We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Airport Hotel Basel

Save Saved
You added Airport Hotel Basel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Airport Hotel Basel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Flughafenstrasse 215, Basel 4050, Switzerland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 47 hotels in Basel
Amsterdam
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Good stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2011

I have stayed here about 11 times for business and due to the location it is perfect. also the hotel is very clean.

Location is about 5 min from the airport. With your reservation the bus 50 from the airport is free and the busstop is right in front of the hotel. Also they offer free shuttle transfers to and from the airport and to major locations (stations, Novartis etc).

Breakfast is ok. You can have a free croissant and orangejuice which is ok for me. Full breakfast is available for 25CHF.

Hotel restaurant is ok but nothing fancy,

Rooms are very clan but only downside is the fact that the climatecontrol does not work very good.

Service is good, the businesscenter could be improved.

Overall not a bad hotel and serves the purpose.

Note: There is a huge casino attahced but this i have not tried out..

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Airporthotelbasel, Director at Airport Hotel Basel, responded to this review, August 30, 2011
Dear guest
Thank you for your open comment. It is nice to hear, that you have stayed with us already 11 times – thanks - and that you like our services like the free shuttle bus. We would like to mention that there is also a continental breakfast available for CHF 15.00. Furthermore we are pleased to inform you, that our restaurant will be renovated in September, afterwards a new designed restaurant will welcome you in future. We are looking forward to seeing you here for the 12th time soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

382 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    166
    160
    38
    11
    7
See reviews for
47
86
52
154
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cumbria
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2011

We had an overnight stay here before flying home,chose it as it was near to the airport.Greeted with a welcome drink,very nice reception staff.Hotel is in a very quiet location so room was quiet, nicely appointed and with BBC1 available on the TV. An express breakfast[croissant,hot drink and fruit juice] is included in the room price, very handy as all food in Switzerland is VERY expensive.There is a bus stop outside the door so getting into town or to the airport is very easy.They also have their own schuttle bus to the airport at certain times of the day.Although close to the airport this hotel would also be a good place to stay for visiting Basel as you get free transport for the length of your stay and it it very easy and quick to get into the city centre, I would certainly make this my base if I returned.We booked the hotel through an agent and prepaid , it was interesting to note that unlike another hotel we stayed in in Basel[booked though the same agent] we were not charged any extra city tax, when we queried this we were told it was all paid.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Airporthotelbasel, Director at Airport Hotel Basel, responded to this review, July 22, 2011
Dear guest
It is nice to hear that you liked our hotel with all our services & offers and that you would return to us if you would get the chance for it – thank you! It would be our pleasure to welcoming you soon again during your next visit to Basel – there is a lot to experience, so see you then!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2011

Good and friendly reception
Nice bar, good to do some pre work
Spacious and clean rooms
modern and nice look of the hotel
very good pre service, and very friednly personnel

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Airporthotelbasel, Direktor at Airport Hotel Basel, responded to this review, July 22, 2011
Dear guest,
Thank you very much for your positive comment. We are glad, that you enjoyed your time with us as well as our services. We are looking forward to welcoming you soon again, maybe not only for work but also for leisure!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester England
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
70 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2011

Good clean modern hotel very close to the airport on the Swiss side . Friendly staff , nice modern rooms and excellent shower and for once not over a bath. There is a free bus to the aiport No 50 and to downtown which runs every few minutes . Nice areas to walk out of the hotel and a nearby park makes this feel quite different to most airport hotels. I loved the business cards of the shuttle drivers (they double as reception staff) and the Cards Read----Director of First Impressions. Sends a great message. I would return here next time business takes me to Basel

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Airporthotelbasel, Direktor at Airport Hotel Basel, responded to this review, May 26, 2011
Dear guest
Thank you for your positive comment. Nice to hear that you liked our special business cards and that you could experience this first impression and that you appreciated our services and offers during your stay. As you enjoyed your stay with us and you would return during your next trip to Basel, we hope business brings you back here soon – see you then, we are looking forward to welcoming you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2011

I used the Airport Hotel for the second occasion as I had to travel from Basel Airport the next day. From the booking to the welcome drink everything was done swiftly and to my full satisfaction. I could leave my car in the hotel parking for 8 days, use the shuttle to and from the airport and even had a free ticket for the public transportation in Basel. Room was well equiped, clean and I slept very well. I can recommend the Hotel for travellers using the nearby Airport.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Airporthotelbasel, Director at Airport Hotel Basel, responded to this review, April 19, 2011
Dear guest
Thank you for your comment and your recommendation. It is nice to hear that you appreciated our services and that your stay was to your full satisfaction. We are looking forward to welcoming you soon again to our hotel when you are travelling from Basel Airport again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2011

Have stayed here a couple of times. It is rated as a three star but to be honest its worthy of a 4 star rating. It is a pretty good location not just for the airport but also for the city itself. The hotel gives you a free city public transport ticket and there is a bus going to the city every 10 minutes and this includes weekends (and it only takes 10 minutes). The hotel is very well equipped with a nice fitness centre and free wi-fi (unfortunately and rather annoyingly it did not work perfectly for us during our 3 day stay).Rooms are spcacious and decorated in a modern and trendy style (with a 42" plasma TV on the wall). Oh you also get a free drink voucher to visit the adjacent casino. It's worth a visit if only to sample the athmosphere however briefly. Another nice touch is the free water in the room (and the gym) and the ice maker in the hall. Oh and check out the vending machine- the most expensive I have ever seen (over €2 for a pack of crisps!!!!)

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Airporthotelbasel, Director at Airport Hotel Basel, responded to this review, February 10, 2011
Dear guest
Thank you for your comment and it is nice to hear that you would rate us with 4 stars! We are happy that you appreciated and you made use of all the different services we offer free of charge. Thank you for your feedback regarding the internet, which we will forward to our maintenance department to have a look at it. It would be our pleasure to welcoming you soon again to our hotel during your next visits to Basel!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2011

What can I say, as an airport stop off hotel I'm used to being in rooms that have no character or friendliness.

This cannot be said about Airport Hotel Basel. I arrived on the last flight from London and was met by reception staff who were expecting me, and offered a nice ice cold glass of water or orange juice. Something I would usually only expect in Asia hotels.

The room was newly decorated with vibrant colours and was functional, practical and welcoming.

Only downside was the limited times that room service was available. Although surprising the gym was open 24 hours.

Check out was swift and efficient with helpful staff who spoke perfect English and the fresh "business" breakfast of croissant, juice and tea or coffee was perfect before I left for my meeting.

Would I recommend this hotel as a stop off for the airport or close proximity to Basel absolutely.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Airporthotelbasel, Director at Airport Hotel Basel, responded to this review, February 4, 2011
Dear guest
Thank you very much for your positive comment. We are pleased that you enjoyed your “stop off” and that you would absolutely recommend us to others! Nice to hear, that you appreciated our services. Concerning the room service hours please note, that we are offering a few snacks and drinks 24 hours at our hotel bar. It would be our pleasure to welcoming you soon again to our hotel – is it just for a “stop off” or even for a longer visit to Basel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Airport Hotel Basel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Airport Hotel Basel

Address: Flughafenstrasse 215, Basel 4050, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Basel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Basel
#10 Family Hotel in Basel
#12 Business Hotel in Basel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Airport Hotel Basel 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Airport Hotel Basel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Basel Airport Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Airport Hotel Basel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.