We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Vegan food for all” 4 of 5 stars
Review of tibits

tibits
Stanzlergasse 4, Basel 4051, Switzerland
061 205 39 99
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 537 Restaurants in Basel
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $29
Cuisines: Vegetarian, Vegan, International, Asian, Healthy
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Buffet, Free Wifi, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout
Description: tibits bietet ein reichhaltiges Buffet mit uber 40 leckeren und saisonal wechselnden vegetarischen und veganen Salaten, heissen Gerichten, Suppen, Sandwiches und Desserts an. Frisch und hausgemacht - fur alle, die gerne geniessen.--------tibits offers up a rich buffet with over 40 tasty and seasonally changing vegetarian and vegan salads, hot dishes, soups, sandwiches and desserts. Fresh and homemade - for all who like good food.
Basel, Switzerland
Level Contributor
150 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Vegan food for all”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013 via mobile

I am not a vegetarian or vegan but still enjoy this place with its refreshing concept. You will always find dishes from the large buffet which will suit your taste buds. Cold or warm, casseroles or salad, desserts etc. The most difficult part is finding a place to sit in this popular place! The two floors are just not enough.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Baryla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

528 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
132 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“A tasty choice!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

As non-vegetarians, we very much enjoyed the experience of eating here since there is an excellent choice of hot or cold dishes. So easy too ... fill up a plate, take it to the counter, get it weighed, order a drink, pay and find a table. Reasonably priced in spite of the large glasses of wine we ordered. In the summer heat of Basel, it was good to eat a light meal in the evening which was extremely tasty. Staff pleasant too. Would go back.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Liz208
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghent, Belgium
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great and tasty vegetarian buffet where you pay the weight.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013 via mobile

Nice range of different kinds of food (all vegetarian, buffet) and you pay the weight of what you have on your plate. You pay what you eat. Cool and fair concept.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Dequal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basel, Switzerland
Level Contributor
63 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Tasty and healthy food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013 via mobile

Been there already a couple of times. It's a good self-service restaurant serving vegetarian and vegan dishes only! I prefer to go there for a light subday afternoon lunch!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Raphael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Near Barfüsserplatz, great value, tasty food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

I've eaten here each day since I found it during my 6-day stay in Basel. Compared with my first forays into restaurants here in Basel, this restaurant is an absolute standout!
My 2 course meal cost CHF15.50 (free breadroll and free hahnenwasser (tap water)). The produce is fresh and the dishes are well-prepared and cover a huge range: from traditional vegan and vegetarian dishes to Thai curries, a Spanish potato and egg dish, and... several dishes have varied in each of my 3 visits.
When I chose 5 stars, the question came up, "Is this one of the best meals you've ever had in a restaurant?" My answer is it's the best of tried of 5 in Basel and in my 3 months tour of Germany and surrounding countries, it is one of the best. So, it's not a Michelin restaurant, but it's wonderful to discover such a great-value restaurant, with a relaxing environment and charming staff in Basel!!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Marysvillian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tibits-Team, tibits Team at tibits, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Dear Marysvillian

Wow, your fabulous review really blew us away. Hearing praise never gets old - even after over ten years in the business.

So keep on coming back whenever you're in the neighborhood - or in Zurich, Winterthur, Bern or London. We're looking forward to your next visit!

Best wishes,
your tibits team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed tibits also viewed

Basel, Canton of Basel
 
Basel, Canton of Basel
Basel, Canton of Basel
 

Been to tibits? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing