We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Uncomplicated” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lily's

Lily's
Rebgasse 1, Basel 4058, Switzerland (Altstadt)
061 683 11 11
Improve this listing
Ranked #46 of 404 restaurants in Basel
Price range: $20 - $24
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Takeout, Delivery, Late Night
Neighborhood: Altstadt
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Uncomplicated”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

Lily's is a no brainer when you need to have asian food quickly. The restaurant is bustling - noisy, crowded and always fast. The food is delicious, although lacks character. The service is always fast, but somewhat impersonal. You sit on the same bench with many unknown people, so don't try to talk secrets here. It's actually so noisy that an elderly guest of ours couldn't hear a thing when we were talking. The fish cakes, green curry and Tamil curry are highly recommended. Extra kudos for serving local beer, Thai beer etc. Lily's is what it says it is - a food supply.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

76% Recommend
    57
    105
    35
    12
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kembs, France
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Great place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

This restaurant is nicely located in the center of the City and the open sitting concept is quite different from the other reataurants in that area.
They have an interesting menu card with small Asian food with a great view of the cooking area.
I can recommend their curries, som tam, fried fish paties etc...
They have also some original Thai Ice Tea.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, U.K
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Good food and service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

Found this place by scrolling around Basel on a Sunday afternoon. We had the Bun Gah noodles and the Massaman curry as our mains. Both dishes came in good size portions. I found the Massaman curry a bit diluted for my liking. However, the flavours of both dishes are still very good. Also found our Indonesian waitress very friendly and professional. Overall, we enjoyed our food and atmosphere and will definitely return soon.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great Value in Asian Cuisine”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

This is a large restaurant with plenty of indoor and outdoor seating. The menu has many options with good prices and the food is very good.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basel, Switzerland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great place, great food....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

Food is great, staff is really friend and food is served really quickly. Try their homemade ice tea, just yummy.... go there regularly with friends, family and colleagues....

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lily's also viewed

Basel, Switzerland
Basel, Switzerland
 

Been to Lily's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lily's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.