We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, modern and close to almost everything of interest” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Spalentor Basel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Spalentor Basel to your Saves list
Hotel Spalentor Basel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Schoenbeinstrasse 1, Basel 4056, Switzerland   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Free room upgrade
Ranked #4 of 49 Hotels in Basel
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Miami, florida
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Clean, modern and close to almost everything of interest”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013

This November, my husband and I and another couple stayed 2 nights at this wonderful little hotel. It was quaint looking from the outside but inside it was modern, clean and totally efficient. Beds we're comfy, closet room was plentiful and bathroom was bright and sparkling clean. The street noise was not noticeable as the windows were a double set! The room was quiet and peaceful.

I would stay there again without hesitation. The tram is available across the street and the Botanical garden is also across on the other side. We walked to town to eat and shop and enjoy everything.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julia B, Manager at Hotel Spalentor Basel, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
We thank you very much for your review and wish you good luck and health for the new year. We are very pleased that you have spent a nice stay with us and enjoyed our hotel. We wish you all the best and are looking forward to welcoming you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

549 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    339
    180
    22
    6
    2
See reviews for
68
231
32
115
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2013

The rooms were huge, beds super comfortable and very clean. The breakfast was great and the front desk was always smiling. I could not have asked for a better experience. I would HIGHLY recommend this hotel as an affordable centralized location for enjoying the beautiful city of Basel.

Room Tip: If you are from the US, you will very much appreciate this hotel. Super nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julia B, Manager at Hotel Spalentor Basel, responded to this review, December 19, 2013
We thank you very much for your positive review and we are happy that you were satisfied with your room, the breakfast, our staff and the location of the hotel. We wish you a wonderful Christmas time and are looking forward to welcoming you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay in early December 2013. The property, inside and outside, is spotless.
Our room was very spacious and nicely equipped with a large flat screen TV, coffee/maker etc. The housekeeping staff did an outstanding job each and every day. Additionally, the breakfast room (5th floor) was spacious, accepted reservations and provided a wide variety of hot and cold items that easily met our personal tastes.

The staff at the front desk was very helpful with providing information about the tram and bus transportation options (both have stops just across the street). Note...the hotel provides a no-charge tram and bus transportation pass that is valid for the duration of your stay. (Thanks to Basel's wise decision making to cater to visitors) Information about nearby restaurants, Basel's city center, and transportation options to the train station and airport also proved to be beneficial. And for your convenience, there is a wide variety of brochures near the front desk that are sure to provide all the information you need about what there is to see and do during your stay in Basel.

In summary, we highly recommend this hotel to those looking for a moderately priced property with easy access to all that Basel has to offer.

Room Tip: Ask for the best possible view (the historic city gate is pleasant to the eye) on a upper floor, and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julia B, Manager at Hotel Spalentor Basel, responded to this review, December 13, 2013
We hope you have had a pleasant journey back home and we thank you very much for your positive review. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and were satisfied with our staff, the breakfast and use of the mobiltiy ticket. We wish you a wonderful Christmas time and we are looking forward to welcoming you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Villages, Florida, United States
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

After 7 days touring Switzerland by train, we were preparing to board a river boat on the Rhine and chose this wonderful small hotel for a one night stay. We found the Spalentor rooms to be generous in size and very comfortable with more amenities than expected. The Sunday brunch in the top floor restaurant was ample and well priced. The toiletries supplied rivaled a 5 star hotel, the rooms oversized, ample sitting room and the bed was plush. The location was an easy walk to sightseeing, shopping and restaurants. We arrived in Basel by train and caught a city bus to he hotel with the stop across the street from the hotel allowing for easy transition with our luggage. Our group of three couples highly recommend the Hotel Spalentor for any length stay.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julia B, Manager at Hotel Spalentor Basel, responded to this review, December 10, 2013
We thank you very much for your positive review and we are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us, were satisfied with all amenities, your room and the location. We wish you a wonderful Christmas time and we are looking forward to welcoming you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

Hotel was fabulous ! Staff are brilliant, friendly and helpful.
Room size was excellent ... very spacious. Large screen TV, Tassimo coffee machine and clock radio with iPhone/iPod dock ( not Lightning connection... old iPhone 4 ) was nice extra touches to make our stay more comfortable. The Bed mattress was so comfortable I almost spent my weekend in bed ! Very Comfortable ! Bathroom/Bath size was small... but more than met our requirements. Hotel had a snooker table Fuβball Table which help us kill time before our flight [ also a treadmill and exercise bike ... but we did enough walking thanks ;) ]
One thing to note... the room we had (107 , and i think most rooms ) is on the road that has a tram line running. You certainly heard ( even felt it a tiny little) but it did not bother me too much.
Its handy to note you get FREE public transport with your Hotel booking! When you arrive at the airport, all you need to do is get on the bus. In the event a ticket inspector boards the bus and checks tickets, you just show your hotel reservation. Once you at the hotel, the hotel will give you your "Mobility Ticket" for travel on trams and buses

Room Tip: Try getting a room on top floor. As it might be better for the sound of the tram ( and vibrations )
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julia B, Manager at Hotel Spalentor Basel, responded to this review, December 10, 2013
We hope you have had a pleasant journey back home and we thank you very much for your review. We are happy that you were satisfied with our hotel and enjoyed your stay. We wish you a wonderful Christmas time and we are looking forward to welcoming you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013

This is a very good hotel in Basel if you want to get quality for the reasonable price. The only problem is wifi - the speed of internet was slow and connection not stable. Very uncomfortable when you are in a business trip.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julia B, Manager at Hotel Spalentor Basel, responded to this review, December 10, 2013
We thank you very much for your review and we are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. We appologize for the inconvenience regarding the WLAN during your stay. We wish you a wonderful Christmas time and we are looking forward to welcoming you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leiden, The Netherlands
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013

The staff is helpful and polite; the room is spacious and clean; good breakfast in a room with beautiful view to Spalentor and easy access to city center. I really enjoyed it and would stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julia B, Manager at Hotel Spalentor Basel, responded to this review, December 10, 2013
We thank you very much for your review and we hope you have had a pleasant journey back home. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay and were satisfied with our staff, your room and the location of the hotel. We wish you all the best, a lovely Christmas time and are looking forward to welcoming you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Spalentor Basel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Spalentor Basel

Address: Schoenbeinstrasse 1, Basel 4056, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Basel > Basel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Basel
#4 Luxury Hotel in Basel
#4 Romantic Hotel in Basel
#10 Family Hotel in Basel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Spalentor Basel 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Spalentor Basel is a centrally located hotel in Basel Old Town. Renovated in 2012, this friendly city hotel offers extremely spacious, comfortable rooms, with free Wi-Fi, and a generous breakfast buffet. Welcome drinks, fresh fruit, mobility ticket and bicycle hire are all included in the price. The four-star Hotel Spalentor Basel in the centre of Basel is waiting to welcome you with its warm hospitality and impeccable service. You will stay in stylish, modern rooms with a large desk, comfortable rocking chair or sofa, flat-screen TV, DVD player, Smartphone docking station, mini bar and coffee machine.Throughout the day and during the evening, you can relax in the garden or hotel bar. You also have free access to the fitness centre and games room with billiards, darts and table football. A mobility ticket is included in the room rate for the use of buses and trams throughout Basel during your stay. You therefore have quick and easy access to Basel-Mulhouse (BSL) airport, the SBB and Badischer train stations, as well as the exhibition and conference centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, EasyToBook, Despegar.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Spalentor Basel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Spalentor Hotel Basel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Spalentor Basel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.