenge. You need to swap your room key to get a wristband which is good for access. Then you need to walk outside the hotel, about 400 yards thru the shopping mall (can’t do this in a bathrobe for sure), take the escalator down and search for the well hidden entrance. Then you can change and enter the area. Oh, I almost forgot to tell: You need a towel, of cause. However the hotel wouldn’t tell you to pick one at the room and the spa and sauna happens to help out only after asking around at the desk. They require a deposit of 50 Swiss francs, almost like $50. Well, I can imagine purchasing quite some towels for this sum. What they don’t tell you is that they rent the towel to you. More about this matter in just a minute.

The sauna is nice and modern, has a couple of different areas and is separated by female only and mixed. I cannot say anything about the female section, but mixed is a go: There I picked the Scandinavian one with about 90 degrees Celsius. When I came in, it was pretty empty, just about 4-5 people in there. After about 10 minutes there was a rush however, and about 20 to 25 people entered the room at once. I was about to leave anyway so it was not such a thing, but when I stepped outside, I recognized why this was: the waiter was serving an “Aufguss”, that is pouring ice cubed water on the hot stones, so that the steam will make you sweat for sure.

After two runs, I was done with the sauna, so I decided to leave, after 1.5 hours total. At the exit, I couldn’t disembark this place, however. The lady that runs the register said that there should be some charges that I need to pay for. Interestingly I had spared my drinks for later and therefore wouldn’t know of any charges applicable. Well, it turned out that the towel is having a 4 Swiss Francs charge, that I haven’t been told before. And since I don’t run around with money when I am going into a hotel’s sauna, I was short on cash.

Grounded and done? First the lady asked me to get some four francs (you remember that the hotel is just across the other side of a shopping mall), but luckily she then called the hotel which took it on the room. Thanks for whoever ran over from the hotel to get the payment settled .

To be fair and mention the nice topics: The room was clean and I could use the room until 2pm with a free of charge late checkout and there is no charge for the WLAN, too. Albeit I haven't used it, the hotel restaurant made a good impression from the outside.

All in all I have to mention that the hotel is lacking the advertised features, lacking convenience when it come to the spa and sauna, and in this light appears not to be a terrible good value for the money.

Maybe this is the best that the capital of Switzerland has to offer, but I rather cannot recommend it for further stays other than strictly sleeping and business purposes.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, IHGCare at Holiday Inn Bern-Westside, responded to this review, March 22, 2012
Dear Joe_Lorenz,

I was disappointed to read your review following your recent stay with us. While you noted the cleanliness of your room and the restaurant as being positives, I was sorry to hear some aspects did not meet your expectations. We rely on you, our guest, to let us know how we are doing and how we can better meet your needs. I have taken note and wish to thank you for all your valuable comments. We thank you for having chosen our Hotel. We take this opportunity to send you our best wishes.

Sincerely,
Brenda J.
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
India
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2012

hotel is nice, attached mall gives you everything you need, clothes, restaurants, general shopping
food is good, nice swiss hospitality. can go on an amazing cycling trip in the morning.
but it is too far away from the city and every other attraction, not suitable for tourists who want to stay near by the town. though it has a train station in front but still, time wasted in commuting is not suggested

Room Tip: do not take rooms with a view of the mall. what u r gonna see, is only a big roof, outta ur window
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2012

Stayed at the Holiday Inn whilst attending a conference in Bern. Location is good, being on the outskirts of Bern but with very good tram and train connections into central Bern. Rooms are pretty much what you come to expcept from a HI - clean, comfortable and practical with everything you really need.The hotel is connected to the adjacent shopping mall which has plenty of places to get food (including a supermarket) cheaper than in the hotel restaurant. The food was nice here but at usual Swiss prices (i.e. not great value) - breakfast was very good. The service whilst polite and friendly, was somewhat average largely because when I arrived (early evening) there was only person on reception who had only started a couple of days ago and wasn't really sure what they were doing.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2012

This hotel is fantastic. It lives up to the Holiday Inn name, very clean and well kept. The staff was friendly the entire time we were there. The hotel is connected directly to a shopping mall which is great if you want to shop, eat fast food, or watch a movie. Wonderful activities if it happens to be raining and you don't want to trek outside. The only slight downside is the location of the hotel. It is not directly in the city of Bern, you have to take a train or tram to the city. This is not a huge problem as the transportation systems are flawless but it does take about 10 minutes or so to get to the city and you have to wait for the next train to arrive (even though there are a quite a few that run each hour). It is not a problem if you're not in a rush, and keep in mind when the last trains arrive/depart. In fact it is sort of nice to travel into the city by train and then know that when you get to your hotel the surrounding area will be nice and quiet. Given the fact that the hotel is right next to a train stop, the hotel is very well kept, and it is connected to a mall, the fact that you have travel into town is not a big deal at all.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milano, Italia
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2012

the hotel is inside a new commercial center with lot of shops and restaurants. room holiday inn quality. the hotel is quite expensive during business time but you can find good deals during weekends. the hotel is quite far from city center but there is a direct city train link (8min every around half an hour) or a tram to city center (about 25 minutes travel every 10 minutes). in the commercial center there is also the bernaqa, biggest pool and spa in swiss, with discounted entry fee for hotel guest. the parking is inside the commercial center parking with cheap fares for swiss average. the breakfast is excellent but expensive. you can find alternative cheaper breakfast int he commercial center

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Bern-Westside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Bern-Westside

Address: Riedbachstrasse 96, Bern 3027, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bern Mittelland District > Bern
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Bern
#5 Luxury Hotel in Bern
#6 Business Hotel in Bern
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Bern-Westside 4*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With conference infrastructure, shopping mall and multiplex cinema, adventure water park complex with fitness center and spa, set in a unique architectural environment created by world renowned architect Daniel Liebeskind. This modern Hotel was built in 2008 and is with its 144 guest rooms and 11 meeting rooms part of the Westside Center Bern. The new urban destination on the outskirts of Bern. The hotel is easily accessible by public transports and by car. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Agoda, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Bern-Westside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Bern-Westside Hotel Bern

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Bern-Westside, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.