We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good hotel in Basel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Bildungszentrum 21

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Bildungszentrum 21 to your Saves list
Hotel Bildungszentrum 21
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Missionsstrasse 21, Basel 4055, Switzerland   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Free room upgrade
Ranked #26 of 49 Hotels in Basel
Mexico City, Mexico
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Very good hotel in Basel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

This hotel is really very good, stayed there for almost a week due to business I was attending, the price is not low, but I guess all the hotels in Switzerland are expensive as is anything else...don't expect a lot of room, I stayed in a single room and got a single bed, not even queen, that was actually pretty new to me. The rooms a very simple. There is a tiny desk, a tiny bathroom and a tiny closet, the double room has more space but this converts in more open space only.

The hotel is former monastery, still you see a lot of church like activities and rooms. There are a lot of conference rooms, there is a tiny gym, for running I'd suggest running outside though, for example along the river Rhein which is pretty close.

The breakfast has the same set up every day, but there is enough variation to change. The bread, the cheese are fresh and really good! This breakfast made my day! There is a coffee room (nescafe) on the 4th floor. With a computer room. There is free wifi, which was a fast internet, no problem for me to log on onto the company VPN. Very important. Yo don't get kicked of the internet after 1 minute of not using it, also comfortable. The shower is fantastic, it is a very basic shower, but the water warm, the pressure good, no exception. Staff is very helpful, my wife came in for one night, meaning you have to get another room, I was transferred to another room, for double occupancy, this was no problem, I could be out, my suitcase was moved to the other room and all well settled.

Take into account, if you have the reservation with this or any other hotel in Basel, print it out and you can use this for public transport. In the hotel they will give you a free public transport pass as well, but when you try to get to the hotel, you can use the printed reservation. For example I took busline 50 (airport Basel to SBB) and then busline 30 to the hotel (stop spalentor which is 100 m from the hotel), this saved me 38 euros (cost taxi, airport Basel to hotel). Basel is not too big, the old centre, which is very nice, is right around the corner, all is in walking distance.

Basically, I had a very pleasant stay in this hotel, I would recommend it, however if you are looking for something luxurious, this will probably not be your first choice. It is not the kind of hotel you could stay in inside all day.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    57
    8
    9
    4
See reviews for
13
19
13
46
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, ON
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

This was a strange but unique place to stay. This hotel used to an old school but it has been transitioned to a Christian Mission that serves as a charity for many good causes in Africa.

The first 3 floors are offices conference Centre etc with the top 3 floors turned into hotel rooms. I stayed in Room 550 and it was awesome, with exposed beams sloped ceilings and a huge soaker tub. Breakfast was included and it was a great of hot and cold food options. A great value for Basel and I will stay there again for my frequent business trips.

Includes free Tram pass as well.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Africa
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

This is a hotel and conference center in a residential and fairly quiet part of Basel, within walking distance of the quaint old town and river Rhein. Staff are extremely friendly and helpful, and nothing seems to be too much for them. The rooms are comfortable, and the bathrooms practical. However, note that only body wash/soap is provided so if you need conditioner and body lotion you must bring your own. Also, if you get one of the top-floor rooms you may find the church-bells o the top of the building that ring every hour on the hour slightly annoying. My tip: bring earplugs and the toiletries that you need and you will be as snug as a bug in a rug!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

This was an absolute bargain in a city where there are few bargains to be had! Not only that but the grounds were just lovely, there was no noise, the rooms were large and nicely furnished in a contemporary style and there was a delicious and very complete breakfast included in the rate. As if that wasn't enough, the proceeds of the hotel go towards supporting the missions of the Lutheran church. But rest assured, if that last part makes you worry you needn't. No one makes a big deal of it - the only way I knew was that I had really researched the hotel and because I STILL wasn't sure, so I asked the front desk. They aren't there to convert anyone - they just believe in treating all people well and doing good in this world. You couldn't get kinder and more helpful staff who seem to take enormous pride in their hotel. I can't imagine staying anywhere else in Basel.

Room Tip: We had a gorgeous corner room with windows everywhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
farnham common
Top Contributor
214 reviews 214 reviews
141 hotel reviews
Reviews in 142 cities Reviews in 142 cities
150 helpful votes 150 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

Arriving in Basel, we found Bildungszentrum 21 very easily. The receptionist guided us to our parking area (12 swiss francs) and we very quickly settled into a pleasant and comfortable room on the 4th floor. Coffee and Tea in the lounge was plentiful and free. This very beautiful looking house was an excellent choice and very near the centre (10 min walk). Eating in Basel was very expensive and we were lucky to find a food fair where varieties of food were much cheaper. Breakfast in the hotel was average (a buffet that is laid out in a variety of places around the room and it takes time to put your meal together). Nevertheless this hotel is highly recommended-remember, Switzerland is very expensive.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wirral
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

We have just returned from a combined business/holiday visit to Basel. This Hotel is excellent. Breakfast is a feast in itself in a ground floor room overlooking the gardens. The staff at reception are friendly and very helpful. Our double room at the top of the hotel was spacious and well equipped - free internet access provided a good service using my iPhone. Once the site of a Mission (hence the name Missionstrasse) where Swiss missionaries could rest on returning spell in the tropics, the current building has been transformed into a modern hotel. There are common-room facilities for making tea, coffee or other drinks and each day fresh mineral water is left in the room.
Staying in a hotel entitles every guest to a free travel pass on trams and buses within Basel city - a much appreciated facility.

The Hotel is situated close to the University botanical gardens and 10 minutes walk away from Heuberg, one of the best preserved parts of the old city. There are splendid churches and houses dating back to the twelfth and thirteenth centuries. In this area there are lots of good restaurants and bars serving typical Swiss German food.

Room Tip: Rooms at the top are best but you may have to climb a flight of stairs. All other rooms are acce...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

Very pleasant stay. The room and the showerroom where very spacious and comfortable. The televison screen could have been biger, because of the distance bed - television. I arrived in the evening and I whould have appreciated a room service.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Bildungszentrum 21? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bildungszentrum 21

Address: Missionsstrasse 21, Basel 4055, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Basel > Basel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 49 Hotels in Basel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Bildungszentrum 21 3*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 1890s could be a strict era for children, and this is when a certain missionary family child, the future writer and Nobel laureate, Hermann Hesse, roamed our park. We imagine it was prohibited for young children to snack on the grapes and berries in the park at the time. But it seems equally likely that young Hermann ignored the restrictions. He already had a well-earned reputation as a rebel. So, if during autumn in our park a red-cheeked apple smiles at you, give in to its innocent seduction, just as Hermann would! And during the rest of the year we will lead you into further modest temptations because we are enthusiastic about our park and want to share this with all our guests. During the warm seasons we invite the ice cream man into our park, and when it is cold the roast chestnut vendor, so you can indulge in these little treats too. And if, as has happened with many other guests, attending one of our events gives you food or refreshment ideas for your next reception or barbecue, please come see us. In our park, a thousand and one such dreams can come true. PS: Throughout our park, no chemical insecticides or herbicides are used. Instead, all the fruit is grown using only certified organic cultivation methods and substances. And if you rest for a while on one of our cosy park benches, you will share your time with many birds and butterflies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Bildungszentrum 21 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Bildungszentrum 21, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.