We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“our stay in Basel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Spalentor Basel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Spalentor Basel to your Saves list
Hotel Spalentor Basel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Schoenbeinstrasse 1, Basel 4056, Switzerland   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 49 Hotels in Basel
Winnipeg, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“our stay in Basel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

Our room was excellent, loved the tassimo machine. We did find the room quite warm at night, because we had to keep the windows closed, traffic was busy on that corner. Played pool, enjoyed using the free transit passes. Great location, close to everything, especially if you like to walk, and even if you didn't you could hop any number of transit buses or trolley. Breakfast was so good, such a wonderful assortment of cold and hot food. We would certainly stay again.

Room Tip: We were on the 4th floor facing the back, it seemed good, It was quiet later at night and until arou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julia B, Manager at Hotel Spalentor Basel, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
We thank you very much for your review on tripadvisor and we are happy that you enjoyed the coffee machine in the room as well as the leisure area of the hotel and the breakfast in the morning. We are looking forward to welcoming you again. By then we wish you a good time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

481 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    293
    165
    16
    5
    2
See reviews for
56
205
30
103
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

One of the best hotel I've been, excellently located, service is perfect, good breakfast, beautiful rooms, the only point to make this hotel as good as a 5* is the mattress which is a little bit too "soft". Anyway, do not hesitate one second to choose this place :)

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julia B, Manager at Hotel Spalentor Basel, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
We hope you have had a pleasant journey back home and we thank you very much for your positive review. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay so much and were satisfied with our service, breakfast as well as the room. Enjoy the late summer and we are looking forward to welcoming you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013 via mobile

It is said that we make up our minds in the first 20 seconds, and there after we spend our time confirming that our first impressions were the right ones. The spalentor isn't a cheap hotel, however from the efficiency and greeting of the receptionist Carolyn to checking out 12 hours later, it was a great experience. I liked the little touch of providing free transport tickets. The rooms are large and well equipped, and Basel is worth a detour to catch a city that surprised me. My only criticism is the feedback from the manager Julia, on ta. Vary the comments a bit

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julia B, Manager at Hotel Spalentor Basel, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
We hope you have had a pleasant journey back home and we thank you very much for your review. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay in our large guestrooms, were satisfied with the friendliness and efficiency of our staff and discovered Basle with the mobility ticket.
We wish you a lovely late summer and we are looking forward to welcoming you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

I was a solo traveller in Basel for work purposes and stayed in room 208 ('comfort room' type, I think). This hotel location is great - close to all the main attractions and easily accessible from the airport/SBB. The staff were fantastic, always smiling, friendly, answered all of my touristy questions and were very good at English. The hotel room was awesome, modern, well laid out, very spacious, very clean, the most comfortable bed and bed sheets, and the bathroom was a really good size. In addition, the room was equipped with a safe, coffee machine (with complimentary pods), TV, well-located power sockets so I could charge all of my devices, a place to put your luggage, free mini biscuits, and minibar. Not only would I stay here again, but I would recommend to friends. The hotel has a lift too so you don't have to worry about carrying bags up stairs! Thanks Spalentor!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julia B, Manager at Hotel Spalentor Basel, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
We thank you very much for your positive review and we are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and were satisfied with your guestroom, our service and the friendliness of our staff.
We wish you a wonderful summer and we are looking forward to welcoming you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark, New Jersey
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

This place it was wonderful,the people that works their is very charming. I love it. No complaint of anything. Simple outrageous. Next time I will travel to basel,switzeland I will stay their again. The location is very convenience for transportation and access to any where in town.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julia B, Manager at Hotel Spalentor Basel, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
We thank you very much for your positive review and are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and were satisfied with our service. We wish you a wonderful summer and we are looking forward to welcoming you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013 via mobile

Excellent Hotel in good position
Large room also with little terrace, very useful in summer evenings.
Good price/ performance .
there are only four hotel parkings but a big city park is very close .
very nice feature is the free bus tram ticket .



  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julia B, Manager at Hotel Spalentor Basel, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
We thank you very much for your review and we are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us.
We wish you a wonderful summer and we are looking forward to welcoming you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

Clean and modern in a good way with every amenity. We found Spalentor on Tripadvisor but were not disappointed. Rather even more impressed. Free wifi (for all four of our devices), free computer access for transferring photos or whatnot, free tea and coffee by machine in your room, free little Swiss traditional biscuits (like gingerbread without ginger - I forget their name), free orange juice and tshirts in the lobby, among other perks makes this hotel stand out. Service was impeccable. As Basel has a policy whereby a hotel booking gives you free public transport on all the days surrounding your stay the slight distance from central station (Basel SBB) is hardly a downside but the only criticism I can make.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julia B, Manager at Hotel Spalentor Basel, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
We thank you very much for your positive review and we are happy that you were satisfied with the service of our staff and the wifi use free of charge. We wish you a lovely summer and we are looking forward to welcoming you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Spalentor Basel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Spalentor Basel

Address: Schoenbeinstrasse 1, Basel 4056, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Basel > Basel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Basel
#4 Luxury Hotel in Basel
#4 Family Hotel in Basel
#5 Business Hotel in Basel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Spalentor Basel 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Spalentor Basel is a centrally located hotel in Basel Old Town. Renovated in 2012, this friendly city hotel offers extremely spacious, comfortable rooms, with free Wi-Fi, and a generous breakfast buffet. Welcome drinks, fresh fruit, mobility ticket and bicycle hire are all included in the price. The four-star Hotel Spalentor Basel in the centre of Basel is waiting to welcome you with its warm hospitality and impeccable service. You will stay in stylish, modern rooms with a large desk, comfortable rocking chair or sofa, flat-screen TV, DVD player, Smartphone docking station, mini bar and coffee machine.Throughout the day and during the evening, you can relax in the garden or hotel bar. You also have free access to the fitness centre and games room with billiards, darts and table football. A mobility ticket is included in the room rate for the use of buses and trams throughout Basel during your stay. You therefore have quick and easy access to Basel-Mulhouse (BSL) airport, the SBB and Badischer train stations, as well as the exhibition and conference centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Orbitz, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Spalentor Basel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Spalentor Hotel Basel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Spalentor Basel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.