We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Vegan food for all” 4 of 5 stars
Review of tibits

tibits
Stanzlergasse 4, Basel 4051, Switzerland
061 205 39 99
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #20 of 430 Restaurants in Basel
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $11 - $30
Cuisines: International, Vegetarian, Healthy, Vegan
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dessert, Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Buffet, Late Night, Takeout
Description: tibits bietet ein reichhaltiges Buffet mit uber 40 leckeren und saisonal wechselnden vegetarischen und veganen Salaten, heissen Gerichten, Suppen, Sandwiches und Desserts an. Frisch und hausgemacht - fur alle, die gerne geniessen.--------tibits offers up a rich buffet with over 40 tasty and seasonally changing vegetarian and vegan salads, hot dishes, soups, sandwiches and desserts. Fresh and homemade - for all who like good food.
Basel, Switzerland
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Vegan food for all”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013 via mobile

I am not a vegetarian or vegan but still enjoy this place with its refreshing concept. You will always find dishes from the large buffet which will suit your taste buds. Cold or warm, casseroles or salad, desserts etc. The most difficult part is finding a place to sit in this popular place! The two floors are just not enough.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

369 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    141
    177
    36
    9
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Geneva, Switzerland
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
108 helpful votes 108 helpful votes
“A tasty choice!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

As non-vegetarians, we very much enjoyed the experience of eating here since there is an excellent choice of hot or cold dishes. So easy too ... fill up a plate, take it to the counter, get it weighed, order a drink, pay and find a table. Reasonably priced in spite of the large glasses of wine we ordered. In the summer heat of Basel, it was good to eat a light meal in the evening which was extremely tasty. Staff pleasant too. Would go back.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghent, Belgium
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great and tasty vegetarian buffet where you pay the weight.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013 via mobile

Nice range of different kinds of food (all vegetarian, buffet) and you pay the weight of what you have on your plate. You pay what you eat. Cool and fair concept.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basel, Switzerland
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Tasty and healthy food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013 via mobile

Been there already a couple of times. It's a good self-service restaurant serving vegetarian and vegan dishes only! I prefer to go there for a light subday afternoon lunch!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Near Barfüsserplatz, great value, tasty food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

I've eaten here each day since I found it during my 6-day stay in Basel. Compared with my first forays into restaurants here in Basel, this restaurant is an absolute standout!
My 2 course meal cost CHF15.50 (free breadroll and free hahnenwasser (tap water)). The produce is fresh and the dishes are well-prepared and cover a huge range: from traditional vegan and vegetarian dishes to Thai curries, a Spanish potato and egg dish, and... several dishes have varied in each of my 3 visits.
When I chose 5 stars, the question came up, "Is this one of the best meals you've ever had in a restaurant?" My answer is it's the best of tried of 5 in Basel and in my 3 months tour of Germany and surrounding countries, it is one of the best. So, it's not a Michelin restaurant, but it's wonderful to discover such a great-value restaurant, with a relaxing environment and charming staff in Basel!!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tibits-Team, tibits Team at tibits, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Dear Marysvillian

Wow, your fabulous review really blew us away. Hearing praise never gets old - even after over ten years in the business.

So keep on coming back whenever you're in the neighborhood - or in Zurich, Winterthur, Bern or London. We're looking forward to your next visit!

Best wishes,
your tibits team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed tibits also viewed

Basel, Canton of Basel
Basel, Canton of Basel
 
Basel, Canton of Basel
Basel, Canton of Basel
 

Been to tibits? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage tibits, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.