We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel or Youth Hostel?” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Bildungszentrum 21 Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Bildungszentrum 21 Hotel to your Saves list
Bildungszentrum 21 Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Missionsstrasse 21, Basel 4055, Switzerland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #28 of 49 Hotels in Basel
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
“Hotel or Youth Hostel?”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

Booked into the Bildungszentrum 21 as only hotel available in Basel for that night. I have to say that the cost was very reasonable, CHF250 for a 'suite', and the reception staff delightfully friendly. However, by hotel standards this was pretty poor, very 1980s. Virtually no food or drink on offer, tiny, tiny beds, minimal bathroom facilities and the whole experience, from beginning to end, feels more like a youth hostel than a hotel. Indeed, my suite reminded me of an office from the early 80s.

Difficult to say service or facilities were poor, as there really weren't any. If you are travelling on a budget and have minimal expectations then fine. If you are working hard, need a drink, some food, some toiletries! and a decent bed.....look elsewhere.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    51
    8
    9
    4
See reviews for
11
18
13
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Baghdad, Iraq
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

Hello dear, i have there before 2 year and spent very nice and good time in this hotel, all staff of hotel kindly and smile special the reception my best wishes to all and hope come back again as soon as, good room (including everything you asked about) and restaurant very nice with good breakfast and kindly staff.
Alaa Kinan
Iraq Baghdad

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

I had stayed for years at this hotel this year reserved 6 months in advance for Basel Art Fair 3 nights daily price CHF 350. I had to cancel one week prior to arrival, was billed the full amount even though during the last week prices went down on a daily basis to CHF 200 and CHF 195 per day I offered to pay one full night , not accepted, not well received even though was a good client , after many discussions was given a CHF 400 voucher not acceptable given that had paid the full amount. booking via internet reservaitons last miniute one could cancel easily even by booking one or two weeks in advance, different strokes for different folks not acceptable and not good hotel business management to keep clients also to change prices on a daily basis. Will not recommend it any more.

Room Tip: mo more tips
See more room tips
Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suisse
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013 via mobile

When I read the good reviews, I had high expectations. But this place does not hold up. No restaurant, no bar, no minibar. The beds were of poor quality (only single beds). Rooms are very spacious indeed, and we could comfortably be in one room ( 2 adults, 2 small kids). The bathroom was quite bizarre, as it's actually fitted for disabled / elderly people. This meant that the water from the shower actually soaked the whole room and made the room completely wet.
Location is ok, close to tram 3 and bus 30 to train station.
Breakfast was simply perfect.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

This hotel is really very good, stayed there for almost a week due to business I was attending, the price is not low, but I guess all the hotels in Switzerland are expensive as is anything else...don't expect a lot of room, I stayed in a single room and got a single bed, not even queen, that was actually pretty new to me. The rooms a very simple. There is a tiny desk, a tiny bathroom and a tiny closet, the double room has more space but this converts in more open space only.

The hotel is former monastery, still you see a lot of church like activities and rooms. There are a lot of conference rooms, there is a tiny gym, for running I'd suggest running outside though, for example along the river Rhein which is pretty close.

The breakfast has the same set up every day, but there is enough variation to change. The bread, the cheese are fresh and really good! This breakfast made my day! There is a coffee room (nescafe) on the 4th floor. With a computer room. There is free wifi, which was a fast internet, no problem for me to log on onto the company VPN. Very important. Yo don't get kicked of the internet after 1 minute of not using it, also comfortable. The shower is fantastic, it is a very basic shower, but the water warm, the pressure good, no exception. Staff is very helpful, my wife came in for one night, meaning you have to get another room, I was transferred to another room, for double occupancy, this was no problem, I could be out, my suitcase was moved to the other room and all well settled.

Take into account, if you have the reservation with this or any other hotel in Basel, print it out and you can use this for public transport. In the hotel they will give you a free public transport pass as well, but when you try to get to the hotel, you can use the printed reservation. For example I took busline 50 (airport Basel to SBB) and then busline 30 to the hotel (stop spalentor which is 100 m from the hotel), this saved me 38 euros (cost taxi, airport Basel to hotel). Basel is not too big, the old centre, which is very nice, is right around the corner, all is in walking distance.

Basically, I had a very pleasant stay in this hotel, I would recommend it, however if you are looking for something luxurious, this will probably not be your first choice. It is not the kind of hotel you could stay in inside all day.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, ON
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

This was a strange but unique place to stay. This hotel used to an old school but it has been transitioned to a Christian Mission that serves as a charity for many good causes in Africa.

The first 3 floors are offices conference Centre etc with the top 3 floors turned into hotel rooms. I stayed in Room 550 and it was awesome, with exposed beams sloped ceilings and a huge soaker tub. Breakfast was included and it was a great of hot and cold food options. A great value for Basel and I will stay there again for my frequent business trips.

Includes free Tram pass as well.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Africa
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

This is a hotel and conference center in a residential and fairly quiet part of Basel, within walking distance of the quaint old town and river Rhein. Staff are extremely friendly and helpful, and nothing seems to be too much for them. The rooms are comfortable, and the bathrooms practical. However, note that only body wash/soap is provided so if you need conditioner and body lotion you must bring your own. Also, if you get one of the top-floor rooms you may find the church-bells o the top of the building that ring every hour on the hour slightly annoying. My tip: bring earplugs and the toiletries that you need and you will be as snug as a bug in a rug!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bildungszentrum 21 Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bildungszentrum 21 Hotel

Address: Missionsstrasse 21, Basel 4055, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Basel > Basel
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Business Hotel in Basel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Bildungszentrum 21 Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Bildungszentrum 21 Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Bildungszentrum 21

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bildungszentrum 21 Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.