We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Thai food in an old school swiss restaurant atmosphere.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Nordbahnhof

Nordbahnhof
Mulhauserstrasse 123, Basel 4056, Switzerland
+41 (61) 534 08 72
Improve this listing
Ranked #79 of 386 restaurants in Basel
Price range: $26 - $40
Cuisines: Asian, Diner, Thai
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night
Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Nice Thai food in an old school swiss restaurant atmosphere.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013 via mobile

Very convenient booking system on line, super easy for us non German speakers.

The menu is quite limited in terms of choice but what we had was very good. The restaurant is obviously an old school swiss restaurant serving swiss food but I'm sure over time this will fill up with Thai niknaks.

Overall very good.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

86% Recommend
    11
    8
    2
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Basel, CH
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fabulous food and service at a great price”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Excellent food, managed by having a small menu and offering the choice of meat/vegetables/spice to your taste.
Nice open-air section in a quieter area and the prices for Basel are good indeed making this an ideal choice for great food at a price below the city-centre offering.
Informed and polite servers who are willing to offer suggestions and knowing their products well.
The spicy, mango salad was a particular gem which I'd fully recommend.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basel, Switzerland
1 review
“Favorite Restaurant in Basel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

We love to come here. The Thai food is excellent and moderately priced (for Basel). Our favourites are Nam Tok and the soups Tom Kah and Tom Yam. The service is really friendly as well.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basel, Switzerland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great and budget thai food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012 via mobile

This is the thai restaurant which could be founf in the NT areal before. The thai food is really good, the service great and friendly and all of this for not too much money.
There is also a possibility to sit outside in summer.
Minor point: interior is not so cozy

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basel, Switzerland
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“This place is now Thai and its one of the best Thai places in town!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2012

The people who now run the Nordbahnhof used to own a tiny place on the other side of the river with only about five tables! Now in the new location there is enough space both inside and out in the very pleasant garden. Service is very friendly and the food is delicious with a large selection of classic dishes to choose from. its definitely my favorite Thai place in town. I visited for the first time in the new location in May for a friends birthday dinner. we just ordered a bunch of different stir fries, curries and salads with platters of appetizers to start us off and a few bottles of white wine. Everything i tasted was delicious. the whole fish salad was especially tasty! go for it! its good value for money and really exciting food.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nordbahnhof also viewed

 
Basel, Switzerland
Basel, Switzerland
 

Been to Nordbahnhof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nordbahnhof, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.