We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Röstis” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hasenburg (Chateau Lapin)

Hasenburg (Chateau Lapin)
Schneidergasse 20, Basel, Switzerland (Altstadt)
41 61 261 3258
Improve this listing
Ranked #68 of 407 restaurants in Basel
Price range: $18 - $22
Cuisines: Swiss
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Neighborhood: Altstadt
Karlsruhe
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great Röstis”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

A small restaurant with a rustic atmosphere. Mostly crowded and serves great Röstis. You would often have to share a table with others but that's probably one of the extra positive aspects about this place.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

77% Recommend
    29
    66
    21
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Still the Rösti of my dreams!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

I eat here every time I come to Basel. It is always the "Rösti mit Kase und Ei." Love this food!!! I would like a delivery through the internet please! The staff is terrific. The restaurant is comfortable. I highly recommend this place.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Water into gold”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

This is a lovely, very traditional old pub/restaurant, serving traditional Swiss food, including almost any variety of Roesti you care to suggest, The service is quick and friendly, BUT is it really necessary to charge CHF 3.00 for tap water?

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lausanne, Switzerland
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Very goord rosti and good value!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

Instead of going to a restaurant and eat fondue, we thought to go to Chateau Lapin to have a typical swiss menu. The place looked very nice, a bit vintage from the inside. We took rosti for dinner and they were really good! The price is around 24 CHF (average) which is a very good price for a restaurant in Basel. For desert, we tried the apple sorbet which ended up to be an excellent surprise! Service was nice. We highly recommend it!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Latham, New York
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“OK but Not Great”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

Went with friends to try rosti. This is apparently the place to go for this traditional Swiss dish - otherwise their menu is pretty limited. Rosti is basically potatoes au gratin with meat, mushrooms, vegetables, or other garnishes added. I must admit that we were a little disappointed in that the rosti was good but by no means exceptional. The portions were average but accompanied by nothing other than bread - a small side dish of vegetables would have been nice. With a beer the prices averaged 30 CHF which isn't too bad for Switzerland but then again the meal was virtually only potatoes and cheese.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hasenburg (Chateau Lapin) also viewed

 
Basel, Switzerland
 
Basel, Switzerland
Basel, Switzerland
 
Basel, Switzerland

Been to Hasenburg (Chateau Lapin)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hasenburg (Chateau Lapin), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;