We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Restaurant great; bar/club not so great” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Atlantis

Atlantis
Klosterberg 13, Basel 4051, Switzerland
+41 61 228 96 96
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #88 of 435 Restaurants in Basel
Price range: $0 - $22
Cuisines: European, Bar, Asian fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Doing business
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Basel, Switzerland
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Restaurant great; bar/club not so great”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013 via mobile

I went to the bar/club a while back and hated it because of the smoke and false hype, but a friend convinced me to try the terrace restaurant and I was not disappointed. The atmosphere was cozy and private but also lovely and bright on the terrace. The summer salad with entrecôte was delicious (maybe slightly more done than I prefer, but still tasty). A decent selection of wines even by the glass including Malbec (my fav). I would definitely recommend the terrace restaurant. Terrace restaurant very good-bar poor.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    28
    7
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Basel, Switzerland
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Excellent Fish!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

Really enjoyed the ambience and the food at this place that I have often walked past in Basel
Nice fresh produce in a contemporary style
Fish was nicely presented (fillet of sea bass) with a lovely mushroom/truffle sauce.
Accompanied with a nice Sauvignon Blanc. Ended with a nice strawberry Tiramisu. Good value for money
Will return

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerusalem, Israel
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Cool place in Basel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

This restaurant serves elegant standard food. If you are looking for a great chef, this is not it. I must say that I enjoyed the seared tuna as much as I have enjoyed any course inthe last four months. It seems to be a locale for Basel's thirty somethings. We were seated outside on the roof garden. A very pleasant experience. Good price to value relation.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reinach, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Good for afterwork dinner and drinks”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

There is a lovely roof-top terrace- book a table there if it isn't booked out to a corporate do. Food and drinks are good.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eindhoven, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great service, good food and proper value for money”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012 via mobile

We (girlfriend & me) had a dinner here during our stay in Basel. Because of the nice weather, we could sit on the beautiful roof terrace and enjoy the lovely evening.

Food was good and certainly value for money, the service was great however.

Next time we're in Basel, we'll certainly come back here!

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Atlantis also viewed

Basel, Canton of Basel
Basel, Canton of Basel
 
Basel, Canton of Basel
Basel, Canton of Basel
 

Been to Atlantis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Atlantis, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.