We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Vegan food for all” 4 of 5 stars
Review of tibits

tibits
Stanzlergasse 4, Basel 4051, Switzerland
061 205 39 99
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #13 of 406 restaurants in Basel
Price range: $11 - $31
Cuisines: Vegan, Vegetarian, International, Healthy
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Takeout, Buffet, Late Night, Dessert
Description: tibits bietet ein reichhaltiges Buffet mit uber 40 leckeren und saisonal wechselnden vegetarischen und veganen Salaten, heissen Gerichten, Suppen, Sandwiches und Desserts an. Frisch und hausgemacht - fur alle, die gerne geniessen.--------tibits offers up a rich buffet with over 40 tasty and seasonally changing vegetarian and vegan salads, hot dishes, soups, sandwiches and desserts. Fresh and homemade - for all who like good food.
Basel, Switzerland
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Vegan food for all”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013 via mobile

I am not a vegetarian or vegan but still enjoy this place with its refreshing concept. You will always find dishes from the large buffet which will suit your taste buds. Cold or warm, casseroles or salad, desserts etc. The most difficult part is finding a place to sit in this popular place! The two floors are just not enough.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

255 reviews from our community

85% Recommend
    97
    120
    26
    9
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Geneva, Switzerland
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“A tasty choice!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

As non-vegetarians, we very much enjoyed the experience of eating here since there is an excellent choice of hot or cold dishes. So easy too ... fill up a plate, take it to the counter, get it weighed, order a drink, pay and find a table. Reasonably priced in spite of the large glasses of wine we ordered. In the summer heat of Basel, it was good to eat a light meal in the evening which was extremely tasty. Staff pleasant too. Would go back.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghent, Belgium
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great and tasty vegetarian buffet where you pay the weight.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013 via mobile

Nice range of different kinds of food (all vegetarian, buffet) and you pay the weight of what you have on your plate. You pay what you eat. Cool and fair concept.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basel, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Tasty and healthy food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013 via mobile

Been there already a couple of times. It's a good self-service restaurant serving vegetarian and vegan dishes only! I prefer to go there for a light subday afternoon lunch!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Near Barfüsserplatz, great value, tasty food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

I've eaten here each day since I found it during my 6-day stay in Basel. Compared with my first forays into restaurants here in Basel, this restaurant is an absolute standout!
My 2 course meal cost CHF15.50 (free breadroll and free hahnenwasser (tap water)). The produce is fresh and the dishes are well-prepared and cover a huge range: from traditional vegan and vegetarian dishes to Thai curries, a Spanish potato and egg dish, and... several dishes have varied in each of my 3 visits.
When I chose 5 stars, the question came up, "Is this one of the best meals you've ever had in a restaurant?" My answer is it's the best of tried of 5 in Basel and in my 3 months tour of Germany and surrounding countries, it is one of the best. So, it's not a Michelin restaurant, but it's wonderful to discover such a great-value restaurant, with a relaxing environment and charming staff in Basel!!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tibits-Team, tibits Team at tibits, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Dear Marysvillian

Wow, your fabulous review really blew us away. Hearing praise never gets old - even after over ten years in the business.

So keep on coming back whenever you're in the neighborhood - or in Zurich, Winterthur, Bern or London. We're looking forward to your next visit!

Best wishes,
your tibits team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed tibits also viewed

Basel, Canton of Basel
Basel, Canton of Basel
 
Basel, Canton of Basel
Basel, Canton of Basel
 

Been to tibits? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage tibits, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.