We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I would recommend it.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Rochat

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Rochat to your Saves list
Hotel Rochat
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Petersgraben 23, Basel 4051, Switzerland (Vorstädte)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 49 Hotels in Basel
Nicosia, Cyprus
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“I would recommend it.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Although we stayed only for a few hours to sleep there, from what I managed to see I would recommend it. It is centrally located, the room was very very big and very very clean, the staff very helpful.

Room Tip: Have no experience due to the short visit.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

228 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    103
    32
    7
    6
See reviews for
50
89
20
47
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Jensen Beach, Florida
Top Contributor
171 reviews 171 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

A change of hotel plans for us, prior to a River Cruise of the Christmas Markets. We wanted to be more centrally located to the Town Center, as opposed to across the other side of the Rhine. This hotel may not be ranked five star but then it is not priced as a five star so keep that in mind.

We arrived very much two weary travelers after almost 28 hours of travel with a four hour plane delay in Paris CDG, so it had to be a quick place for dinner and bedtime. Our room was on the second floor, which is a little tricky to get to, what a comfortable bed and large room, excellent. Unfortunately they are in the process of doing some major renovation to rooms on the floor above so the sounds of workmen above our heads did somewhat spoil our first evening. This was immediately resolved by Mirko Haman on the front desk, changed our room to a lower floor and another part of the hotel, perfect. Add to this they arranged to transfer our luggage to the new room. Great service.

I have read some of the negative comments from some others, noticeably the same country of origin, and cannot speak for them as we have found the staff to be exceptional, going at all times above and beyond the norm. Verena and Nadege are fine examples of what would be guests are looking for at a hotel. From giving advise on happenings, warnings of upcoming marches to information on the locale to taxi services, all without hesitation. A big thank you ladies.

Mirko Haman helped with my problem accessing the Wi-Fi, arranging a late check out and taxi information to our next point of pick up, thank you Mirko.

The location is excellent, from access to trams, buses, town center and all points of interest, what more could one ask for.

In closing I would offer this piece of advise to people looking for a hotel in Basel with a reasonable price in a central location, do yourselves a favour and try this hotel.

Room Tip: Lower floor adjacent to the church, yes the bells go off at 07:00 each morning except weekends?
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The Hotel Rochat was perfect for us. The personnel are friendly and helpful. We had a spacious room, with comfortable beds (two twins) and very modern shower/bathroom. Situated near the university, right on the edge of the old town, we could visit most sites on foot, enjoying the cozy streets of Basel and the Christmas market. A great address to save for your visit to Basel. We will certainly go back!

Room Tip: We had room 1012, which was very calm on the old courtyard side. Not sure about other rooms. And a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
305 reviews 305 reviews
149 hotel reviews
Reviews in 150 cities Reviews in 150 cities
195 helpful votes 195 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2014

We stayed for 4 nights on a city break to this gorgeous medieval city. The hotel is well- located and is very quiet- despite there being an autumn fare on the doorstop during the time we were there. Our room was nothing special but large and comfortable. I was horrified to find a woman with a dog at breakfast that she then took into the kitchen on 2 occasions. On voicing my concern that this us against hygiene standards I wax told that she was the manager's wife. She was clearly told of my complaint as she then ranted about whatever could be wrong with having a small dog in the kitchen!

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christian Z, Manager at Hotel Rochat, responded to this review, 5 weeks ago
Google Translation
Lieber Gast
Wir danken Ihnen für Ihren Besuch und die gute Bewertung unseres Hauses.
Betreffend Hygiene können alle Gäste auf den Internet-Portalen unser sehr gute Note einsehen.
Wir verstehen, dass nicht alle Menschen Tierfreunde sind. Schade!
Der Hund des Managers ist nie in der Küche, jedoch darf er sowie wie alle andere nette Hunde
der Gäste mit seinem Meister im Restaurant bei dem Mittagessen dabei sein.

Wie love Pets!!!!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
76 hotel reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2014

Hotel Rochat is located next to the University as well as a church. It is a pleasant hotel that does not oversell. For the star rating a good breakfast is provided from 06:30. I stayed in the annexe, which reminded me of a priest seminary. The room decoration is spartan indeed, the TV so high up on the wall that it is impossible to watch without straining your neck. The bathroom was an afterthought, so a cubicle including the piping is plonked in the room. Although perfectly functional this is tiny (~1.5sqm) and you hear the water gushing down. And, if the church bells chime you will be woken rather rudely.

Stayed November 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mulhouse, France
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2014

This is a truly charming and pleasant spot for a family with several children. We were given a lovely room at the top of the hotel with lots of room for kids. Because of the beams (watch your head!) the beds feel a little bit private from one another, which is nice, the bathroom is huge and there are many windows that open to the outside. Be forewarned this is right next door to a church, expect many bells! Breakfast is delightful, very complete buffet and possibility for cooked to order eggs. Front desk staff top notch. I will stay here whenever I can!

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nanaimo
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2014

We stayed at Hotel Rochat for three nights and were delighted with the facilities. Our room was brand new and the fittings and furnishings were all first class. Breakfast buffet, at an extra charge, provided a very good range of choices and really set us up for the day. WiFi was good and we were able to have boarding passes etc printed at the desk.
The location is ideal for all the touristy places, plus the railway station and airport are readily accessible using a free transit pass given out by the hotel.
A recommended hotel!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Rochat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rochat

Address: Petersgraben 23, Basel 4051, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Basel > Basel > Vorstädte
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in Basel
#21 Romantic Hotel in Basel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Rochat 2*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Rochat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rochat Hotel Basel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Rochat, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.